We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From $123
Ranked #39 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OK, but not more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent to nights at the Hilton. The rooms are fine, but we were disappointed to find that the pool was closed for renovation. Bad and expensive internet.
The good things were a great location in central Nairobi, very godd breakfast and a relaxing resident's lounge on the second floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and have always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We have noted your comment that during your recent stay you were disappointed that the pool was closed for maintenance. I am sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused you. However, I wish to explain that for the comfort of better service to our guests, this is an exercise we undertake every end of the year to ensure minimum interruption to our service. We do alert this on our website and we do provide an alternative swimming pool option with one of our colleague hotels; the hotels do assist each other in these sort of cases as we all go through the same routine. Again you have my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.

With regards of internet charges internet charges, I would like to advise, that apart from internet not being a free service as a Hilton Worldwide policy, our internet service is provided by a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. However, to our esteemed Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members, internet is fully complimentary.
We thank you and sincerely appreciate your positive comments about the comfort of our facilitys’ and good breakfast. I also note that you liked the location. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

With kind regards.


Yours sincerely,
MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    180
    178
    93
    51
See reviews for
47
90
73
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'll agree with other reviews that the staff are amazing and incredibly helpful but you need deep pockets for this old 1970's hotel. 24hour internet is $25. To have a shirt washed and pressed is $9, I dont think my shirt was worth that much! The rooms are dated with a small old style tube tv.
It's a bit desperate but the staff make up for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and have always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We have noted your comment that during your recent stay you were disappointed that the pool was closed for maintenance. I am sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused you. However, I wish to explain that for the comfort of better service to our guests, this is an exercise we undertake every end of the year to ensure minimum interruption to our service. We do alert this on our website and we do provide an alternative swimming pool option with one of our colleague hotels; the hotels do assist each other in these sort of cases as we all go through the same routine. Again you have my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.

With regards of internet charges internet charges, I would like to advise, that apart from internet not being a free service as a Hilton Worldwide policy, our internet service is provided by a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. However, to our esteemed Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members, internet is fully complimentary.
We thank you and sincerely appreciate your positive comments about the comfort of our facilitys’ and good breakfast. I also note that you liked the location. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,
MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was my best hotel experience so far in Nairobi. Having travelled there for the last three years and staying the Stanley Sarova and Safari Club previously.
Not quite the standard of facilities you would see at a Hilton Hotel in Europe or US but very comfortable: Good bed, silent and non-smelly aircon, insulated windows so not disturbed by the Nairobi heavy traffic. ( I stayed on the 11th floor which supposedly added to less noice). Exceptionally service minded staff: Went out of their way to help me with e.g. organizing a local phone number, sim-card and other practical things. Very good food and service at the Travellers restaurant. Good location in the city centre. Will probably choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: High up in the building to get as far as possible from the noisy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.
We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience and sincerely appreciate your positive comments about our facilities’ standards, good food and outstanding team members hospitality. I also note that you liked the location.

Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We place great value on your custom and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
With kind regards

Yours sincerely,


MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We always stay at the Hilton when in Nairobi, it is well located in the city centre. The service is second to none, food is very good and plentiful.
The swimming pool is quite nice and very relaxing.
The rooms are adequate but are now ready for a make over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are very glad to note that you were happy and satisfied with your overall experience and as well appreciate the good comment you make about the location, hospitality of our team members, food as well as the swimming pool during your recent visit to us. I have shared your feedback about your great service experience with the team. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

The Hilton team places great value on your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.


On behalf of the entire Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy and a prosperous 2013.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,



MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Yes this hotel hasn't had a refurb in quite some time but it's in a great location and the staff are excellent. All the staff we encountered were super helpful and one gentlemen in particular, Henry, really went above and beyond the service levels that would be expected of him. I would stay here again because of the location and the high level of service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are very glad to note that you were happy and satisfied with your overall experience and as well appreciate the good comment you make about the location and hospitality of our team members, Henry in particular during your recent visit to us. We truly appreciate your fine comments and I have shared your feedback with the team respectively. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Regarding of the condition of our facility, I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

The Hilton team places great value on your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.


