We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you need to be in the city center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #42 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location if you need to be in the city center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Due to traffic situation you need to be patient to come back to the hotel in the evening if you need to work e.g. In Westlands.
Staff very friendly,
Hotel premises are aged and you may easely tell it.

Still all in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to serve you and we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Your honest comments are highly appreciated as this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests. Hilton will always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are very glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience during your recent visit to us. You have mentioned that our facility looked dated and I am pleased to advice that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, which will see a complete make-over of the Hotel, in time to come.

I have shared your compliments about our team members friendliness and your good suggestions with regards of traffic situation within the city. Believe me it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

Dear Guest, we place great value on your custom and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    179
    184
    98
    50
See reviews for
50
91
77
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

+ staff helpful and friendly
- one elevator being replaced and a second was out of order, leaving only one for guests
- old & soft mattresses
- wildly overpriced for value on room, laundry, restaurant
- weak wifi - 3-5 minutes to connect, stood at door to room or in hallway to keep connection
- hotel generally in need of a refit

I had just come from the Leela in Bangalore paid slightly less for a vastly superior room and overall experience. I haven't been a Hilton customer some some time and this experience didn't live up to past experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have noted your comment that two out of three guest elevators were faulty at the time. As you already mentioned, we are currently undertaking a lifts upgrade and replacement program and one of the elevators is going to be replaced completely. The other lift had experienced mechanical problems which is not a safety risk to any hotel guest or team members and it was temporarily stopped for repair and maintenance. We fully understand and regret the inconvenience caused by such delays during heavy traffic times. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this.

With regards of the physical condition of our facility, I am sincerely sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation and I am pleased to inform you that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation whereby the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.
Our esteemed guest, I regret to read that you had a problem with internet connection in your room and I am apologise for this should not be the case. Kindly contact us directly as to give us the opportunity to rectify the situation for you during your next visit at the Hilton Nairobi.

We appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours Sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first stop and Africa and started a theme of friendly but not always efficient or effective service. Upon checkin we were offered an upgrade but were told the room wasn't quite ready. No problem since we were allowed to wait in the executive lounge (not one of the better ones I've seen.) After some time we were informed that our upgrade still wasn't ready but an upgrade to our upgrade was.

We were given the "presidential suite". It was in fact very large with 3 different rooms and two bathrooms. They provided a very small rollaway bed for my daughter because even though the suite was large it only had the one bed. The room was quite dark and very old. While this might appeal to some it's not our style. I don't mind quaint but this room was tired and some of the furniture wasn't sturdy.

One of the elevators was under renovation so there was a sign saying please use the other two. Problem was that one of those two was out of order so there was only one elevator for a hotel that was 10 or more stories tall.

We didn't walk around much because the area didn't look too inviting. Unfortunately the onsite restaurant was mediocre. Again the service was okay but the food was poor.

Since we stayed at this hotel using our Hilton points I can't complain too much but might consider other options next time even if we could stay here again for "free."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet your expectations.

We have noted your comment that on arrival our front desk team members offered an upgrade which was not ready at the time of check-in. My sincerest apologies that we have not been able to meet your expectation. I am however pleased to advise that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.
We further noticed your dissatisfaction and inconvenience experienced based on one elevator not working. During those particular lift upgrade works, we do indeed experience some delays during heavy traffic times, and as the 3 lifts are inter-connected in terms of electronics, one of the two do intermittently malfunction. The latter is by no means a safety hazard, but we do understand that our guests feel annoyed as the delays are experienced. I sincerely apologise for this and regret to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. As we are confident that as soon as all 3 lifts are in place and new, the product experience will certainly enhance.

Nevertheless, I am pleased to see that you were satisfied with the hospitality of our team member and hope to get another opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault the service at all, very friendly and helpful. Nice relaxed feel to the hotel. Rooms clean and tidy with comfortable beds and best off all a good shower (much appreciated after 8 days of camping safari)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience. We appreciate the fine compliment you make about our team members’ hospitality and service, and I am happy to read that the condition of our facilities provided a nice relaxed feel of the hotel.

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Dear Guest,

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience. We appreciate the fine compliment you make about our team members’ hospitality and service, and I am happy to read that the condition of our facilities provided a nice relaxed feel of the hotel.

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budva, Montenegro
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel almost two weeks and it was comfortable and quiet. This hotel has very good location in heart of the city. Rooms have everything what is necessary for the comfort and restaurant has very wide selection for any taste.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your value feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate your good comment about our facilities and a wide selection of tastes available in our restaurants. I am as well pleased to read that you liked our property location. Believe me it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First impression was great and the staff friendly and very helpful, but the rooms were tiny, the beds uncomfortable and the air conditioning didn't work very well as we were uncomfortable and hot all night. Their buffet breakfast was excellent with a large variety of fresh baked bread and pastries as well as anything you would ever want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
We have noted your comment with regards of the size of our rooms. I am sincerely sorry for we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. However, I have the pleasure to advise that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the Air-condition not working at full capacity. Our Chief Engineer has taken immediate action and rectified the situation in the meantime.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your comment about the outstanding hospitality of our team members and I am personally happy to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.
We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently completed a 10 day stay at this hotel. The staff aim to please, answering inquiries almost immediately. In contrast to what I read in other reviews, I was quite pleased with everything other than the cost of food at the Traveler's Restaurant where all meals are served buffet style. Even then when I noted I was less hungry, staff accommodated my desire for less food at a more reasonable price. I was able to choose a dish that was on the buffet and make myself a platter, paying only for one plate rather than the entire buffer. One evening, housekeepers brought fresh flowers to my room, for no other reason than to brighten my day. A group of us traveled on a Saturday to the Nairobi Game Park, leaving early in the morning. As breakfast was included in our room rate, the restaurant prepared to go boxes for us with food that was ample for both breakfast and lunch. Security was more than adequate at the hotel. Meeting rooms were fine for a conference, the internet was not the fastest, but again adequate for downloading manuscripts.
The hotel is in the process of renovation. Some rooms are thus better equipped than others.

Room Tip: Choose a mid-level floor. Folks on the higher levels complained about waiting for the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate your compliments about the outstanding hospitality of our team members who were very accommodative to your food requirements. I am also happy to read that your game park tour was executed to your satisfaction and that our facilities were adequate. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

As you already mentioned, I hereby confirm that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, which will see a complete make-over of the Hotel, in time to come, which will certainly enhance the guest experience.

Dear Guest, we place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.