We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade needed ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Upgrade needed ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel must have been a "grand old lady" in its day. Unfortunately though, it's now in desperate need of a major upgrade, especially the rooms which are definitely not up to a 5-star standard. The food is good, the service is good, the staff friendly. For an international brand as Hilton, this hotel is definitely lacking in standard. It's incredibly expensive and isn't value for money. A disappointing stay.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    185
    190
    98
    51
See reviews for
53
93
78
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Although the rooms were dated as per many of the reviews, my room was relatively clean and comfortable. The buffet dinner exceeded my expectations and offered something for all tastes. Pool area lunch dinning was good for lunch. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel offers a safari tour at a reasonable price and it also exceeded expectations. We saw lions, hippos, rhinos, baboons, giraffes, zebras, water buffalo and many more animals contrary to some other reviews. Go early and take a box lunch offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a good experience for a first time visitor. The staff were very freindly and wonderful.I do hope that the staff who were the major attraction to the hotel do receive adquate and commendable appreciation from the hotel Management. From the airport to the hotel and back, they were exceptionally wonderful and very professional in conduct.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed there for a few days after our safari tour. It is probably not as nice as other Hiltons in the world but it is a really good hotel for the fact that you are in Kenya. Rooms were clean and tidy, people friendly. We stayed on the pool level, which was very handy. Staff was very helpful. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi and I am very glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities.

It was a true pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a Hilton Honors member you always get a good deal and it was my first stay at this particular Hilton site. the service was good and the staff friendly and always ready to help...Been in the city centre is a disadvantage though as any mishaps will affect you directly

Room Tip: Paid Wifi for non premium hilton honors members the executive floor is quieter with less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure for us hosting you at the Hilton Nairobi and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Thank you for the fine compliments you make about our team members and service.
Our esteemed guest, we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi very soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had stayed in this hotel in 2007 and 2008 during various visits to Nairobi.When i planned a visit in Aug 2014 the first choice for stay was Hilton Nairobi and advised my company to book me here.The condition of the room where i was accomodated did not give me even a shade of feel of Hilton i had stayed in earlier here and other places.With bed sheets looking used and dirty to the tap head(bathroom basin) coming out during use and the suffocation in the room even after running of AC for an hour or so,it was all contrary to the Hilton experience.

Room Tip: Try rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and we greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests.

We regret to note that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay and to note your dissatisfaction only after your departure.
Our executive housekeeper has addressed the issue immediately and corrective measures have been put in place.

We truly appreciate your critical but constructive feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests. I do hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.
With kind regards

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights. Hilton is a bit dated, but was in a perfect location (City Center) and the staff is wonderful. We only had a couple of issues: one was with our room and Management took 50% off of our dinner because they were not able to fix immediately. The other concern we had was that the buffet was cold and looked like it had been out for a while. Eating at the restaurant by the pool fixed all this. As a Diamond member our room was upgraded to a Jr Suite. The sofa was not usable as the cushions were thin and worn out. I newer and more comfortable sofa would go a long way. Even with all this said, I would stay would stay here again. These were minor issues and the staff worked hard to make our stay a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: If you understand that this is an OLDER hotel and set your expectations accordingly you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was a pleasure for us to serve you and we are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, at Hilton Nairobi. We appreciate the fine compliments you make about our team members hospitality, and I am personally grateful that they were quick to ‘make it right’ for you. I have shared your feedback about the buffet with our executive chef in charge of food and beverage and rest assured corrective measure have been put in place.

In regards to the condition of the sofa, I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance. We appreciate your honest feedback, especially coming from our esteemed HHonors’ guest, as this will assist us in improving our standards and service delivery.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.