We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

staff there are very very helpful and really nice. rooms were good. the place is safe, but its not that safe to distance from the hotel after 10 pm. bargain with the taxi drivers before going anywhere! over all good experience but still expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Hilton Nairobi an accommodation of your choice when visiting Nairobi. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our team members and sincerely appreciate your compliments.
We regret to read about the inconvenient experience when using a taxi in town.

Our esteemed guest, we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    206
    200
    99
    53
See reviews for
55
99
82
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gardnerville, nv
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This property is a peaceful oasis. Before taxis are allowed to approach the property they are searched for bombs. After spending 8000 miles on the road in Africa's bush, I had forgotten what a good property looks and feels like. The staff was very professional and friendly. the included breakfast buffet was very adequate. Upon check in I was told my credit card was rejected, but, I was cheerfully told that I could pay with cash for my incidentals upon check out (I used points for my stay of two nights). I called the USA and became aware the autopay had gone awry.
I checked in early and was able to stay for a late checkout before taking off to the airport. The room was comfortable with good bedding and very clean. The elevator is no longer an issue (see older review2s by others).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest at the Hilton Nairobi. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the services.

I am also glad that our front desk team promptly advised you and offered an alternative when your card did not authorize.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy season’s greetings and a prosperous 2014.

Yours sincerely,


MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

There were several problems with this hotel, beginning with the fact that when I checked in for a 5 night stay that had been paid in full weeks before, I was told that my credit card had not gone through and that I was only booked for one night. I then paid for what I was told was the full amount, but found my keycard deactivated a day early due to a second booking mistake, where they had me checking out a day early. I was also informed upon check-in that breakfast would cost $32/day - I know Nairobi is expensive, but that's just exorbitant. To make matters worse, there was construction happening in the elevators, which meant that on the days when I did not have meetings beginning at 9am, there were constant jackhammers going on in the elevator well right by my door. Finally, if you are going to spend $180/night on a room, you would expect some level of comfort in the bed or that the fixtures in the bathroom are attached properly, but here, that was apparently too high of an expectation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. Unfortunately we have not been able to meet your expectation in a number of attributes, for which I am sincerely sorry and regret the inconvenience caused to you. Our front office manager has written to you through your private mail in details about your comment. In the meantime we have already taken corrective measures to avoid such incidents from re-occurring to any of our guests in the future.

Please accept our apology for this should not be the case. Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our Hotels.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely



MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Excellente Staff, helpfull and a great quality on the service. Thanks so much for everybody care about me, I feel as I were at home, of course I hVE ALREADY INDICATE and I'll continue indicating this hotel to everybody, all the staff are friendly, and it makes a great difference. Hugs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It has been a pleasure hosting you at the Hilton Nairobi and thank you for sharing your great feedback with us.

We are grateful to hear that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and we are happy that you felt at home away from home. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays, and I have had the pleasure to share your kind words with them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future again.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.


With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Worst experience ever had. Was here last year and it was bad. This time, Check in took 3 hours from 1-4pm, finally got my room - small and damp with mold in the bath. Complaining to the manager did not help at all as they did not seem to care. Said that they could not move me as that was the room I had paid for. Even after telling them I was checking out he did not care - what's more insisted on charging me 50% as I had entered the room even though I had not used it. I ended up staying at a hotel across with better service, rooms and cheaper. This hotel needs a management change

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We regret to note that you had a delayed check-in and the room allocated to you did not meet your expectation. We also note the manager on duty did not respond to your requirement as you would have expected, please accept my sincerest apologies for this disappointing experience. Rest assured this will not happen again to you or any other hotel guest in future.

I am indeed sorry to read your dissatisfaction only after your departure and sincerely hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi and re-establish your faith in our hotel.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am a frequent guest at the Hilton Hotel Nairobi, Kenya. I appreciate the Hilton a lot. Even during my previous employment, I used to book my guests at the Hilton. I like the services and value for money. Above all, I enjoy the extremely friendly attitude of all Hilton Nairobi Staff. Kudos!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Hilton Nairobi an accommodation of your choice when visiting Nairobi. We are delighted to hear that, over a time you have enjoyed your stays and the services provided by our team members, we sincerely appreciate your compliments.

Our esteemed guest, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We visited in September 2013, while we organised a trip to the Masai Mara
The hotel is a bit old, and needs updating: the rooms are small, and the bathrooms need upgrading. The staff, however, make up for any shortcomings. They. are very friendly and very helpful. The location is a plus: central, lively and very good for walking. We thought the the hotel could do a lot more about beautifying its surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay in our facility Hilton Nairobi. We are pleased to hear that you very satisfied with the service provided by our team members and appreciated our location.

Regarding the physical outlook of our facility, I sincerely apologize for we have not been able to meet your expectation. However, we are indeed in the planning process of a master plan renovation that, over time, will take care of the overall hotel facilities and appearance.

We hope to welcome you back again soon here at the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.