We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Average Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Service, Average Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton for one night inbetween flights. i was picked up at the airport by their shuttle service which i was impressed with as my flight was 1hour early and they were still there to pick me up. the security checks on the doors are excellent and all staff are very friendly.
the rooms were average, being a little shabby, but they were still comfortable. i had room service which was efficient and tasty. the internet was a little overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us, and we do appreciate your constructive feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Thank you for the fine comments regarding the service and friendliness team members. unfortunately, the physical state of the room did not meet your expectation during your recent stay with us, as you indicated in this review; my profound apologies for this, and I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    243
    213
    113
    59
See reviews for
64
111
92
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

good hilton standard, nice arrival despite late hour, fast checkin, smily staff;
good location for business, breakfast is great with good buffet and efficient service
room are old, a good revamp is necessary but it is clean, my bedroom was good, good shower, and I was satisfied

Room Tip: high floor have very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about our service and friendliness of our team members.

With regards to the condition , we would like to share with you that we are in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance, the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project; following which we shall proceed to the second phase in time to come.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,


Martin Voskamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Well protected save place in the centre of Nairobi. Ask around and you will find some nice places to eat (fresh tilapia), drink (i-club around the corner) and shop. Friendly people everywhere and a lot of smiles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about our security, service and friendliness of our team members.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,


Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night at the beginning of our 16 day tour of Kenya.

Upon arrival from airport, got upgraded to an Executive Room on the 13th floor with great views over the city. Also offered complimentary breakfast as loyalty programme members.

Nice room good size and v clean. Nice bathroom with good facilities. Yes the rooms are dated but generally, the lobby and dining areas are delightful, reminding you of a bygone age.

Breakfast was of the usual Hilton standard and complimentary WiFi was available in the lobby area.

The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel.

A short but pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about our service and friendliness of our team members.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahe, Seychelles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nicely located in city center of Nairobi. Staff is good. Hotel is good and services provided are very good and satisfactory. Good guidance for Nairobi given. I recon. I will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about our service and friendliness of our team members.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Everything at the hotel was to our satisfaction and we would definitely consider the hotel for any future trips to Nairobi. Our room and the hotel in general was clean, staff were pleasant and helpful and facilities are ideal for family stays.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience, and thank you for the fine compliments you make about our service and friendliness of our team members.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is located right in the business district / close to almost everything. Our family stayed here, as we visited Nairobi on a stop-over. The Hilton is a little dated and I can recall my childhood memories here. I visited this place when I was a kid with my dad, but it was sparkling back then.
I was a little disappointed when I visited back, as I noticed that the hotel has now very dated rooms, and that it really needs a desperate refurb. They charge a lot of money and in my humble opinion, I think they should put more effort in revamping their facilities. Rooms are airy and clean.
Given the room rate though, I would have expected free WiFi and breakfast should have been complimentary.
You have to pay for breakfast, internet and of course city taxes. Consequently when you add in all the extras it becomes an expensive place to stay.
I'm sure there are other places with better deals in Nairobi, and we'll do an extensive research next time before booking a hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, General Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us, and we do appreciate your constructive feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Thank you for your fine comments regarding the cleanliness of the room. Unfortunately, the physical state of our facility did not meet your expectation during your recent stay with us, as you indicated in this review; my profound apologies for this, and I am pleased to advice that we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that will enhance the overall hotel facilities and appearance; the nearly completed lift replacement is the first part of this project.

I also refer to your comment about WiFi and breakfast charges which you feel should be free of charge and apologize that these did not meet your expectation. We provide free WiFi in public areas but not in the rooms since our internet is provided by a 3rd Party.

I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Voskamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.