On behalf of the entire Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family happy and a prosperous 2013.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,


MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We brought a room off big Henry con artist tour man of the century at Nairobi airport as we had a spare night before our tour started and want to stay in the city.

We were thinking o the crown plaza until He said he could do us a great deal at the Hilton right in upper Nairobi (the deal also included a 120% mark up commission for him we later found out)

We thought the Hilton is pretty standard it will be nice regardless. He'll weren't we infor a treat when we got there. I wouldn't even pay $100 buck to stay here I'd honestly rather pay $30 and sleep at a back packs cas that's at least value for money. (And I don't back pack) this placebos so dated and dingy. The groute in the bath room is black, curtains have moulde, the beds about to break, it looked like we walked into a 60's horror /seedy porn movie.

We went to check out straight away lucky mouses the manager was in reception after explaining our story he was very accommodating and up graded us to an executive suite which ahhhh yeah it was better but not by much. But it meant we didn't have to move.

Mouses was amazing such a tribute to this hell whole hotel he really would benefit at a more up market.

Breakfast was also good b

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

Unfortunately we have not been able to show this to you during your recent stay, as you indicated in the comment; my sincerest apologies for this; but we appreciate your critical and honest feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests’.

As of the status of the facility, I am indeed very sorry for we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. However, I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We sincerely appreciate the fine compliments you make about the hospitality of our team and good breakfast; I have gladly shared this with our management and teams. I am also glad to note that you were upgraded to an executive suite which was more comfortable for you. In regards to the rate offered by the Travel Agent, we regret to see that you felt overcharged and shall certainly inform them about your feedback and dissatisfaction.
Although we have not been able to meet your expectation, I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again or any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future. On behalf of the Hilton Nairobi team, may I take this opportunity to wish you and your family a happy and prosperous 2013.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

There are a number of quality, world class hotels in Nairobi. Unfortunately, the Hilton isn't one of them.

Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2013. Alarm bells should have run when the check-in agent tried to upsell me from my prepaid room to the 'executive' floor. They wanted an extra $130 per night, however, so I declined.

To describe the rooms in this hotel as tired would be too kind. The decor is incredibly worn and dated. It is no exaggeration that this hotel should probably have been renovated 10-20 years ago. The rooms feel straight out of the seventies.

I also made the mistake of having breakfast in the hotel on the first morning, The food was nothing special but I just about fainted when I was presented with a bill for KSHS 2,400 for a single breakfast. What a total rip-off! i'd recommend guests check out the Nairobi Java House a couple of blocks along the street where an excellent breakfast can be had for half that.

Don't be tempted to drown your sorrows in the bar either - unless you want to be fleeced KSHS 400 for a beer. To put this in context - there are bars in Nairobi that charge KSHS 120 or less for the same beer.

I am truly shocked that a respected worldwide brand like Hilton are prepared to accept the damage a terrible hotel like this does to their brand. They should either force the operators to renovate the hotel or withdraw their name from it.

In summary - don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela B, Manager at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests’ have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests’ and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests’ expectations.

Unfortunately we have not been able to show this to you during your recent stay, as you indicated in the comment; my sincerest apologies for this; but we appreciate your critical and honest feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests’.

We have noted your comment with regards of the condition of our facility, I am indeed very sorry we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel and the bulk of the issues raised are to be part of this.

We have also noted your comment with regards of room rates and food and beverage pricing. I wish to explain that our prices are at par with all other five star hotels within the city. Only at independent, small local restaurants are the prices indeed a lot less, but at comparable, safe international restaurants one pays a similar amount as you were charged at our hotel.

Although we have not been able to meet your expectation, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely

MANUELA BRODE I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.