We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below Hilton standards!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Way below Hilton standards!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel must have been a very nice and luxurious hotel 20-30 years ago but there haven't been much renovations here since...

Pros:
- Very friendly staff
- Good location if you need to be in the city centre
- The food in Travelers Restaurant is good
- Nice big flat screen TV with 27 Channels in the rooms

Cons:
- Very old rooms and hallways.
- Old furnitures in the rooms and bed mattress not comfortable.
- Carpets are old and stained. Walls desperately need a fresh coat of paint.
- Swimming pool was under some work and off limits during my stay.
- Long waits for elevators as only one out of three works.
- Hot water tap on the sink not working in my room.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you bring your expectations way below normal Hilton standards.

Room Tip: Apparently Deluxe rooms are a bit better from what I've been told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We sincerely appreciate your fine compliments about the outstanding hospitality of our team members and good food served at our restaurant. As well you were happy with the availability of a big flat screen TV with range of channels in your room during your recent stay with us. It is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile.

With regards of the physical condition of the room, hallways and room facilities, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation. We are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

We further note that you had long waits for the elevators as only one elevator out of three was working, I wish to explain that one of the elevators had experienced mechanical problems which is not a safety risk to any hotel guest or team members and it was temporarily stopped for repair and maintenance. Our service and elevator company has repaired the lift and continues to observe that all is working effectively. The lift in the centre is currently undergoing major reconstruction and will be replaced with a new cabin. The works form part of the renovation process to enhance services to our guests. My profound apologies for the inconvenience this might have caused you.

Our esteemed guest, although we have not been able to meet your expectation, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely
MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    236
    208
    110
    58
See reviews for
62
111
89
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

At check in, they badgered me into an upgrade promising that it was less expensive than paying separately for internet access and breakfast. At checkout, I found out that they charged me $130 PER NIGHT for the upgrade (and, no, the breakfast wasn't anything close to worth that extortionate amount).The upgrade meant that I got a "junior suite" -- a room that was doubled by arching an access to its mirror image. Nothing special (even the fruit in the welcome bowl was well beyond its prime). Add to that, the hotel is under renovation: only 1 of the 3 elevators was in service, the pool was closed, there was hammering and drilling everywhere. As others have noted, this is a dated property that probably just should have been razed and rebuilt. I won't stay here again: there are many better properties in Nairobi (Stanley, Intercontinental and Serena leap to mind). I rated it average only because the security seemed adequate.

Room Tip: The hotel is one of those 1970s round buildings, so all the rooms are pie-shaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. We have always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guest's expectations.

Unfortunately we have not been able to show this to you as you indicated in your comment and I am indeed very sorry and sincerely regret that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with.

We noted that only one of the three elevators was working and I wish to explain that one of the elevators had experienced mechanical problems which is not a safety risk to any hotel guest or team members and it was temporarily stopped for repair and maintenance. Our service and elevator company has repaired the lift and continues to observe that all is working effectively.

Dear guest, as our promise to ‘make it right’ for our guests, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After reading the reviews on TA was in two minds as to whether to use this hotel, however as it was equidistant from my appointment and am a Diamond member, decided to try and by and large was not disappointed.

It is a little tired but it looks like some refurbishment is underway and overall it felt quite clean.

Airport pick up and drop off worked well with modern van and good driver. Timing seems problematic due to somewhat chaotic traffic conditions, coming in it took @ 35 mins, leaving ( not peak hour ) took @ 60 mins, hence suggest you leave a safe margin especially in peak periods when the traffic seemed gridlocked.

Front desk was polite but did need some transportation for the day to take us to different appointments, they referred me to an external company who despite knowing that we were clearly on high level business meetings, provided a totally inappropriate vehicle,( a 4WD van with no air con ) clearly designed for safari and park viewing which was not cheap. Hence if you do require a vehicle would suggest you make your own arrangements other than the airport shuttle which Hotel managed quite well.
I had express laundry to be done and they managed this without fuss within 3 hours.

The Bedroom
I was upgraded and had a rather strange room on 14th floor which was in effect two rooms knocked into one, with two bathrooms, two wardrobes and two doors ( only one functioning ), one room effectively done up as a sitting room. Whilst the set up was a little strange, it did actually work and as I was on business with colleagues, the extra room provided very useful meeting area.
I think my opinion may be different if it was just one room however, think this would be quite small.
Comfortable bed, internet not brilliant, but adequate, no separate shower and quite small bathroom, but functional and clean ( and I had TWO !), Air con was working OK, views of the city quite pleasant.


