We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust website photos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #42 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't trust website photos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just as my title says, don't trust website photos. Their standard rooms are nothing like the photos. Very disappointing. The rooms look like they could use an update. For a Hilton hotel, it was very disappointing. Any new furniture was of very cheap quality. So obvious because it did not match the older furniture. The beds had no stoppers so you had to keep pushing it against the wall. Lighting was very bad - not enough light in the room.

But, staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us.

I regret to see that our property outlook did not meet your expectations, I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. However, we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance.

We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Nairobi.

Best regards,
MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    180
    184
    98
    50
See reviews for
50
91
77
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked into the Hilton and arranged a tour of Nairobi Park. Sadly, no one knew much about the arrangments when we arrived. The price agreed to had to be proven with a copy of the email I brought with me. The charges for the room were not accurate. The place is under construction...service is average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your email and feedback following your recent stay with us at the Hilton Nairobi.

I regret that that there was indeed internal miscommunication which resulted in the front desk team not having the information regarding your tour, I also checked regarding the price for the tour of which I would like to clarify that the total fee charged was for the national park tour and a surcharge is charged for any additional tours or trips requested. My sincere apologies as this was not made clear to you upon confirmation of the tour. Please be assured that we have taken corrective measures to avoid such an incident from re-occurring to any of our guests in the future.

We have also noted your comment on the average standard of service experienced and billing errors. We do appreciate your critical yet constructive feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,


Manuela Brode
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had a good stay at the Hilton. Generally the room service was fantastic. The location of the hotel is fabulous as it is in the heart of the city. There was good variety for breakfast and I enjoyed the omelette. I was impressed with security at Hilton it was spot on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience; the room service, variety at breakfast and security which made your stay worthwhile.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,


Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A frequent guest at Hilton NBO like to say how incredibly honest staff here are.
in particular Mr Lawrence Opiyo Ongaro . On reaching the hotel, as I was in hurry to get to my venue, I handed Lawrence my unsealed purse with all travel documents,
passport, foreign money, credit cards and cash plus other valuables to look after.
Nothing was removed or touched. There was no worry when I returned to my Room next day.
This is virtually unthinkable at most other hotels. The concierge team are al excellent.

The management has not reviewed shuttle charges from #rt remain pretty high
though the local reputed taxi Company KENACTO offer better rate all smart vehicles, bookable
in advance or available at a#rt . For someone having to make more than three - six journeys from a'rt is a much better deal.

Room Tip: For fresh air pool side rooms are very healthy situated as doors can be opened but endure disturba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about honesty of our team members. We have gladly shared this with the entire team and Lawrence in particular.

With regards to the shuttle charges, we appreciate your critical yet constructive feedback as this will go a long way in improving the quality of service to our guests.

We appreciate your positive comments, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I don't often write 'bad' reviews of hotels, and perhaps this won't be one either, but more of a wake-up call to Hilton Nairobi.

I've stayed in the Hilton Nairobi several times over the years - usually never my choice but down to planning by colleagues. I can safely say, that when the choice is mine I will be going elsewhere.

Ok, so why?
The hotel is jaded, tired and is well past its sell-by date. Extensive renovations are called for. However, I personally wonder if this hotel will even be open for business in 2/3 years time.

I could have found 100 examples of items of furniture which required attention, bathrooms where more than a good clean would have helped and a general feeling of neglect.
Don't let the new lifts fool you (actually I'd love to know why a new lift is needed when the basics are being left undone).

The staff appear to be doing their best - have the numbers of staff decreased I wonder? But there's an athmosphere of exterior courtesy which is not followed up by 'genuine' professional concern for the customer which exists as a matter of common-place in all major hospitality outlets in these challenging times. (Standing over someone's shoulder as they eat or drink is not considered best-practice in places I frequent).

Having booked rooms in the hotel externally, the price was fair. But, and it's a big but, once my short stay in the hotel was finished I enquired about returning in a week's time for the same rate. The receptionist (male - whose name I know) assured me that would not be a problem. Well, it was most certainly a problem when it came to my return.
It took one of my colleagues to make a fuss before he received satisfaction. I on the otherhand moved to another establishment.

As someone who travels the world and has used the Hilton Brand the world over, I'm shocked to say the least.

The staff can only do their best to tow the line with the rope they've been given; let's hope they're not forced to hang themselves with it.

Pull up your socks Hilton Nairobi, there's a tourism crisis in Kenya, is this how to help fix it or will closing your doors be the option?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your critical and constructive feedback with us.

Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

Unfortunately we have not been able to meet your expectation; my sincere apologies for this should not be the case.

I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to make it right, and to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,


Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I had a great experience on my trip at Hilton Hotel, Nairobi. The view of the city was so great and cclear from the tower. The giant screen with full digital TV kept me always entertained and uptodate with current news. The high speed wireless internet was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience; the tower view of the city, television and efficient internet which made your stay worthwhile.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,


Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton for one night inbetween flights. i was picked up at the airport by their shuttle service which i was impressed with as my flight was 1hour early and they were still there to pick me up. the security checks on the doors are excellent and all staff are very friendly.
the rooms were average, being a little shabby, but they were still comfortable. i had room service which was efficient and tasty. the internet was a little overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us, and we do appreciate your constructive feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Thank you for the fine comments regarding the service and friendliness team members. unfortunately, the physical state of the room did not meet your expectation during your recent stay with us, as you indicated in this review; my profound apologies for this, and I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.