We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
caligornia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stayed here on our first night in Kenya. We scheduled the hilton shuttle to pick us up because we didnt realize the airport AND the hotel both can hire trusted taxis. So the shuttle was sort of a waste, but they showed up early with my name on a sign which was a good thing! The driver was nice and we got to the hotel just fine. Upon arrival we were upgraded due to low capacity (we traveled during the election turmoil). The room was clean, they provded free bottles of water for brushing teeth, the staff was very friendly, and we had a nice view of the busy city center which was pretty cool. Maybe this hotel does have some bad rooms, but ours was great and i wouldnt have a problem staying here again.

  • Liked — It felt safe and was comfortable
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    185
    190
    98
    51
See reviews for
53
93
78
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

The up-side: The Hilton is situtated in the heart of Nairobi. The lobby is lovely and the hotel has good facilities (swimming pool, gym). The food was good and the sheets were clean

The down-side: The rooms are just not up to 5 or even 4 star standard. Buttons on the telephone don't work. The smell is somewhat musty. The bathroom was the most disappointing - the floor tiles were stained and dirty. Towels were old and hardened. Lighting was dim making it look dingy.

Overall, it was not a bad stay but certainly not a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The Hilton did NOT impress me in any way. I regret having been lured by that famous name (again). The rooms of this hotel are very small, let’s just say tiny. They are old, far from new for sure. They have no character and make you feel like being in an East-Berlin Plattenbau building. The furniture is old, not authentic, yes outright ugly. The beds are old as well and there was no cover over the boxspring, giving me at least a very unhygienic idea of the thing I was sleeping on. The carpet is old as well, sometimes even stained with paint from a paintjob that was carried out a decade ago. The bathroom is not much better, indeed even worse than the rest of the shack. It looks like a bathroom from an old apartment building, certainly not that of a 5-star place. And yes, not clean in some places too. In short, this place is extremely mediocre and has nothing to do with what you would expect.

Then the service. Well, let’s start with the lousy and amazingly expensive internet connection (2400 KSH or 30 USD). I thought I had a problem with my laptop, it just took forever to open up even a normal webpage (> 2minutes for gmail). But when I spoke to a tech-guy from the hotel I was told the minimum connection was 128kbs and maximum 750kbs. Believe me, it was even far from the lower speed! When I told the reception that I wasn’t happy with it, they didn’t even take the efforts to call me back as promised. And the next day, after telling them I wouldn’t pay for it, it took them 15 minutes to even “drop” the price to 1200 KSH. For the rest the service was anything from impressive too. To check-in it took over 10 minutes, check out, well that is clear now as well. The mini-bar content was poor, the amenities were limited and the entire atmosphere was just not up to par with what the name Hilton should stand for…

All in all, I would not suggest this place to anyone who wants to stay in a nice place. I would absolutely discourage anyone to pay premium prices. Just go here if you can find a good offer and there is nothing else in town (see my other reviews on the Fairfield and Stanley, which are great places!).

  • Liked — Nothing accept location
  • Disliked — stupid ugly little 2* rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Friendly staff in this tall concrete tower of a hotel. Service is moderate at best, which is a surprise as every department seems to be over-staffed. Buffet breakfast and dinner at the Travellers restaurant have plenty to offer in terms of variety, sadly the quality of food is nothing to write home about.
The exec level room was clean and everything was in working order as expected. I missed important telephone calls due to the operator’s inability to match my name to the correct room. At check out I was presented with an incorrect bill containing charges for dinner and mini-bar items that I did not consume (corrected at the time).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This is a centrally located hotel with pleasant ambience, good restaurants, and pleasant poolside area considering it is in the middle of Nairobi. I have stayed here before and the hotel has improved since last time

  • Liked — Convenience, location and security
  • Disliked — Atmosphere in the bar was unpleasant this time
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

The good points: the common areas are attractive, especially the dining and pool areas. The food was quite good, particularly the room service, although the prices (especially the buffet) are more in line with North American or European rates. The business centre had plenty of computers with fairly reasonable high speed service (although again, costly - approx $10 /half hour).
The bad points: My room was incredibly small and had paper-thin walls (I spent the evening listening to the TV programme in the room next door). The decor and bedding was well worn. I booked the room through a travel agent and could have gotten a better deal online, but for the price I paid I should have been in an executive suite (although I'd still bet the price wouldn't be worth it).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taranto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

I stayed at hilton nairobi two times, as it was the only opportunity i had in nairobi (others were fully booked). First of all the hotel doesn't deserve neither 5stars nor the hilton brand because it is in a desperate need of refurbishment and it is impossible to not recognize that nothing was done in this direction for many many years. the staff is totally and absolutely unelpful, they have no experience and are totally uninterested in solve the problems of the guests. the first time i arrived quite late, about 11 p.m. and i booked a deluxe plus room. i had to wait more than two hours to get my room and we did three attempts (entering in rooms were already were sleeping peoples) to find a room for me. moreover they gave me the smaller de luxe room (after trying to give me a disgusting room by the pool). the second time i had the room i booked in few minutes, but after some hours i received a comunication by the reception who told me that my credit card was blocked. they didn't want to call again the bank (as they don't have the on line POS for amex) or try again and didn't let me use internet to check my on line account. so i had to go outside, make an international phone call to amex and find an internet point to check my account. EVERYTHING WAS ok!!! so i came back to the hotel, i told this, they tried again and the card worked...
moreover both the times the bed was dirty and i had to ask many times to obtain new linens. i repeat: everything i asked (not strange things) i didn't receive any help by the staff, who also tried to charge me two dinners and a breakfast i didn't had. the health club and the gym are good.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.