The Food
Tried the buffet, a la carte ( Italian ) and room service and all quite acceptable quality. Overall service, whilst a little slow ( I felt they were first brewing the beer ) was friendly and largely got it right.

The Executive Lounge
Middle of the range, again a little tired but staff polite and despite the hotel being quite full, was not very crowded which is nice, snacks and drinks quite acceptable.

This is not the best Hilton I have stayed in…..but it is not the worst either ( have stayed in several in Europe that are worse ), maybe I was getting better service and rooms because of Diamond….hard to say. In another city in less challenging environment and no special privileges I would probably rank this at 3 star, but given the African circumstances and as I am feeling kind today and you have to call it as you experienced it…. I have chosen 4 but with advice to the Hotel which formed a large part of my school reports….can do better.

Room Tip: Would go for higher floor and larger rooms if staying more than 2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are glad to read your comment that despite the misgivings, you were very satisfied with your overall experience and we are very happy to see that your airport transfer worked well. I understand you liked our offerings in the restaurants, room service and the variety at the executive lounge your compliments about the outstanding hospitality of our front desk and executive lounge team members and overall service are much appreciated.
We also note that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms. In regards to the dated product, I can gladly inform you that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

As of the internet, I am sorry we have not been able to meet your expectation, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Dear guest, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts, at Hilton Nairobi, truly worthwhile and I have gladly shared your feedback with our team members and the management.
Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely


MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall, my stay was comfortable and I was made to feel very welcome by the friendly and extremely helpful hotel staff. 10 out of 10 for service! The internet is very expensive, some TV channels don't work, no toilet brush in bathroom, and was not advised to take a SA plug adapter as only local/British plugs. Food and drink is way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your value feedback with us; It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have noted your comment that some TV Channels did not work, toilet brush was not provided in the bathroom room and you were not advised to come with a SA plug, I am indeed very sorry for we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us; I have shared this comment with all the heads of department concerned to effectively put corrective measures in place and ensure comfort and hassle free stay for our guests.

As of food and drinks prices, I wish to explain that our hotel rates and restaurant offers are at par with all five star hotels within the city and only at independent, small local properties are the prices indeed a lot less. At comparable, high standard properties one pays a similar amount as you were charged at our hotel.

Dear Guest, we are glad to note your comment that your stay was comfortable and more so our team members outstanding hospitality made you feel very welcome. We sincerely appreciate the ‘10’ score rating in our guest satisfaction survey and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in Hilton, Nairobi for 11 nights- pretty long for an experience. I found that the staff are very friendly and courteous. However, size of the rooms are comparatively small perhaps because of the typical round structure of the hotel. The functional quality of the inside fittings like the closet, drawers etc. need more care. I did not find them operating effortlessly, which is desired. However, overall you get a very friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We thank you for taking the time to share your value feedback with us and greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are glad to note that you were very satisfied with your overall experience having stayed for 11 nights, we sincerely appreciate your compliments about the outstanding hospitality of our team members who provided a friendly environment during your recent stay with us.

With regards of the room size, condition of fittings and fixtures, I am sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation I am pleased to advice that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Of the all the executive suits and hotels that I have stayed, and I basically live in a hotel because I travel so much - the Hilton Nairobi is not value-for-money at all. The Hotel is outdated and for what you get it is over-priced. I guess because it is central they feel that they can over-charge. The staff are great though

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

Unfortunately we have not been able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us, as you indicated in your trip advisor comment; my sincerest apologies for this. However with regards of the physical condition of the hotel, I wish to inform you that we are currently in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

We note with great concern your comment about our prices, although they may be high, they are at par with all other five star hotels within the city and we shall take this opportunity to review the market situation.

I am glad to note your compliments to the hospitality of our team members and we thank you for your honest feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
The team and I are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

rooms are very small and the staff are non-professional.The restaurant is too expensive for the quantity of food they serve but buffet breakfast was good.
The swimming pool,steam,sauna and massage centre and good to relax and especially the aroma massage is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We have noted your comment with regards to the size of our rooms and I wish to advice that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

As of our team being non professionals, this comes rather as a surprise to us considering the very many good comments we receive daily through trip advisor and our Hilton customer satisfaction survey. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. However, if there is any specific area that you felt was not professionally addressed, I would kindly request you to give us more information to enable us put corrective measures in place.

With regards of our prices, although they may be high, they are at par with all other five star hotels within the city, only at independent, small local properties are the prices indeed a lot less. At comparable, high standard properties one pays a similar amount as you were charged at our hotel.

Nevertheless, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our health club facilities and our breakfast.

Our esteemed guest, although we have not been able to fully meet your expectation, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.