We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just A Standard Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #39 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Just A Standard Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Looking a little dated, this hotel will suffice as a place to stay the night. I found the architecture of the hotel a little strange, as you need to wander through a maze of hallways to access the gym, carpark and the arcade. I wouldn’t suggest you attempt to find the Hilton arcade from within the hotel, as it is easier for you to exit the hotel and find it from the street.

Staff are generally quite good. They are helpful when you need to ask them anything. Although sometimes not all requests are followed up properly. But overall, their intentions are good and make an attempt to help in every way.

The rooms are ample. Just what you would expect from a standard room. The bathroom was not modern but it was clean. Beware when you flush the toilet, as it sounds like you’re about to be sucked in with it. Hotel internet is quite expensive, at 1000ksh per hour (about 17USD). This is the cost for wireless internet or using the PCs in the business centre. The wardrobe door was broken, but I could live with it. The noise generated by the pipes behind the walls made for a broken night’s sleep. At least the bed is comfortable.

The facilities in the hotel are adequate. They do have the Resident’s lounge, which is a nice quiet space for anyone wanting to do some work or have casual rendezvous with friends. The Jockey club is a great bar with character, decorated with memorabilia from a bygone era. The Travellers restaurant is where breakfast is served. The décor here runs the old colonial theme. You will find the range served here is quite extensive, with something for everyone. The gym is fully equipped and lockers and slippers are available for guests to use.

The hotel is ok as a recommendation. However, expect to find an outdated hotel with rooms to match. Whilst its character may be non-existent, it is still adequate as a place to stay.

  • Liked — Location is central and Residents Lounge is nice
  • Disliked — Internet rates whether it be wireless or in the business centre
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    186
    190
    98
    51
See reviews for
53
94
78
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

While we weren't expecting a 5 star hotel, we also weren't expecting to lose electricity either...and the shower is not a good place to be when something like that happens. There are several gift shops in the lobby and a nice enough restaurant. They also do a thorough inspection of all vehicles that pull up in front of the hotel. There is a nice little bar that offers daily specials and a swimming pool that is adjacent. The is also a convenience store and a coffee house within walking distance of the hotel.

This is a safe place to stay and you can also store your excess luggage for a nominal fee. Which is a great idea if you are heading out on safari and don't want to travel with all your luggage.

Each room comes with a can of Raid for any uninvited guests. The hotel staff is friendly, and you can exchange currency and traveler's checks at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caligornia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stayed here on our first night in Kenya. We scheduled the hilton shuttle to pick us up because we didnt realize the airport AND the hotel both can hire trusted taxis. So the shuttle was sort of a waste, but they showed up early with my name on a sign which was a good thing! The driver was nice and we got to the hotel just fine. Upon arrival we were upgraded due to low capacity (we traveled during the election turmoil). The room was clean, they provded free bottles of water for brushing teeth, the staff was very friendly, and we had a nice view of the busy city center which was pretty cool. Maybe this hotel does have some bad rooms, but ours was great and i wouldnt have a problem staying here again.

  • Liked — It felt safe and was comfortable
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

The up-side: The Hilton is situtated in the heart of Nairobi. The lobby is lovely and the hotel has good facilities (swimming pool, gym). The food was good and the sheets were clean

The down-side: The rooms are just not up to 5 or even 4 star standard. Buttons on the telephone don't work. The smell is somewhat musty. The bathroom was the most disappointing - the floor tiles were stained and dirty. Towels were old and hardened. Lighting was dim making it look dingy.

Overall, it was not a bad stay but certainly not a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The Hilton did NOT impress me in any way. I regret having been lured by that famous name (again). The rooms of this hotel are very small, let’s just say tiny. They are old, far from new for sure. They have no character and make you feel like being in an East-Berlin Plattenbau building. The furniture is old, not authentic, yes outright ugly. The beds are old as well and there was no cover over the boxspring, giving me at least a very unhygienic idea of the thing I was sleeping on. The carpet is old as well, sometimes even stained with paint from a paintjob that was carried out a decade ago. The bathroom is not much better, indeed even worse than the rest of the shack. It looks like a bathroom from an old apartment building, certainly not that of a 5-star place. And yes, not clean in some places too. In short, this place is extremely mediocre and has nothing to do with what you would expect.

Then the service. Well, let’s start with the lousy and amazingly expensive internet connection (2400 KSH or 30 USD). I thought I had a problem with my laptop, it just took forever to open up even a normal webpage (> 2minutes for gmail). But when I spoke to a tech-guy from the hotel I was told the minimum connection was 128kbs and maximum 750kbs. Believe me, it was even far from the lower speed! When I told the reception that I wasn’t happy with it, they didn’t even take the efforts to call me back as promised. And the next day, after telling them I wouldn’t pay for it, it took them 15 minutes to even “drop” the price to 1200 KSH. For the rest the service was anything from impressive too. To check-in it took over 10 minutes, check out, well that is clear now as well. The mini-bar content was poor, the amenities were limited and the entire atmosphere was just not up to par with what the name Hilton should stand for…

All in all, I would not suggest this place to anyone who wants to stay in a nice place. I would absolutely discourage anyone to pay premium prices. Just go here if you can find a good offer and there is nothing else in town (see my other reviews on the Fairfield and Stanley, which are great places!).

  • Liked — Nothing accept location
  • Disliked — stupid ugly little 2* rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Friendly staff in this tall concrete tower of a hotel. Service is moderate at best, which is a surprise as every department seems to be over-staffed. Buffet breakfast and dinner at the Travellers restaurant have plenty to offer in terms of variety, sadly the quality of food is nothing to write home about.
The exec level room was clean and everything was in working order as expected. I missed important telephone calls due to the operator’s inability to match my name to the correct room. At check out I was presented with an incorrect bill containing charges for dinner and mini-bar items that I did not consume (corrected at the time).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This is a centrally located hotel with pleasant ambience, good restaurants, and pleasant poolside area considering it is in the middle of Nairobi. I have stayed here before and the hotel has improved since last time

  • Liked — Convenience, location and security
  • Disliked — Atmosphere in the bar was unpleasant this time
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.