We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #42 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
“Hilton Hotel Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, with a British -traditional ambience. You will not be disappointed, its clean, friendly and is really a Hilton....have a room by poolside, they are way better than most rooms upstairs- and you have the view for the pool. The restraurant if fine, continental dinining and the food is relatively ok. Its in the middle of the city - so you have no transport hussles, and its also not noise - so you can still enjoy your peace and quiet. the staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to assist.extremely secure- security is on every floor and will greet you with a smile always

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us here at the Hilton Nairobi and for your good feedback regarding our facility. We are very glad that you felt comfortable and enjoyed our services. We also appreciate the kind words to our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    179
    184
    98
    50
See reviews for
50
91
77
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eskisehir, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Name of the hotel is Hilton but in reality its not a Hilton or maybe Hilton of 80s. Rooms and bathroom is very small and old. Only new thing is Lcd tv :)

Location of hotel is also not so good and safe:(

Only positive point is people working in hotel as they are very polite and helpful.



Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We regret to note your dissatisfaction with our facilities and based on your comments I wish to inform you, that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your good comment about our team members hospitality and I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again in the not too distant future.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Only real complaint is traffic in the Central Business district. Hotel well located, nice pool, and very nice Executive Lounge. Replacement of elevators resulted in slow access to floor, and noise between 9am and 5pm.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your feedback about your stay at the Hilton Nairobi. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our facilities and liked the location.

We regret to note that you experienced slow elevator service and noise due to the ongoing elevator upgrade. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the discomforting experience, and I am pleased to confirm that the works on the first guest lift have been completed and it is now fully operational. We trust this will in a very big way enhance and generally improve our elevator service.

Unfortunately we cannot entirely avoid traffic in the Central business district, however we are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy Season’s Greetings and a prosperous 2014.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was a nice and very friendly stay at a somewhat old and tired Hilton hotel, where staff is very friendly and welcoming, but the hotel could do with an upgrade. Everything is there in principle which gives Hilton a good reputation, but it is all a bit worn-down. I stayed at the Executive Floor and had access to the Executive Lounge, which again had very friendly staff and excellent snacks and drinks. The good news is that even an average Hilton hotel has a minimum level of comfort and support.
What especially pleased me was that the reception desk was able to help me with the transport in Nairobi, which is a challenge in any case.
I do hope the general infusion of investment funding in Hilton will go through and that hotels like this will be able to upgrade in the coming years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us hosting you at the Hilton Nairobi and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with your overall experience and support from our team members.
Referring to your sentiments on facility upgrade, I am pleased to advice that we are in the planning process of a master plan renovation that, over time, will take care of the overall hotel appearance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked in for a 1 night stay and planned to stay for the next day to chill out by the pool - we booked a day room.
When we arrived they had no record of us booking a day room.
Once in our room it was dirty - bathroom was disgusting.
They are undergoing refurbishment and the lifts were not working.
We stayed the night as we arrived very late but left first thing the next morning to go to another hotel for day.
It was filthy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are sincerely sorry that our housekeeping did not meet your expectation. I have shared your comment with our executive housekeeper to ensure corrective measures are promptly put in place.
As of the lifts not working, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and, I am pleased to confirm that the works on the first guest lift have been completed and it is now fully operational. We trust this will in a very big way enhance and generally improve our elevator service.

Dear guest, It has been of great concern to us that your reservation details were missing in our systems and I am very sorry for this rare report.
As our promise to our guests is to make it right and ensure maximum comfort and satisfaction, I regret to read about your dissatisfaction only after your departure and hope to get the chance of meeting you in person when you return back to Nairobi.

I sincerely do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This looks like an old, tired hotel, badly in need of refurbishment: peeling paint in corners, tired wall decoration and somewhat primitive (by modern hotel standards) bathroom facilities. The cylindrical structure leads to a cramped bathroom. Aside from that it is quiet, comfortable and clean, with an excellent breakfast buffet. But definitely not worth >£220 per night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Unfortunately the physical state of our facility did not meet your expectation, for which I sincerely apologize; and I am pleased to advise you, that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, which will see a complete make-over of the Hotel, in time to come.

Nevertheless, we are very glad that you felt comfortable and we do hope to welcome you back again to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Chose to stay at the Hilton Nairobi thinking it was one last luxury before I returned to Kisumu for 6 months... and chose it based on the name alone and was hugely disappointed. The Front Desk was inefficiently run, at one point 3 people were helping the same person while other patrons waited to be served. BUT - the thing to watch out for is your bill at the hotel restaurants - the prices do not match the printed OR online menu. Seems strange Hilton would update its computer prices before the other materials. When this was brought to their attention, they still expected us to pay the inflated rates, and then after dispute only amended the bill for one of the meals. Very disappointed in comfort and service. I stayed at a different hotel a week earlier that was 1/3 of the cost and much better overall. Until the alleged renovation, choose another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to us with your honest feedback about your stay in our facility.
We are sorry and regret to read that our customer care at the front desk did not meet your expectation. We have instantly addressed the issue with our front desk team and rest assured this will improve our service delivery to our guests.

As of the billing error, please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused and kindly furnish me with your reservation details to enable us investigate the error and revert with all relevant information to you directly.

I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Nairobi or any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.