We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, and sizeable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #41 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, and sizeable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton in July 2014, and found the staff very friendly and useful. On more than one occasion they went out of their way to assist, whether it related to printing documents, obtaining an,oval mobile SIM card or arranging transport at odd hours.

The rooms were well equipped and spacious, and the internet access throughout the thistle excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words to our team members about our team members hospitality and excellent services offered to you during your recent stay with us here at Hilton Nairobi. We are very glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience .

At Hilton, we take great pride in offering our guests’ inspiring stays, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    228
    207
    110
    56
See reviews for
60
110
88
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quimper, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very good location in Nairobi but this hotel hasn't been refreshed for many years.
Don't expect a real Hilton standard.
The staff is professional but it can't overcome the general feeling.
Be careful with the wifi ! It costs 22USD per 24 hours !

Room Tip: High floor is better for the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi and I am very glad that you enjoyed our great hospitality.

We are sorry to read that our facility did not meet your expectation, but I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that, over time, will take care of our hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement and serenity bed installation is the first part of this project.

Our Wi-Fi connection can be used for free in all public areas of the Hotel only. However, when using Internet in the comfort of your room a charge continues to apply. I am very sorry if this was not explained to you properly and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Kind regards,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We received excellent customer service, the pool was very nice and the included breakfast was great!!!! While not the newest Hilton it has great location and the staff is wonderful. We would stay here again if budget and circumstances allow in a heartbeat and would recommend it to all our friends. Quite impressed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are glad that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our team members friendliness and facilities.

We take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays, and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Nairobi.

Best regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

It was an extremely satisfying stay at the hotel. I will always want to use Hilton Nairobi or anywhere else. I enjoyed the room quality, the ambiance and excellent internet connection as a journalist. The staff are extremely nice and always ready to help or guide you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi.

We are very glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience. We thank you for the excellent compliment about our team members hospitality and services they offered to you. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all our efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

after a two week safari and stayed mainly in camps and lodges with relatively poor condition, this is a nice hotel needed to conclude the trip. a typical Hilton brand hotel, with very nice executive lounge. staff was nice and helpful. security was excellent, all bags will be x-rayed and metal detector is used to ensure the hotel and guests safety.
it's located in the centre of the city, within waking distance to markets, restaurant.
concierge staff was very helpful in giving directions and arranging taxis to go around. free Wi-Fi was a nice plus.
recommended in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, at Hilton Nairobi. We are delighted about the nice compliments appreciating the services provided by our team and facilities.

We take great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The staff at the Hilton is outstanding. They will make your stay go smoothly. The pick up at the airport was very good. The representative was waiting for me and got me in a cab headed towards town right away.The rooms are clean but a bit dated. If you need to be in the city center the location is perfect. The food is average. Cafe American for sandwiches was very good and quick. The wait staff is attentive and pleasant. The front desk was had ready answers and made my stay easy. It is a good value stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback regarding your stay at Hilton Nairobi. We are glad to read that you were very satisfied with your overall stay. We appreciate your compliment about the outstanding hospitality and services provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

With Best regards,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Have spent 2 nights here a month ago; location is nice, if you have some business to do in Nairobi; As a diamond we got a junior suite, with all the benefits - free Wi-fi, lounge access, etc...
Hotel will need to be renovated soon, as it is obvious that it is outdated;
Otherwise service is quite ok, maybe security mesures are a bit to strict, but I guess it is neccessary due to some political unrest;
I would think twice before going to that Hilton again;

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us at Hilton Nairobi. We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and we appreciate your compliments about our service.

With regards of the condition of the hotel, I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.