We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a cut above basic room but overall good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From $123
Ranked #40 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Only a cut above basic room but overall good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here at the end of my Safari/Kilimanjaro trek as I wanted to be in luxury for my last night in Kenya. I wouldn't describe this hotel as a luxury hotel, it was pretty basic and what I would normally consider expensive. But you are in Africa and actually having staff with good customer service skills was welcome, despite the room being so basic.

Overall recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Ddirector of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

Although we did not fully meet your expectation, I am glad to note your good compliments about our team members hospitality, which was a pleasure to share with them. Regarding the luxury of our hotel, I would like to take this opportunity as well to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.
Hence we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to present to you our new product hopefully soon.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    177
    177
    94
    50
See reviews for
48
90
74
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Centrally located, the Hilton is in a perfect place for movement around Nairobi. It's within walking distance to most of the major sites in Nairobi (or at least from the POV of a tourist).

The facilities are good, there's a swimming pool which I didn't use but the fitness centre is really quite well equipped. Good to unwind after a safari, or rejuvenate before a safari.

The rooms however, are really quite old and in need of a renovation. The A/C seems a bit dated and doesn't cool the room very well.

Room Tip: Loved the pool deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment that our rooms are quite old and need renovation and the AC also seemed as it wasn’t not cooling effectively. I am indeed very sorry we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us, but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. Meanwhile, immediate air conditioning repairs have been undertaken by our Chief Engineer and I can now confirm that it is effectively working. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

We are glad to note the compliment you have made about our facility, swimming pool and fitness centre, which is a confirmation that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future
In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I think this is the 5th time I have stayed here and sadly things have gotten worse.
At check in the Hilton Honors desk was unmanned, meaning a queue to register. Unfortunately despite it being 4pm, the room was not ready, although reception did arrange free coffee whilst I waited the 30 minutes.
The room was little more than adequate and certainly showed its age. The bathroom fittings and tiles were especially poor. Also the rooms could do with more noise insulation - you can hear the neighbouring room quite clearly. However the beds are comfortable and the linen is clean and relatively new. Internet access is cabled but is not cheap - about 12 Euro a day.
The restaurant buffet was of very poor standard, with unappetising food and poor presentation. Breakfast was better but still not up to Hilton standards. Warm fruit juice, unattended egg counter, pork products mixed with others (doesn't worry me but one would expect the staff to be more culturally aware).
Traditionally the bar has been good but for some reason the staff seem lazy. It took forever to get a drink and even longer to sign the bill with staff disappearing half way through serving. As a result I tried the pool bar only to find it had closed early.
I am not sure what has transpired as the hotel had been getting better over the last couple of years, but if it were not for Hilton Points, I would not be staying again. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevator area - they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment that our HHonor’s desk was unmanned and your room was not ready upon arrival therefore you had to wait for 30 minutes, I sincerely apologize for this should not be the case. I have shared this information with our Front Desk manager to put corrective measures in place and ensure this does not happen again.

We also note your comment with regards of our room status, I am very sorry indeed that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; I am however pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come.

Regarding internet charges, I would like to advise, that apart from it not being a free service as a Hilton Worldwide policy, our internet service is provided by Docomo, a 3rd party internet service provider, making it rather difficult for us to lower it or even provide it for free. We do however have a so called Business Plus Package, where apart from an upgrade to a next level room type, unlimited internet access is included in the room rate with a small surcharge. Likewise, for our esteemed Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members, internet is fully complimentary.

Likewise, we have noted your comment about our buffet, breakfast, presentation of our food items and the conduct of our bar staff. You have my profound apologies for this terrible experience. I have shared this information with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage manager to retrain all our service team members on our Brand Service Standard. However, we appreciate your critical but constructive feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Though we were not able to meet your expectation during your recent stay, I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I wrote to the hotel in advance to get a cab to pick us up from the airport after our over seas flights from the US. The Hilton rep was there waiting for us after customers and arranged a cab for us at a very reasonable price. The hotel is in a great location in central Nairobi. As part of staying on the executive floors, the business center and honors lounge are included. That means free internet, breakfast and happy hour. The rooms are old but very adequate. We were greeted with some crackers and a fruit basket. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip. The staff is excellent, very accomodating and customer service orientated. As our flight left at 11pm they extended our checkout time many hours which was very convenient. It is safe to walk around their during the day but need to take cabs at night. The hotel recommended two excellent restaurants and made reservations for us: Trattoria- owned and operated by an Italian and TAMARIND, a superb seafood place. (Trattoria doesn't take credit cards.) We didn't eat at the hotel but used the health club facilities. The workout room could use more fans/circulation but otherwise was fine. Check with the bell captain as to cab charges in advance. The bellmen knew more than the front desk people in terms of cost of cabs and location of places. It's a good idea if you are coming to the hotel from someplace else to ask the hotel the cost of the cab ride as you may need to negotiate.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We always take pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your reception upon arrival, our facilities and especially our team members hospitality throughout your stay, I Id liked to thank you for your fine comments. It was my pleasure to share you kind feedback with our entire team. It is wonderful to see that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Regarding our rooms need for upgrade and our health club needing a better circulation, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
Your continued patronage and comments are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port stanley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed night 1 in Comfort Hotel an all out dive for a higher price than the Hilton. Hilton is better located....cappuccino bar, pool, CLEAN beds and hot water shower.
We absolutely loved it and staff was 1st rate.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to excecutive but I dont know why. Not complaining. It was so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to write to us; It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We are glad to note your positive comment regarding our bar, pool, cleanliness and facilities and we highly appreciate your gratitude to our team members hospitality, which I have already shared with them. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely

Heidi Kleine Moeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I checked in to Nairobi Hilton on 27th of July for a COMESA Cotton to Clothing regional strategy meeting. On 28th after attending the meeting at IVORY meeting room on the 1st floor, I forgot my laptop in the meeting room with my mobile phone and many keys in the laptop bag and left the room around 6:00 PM.
I came back around 9:00PM after going out to shopping.
When I came back, the laptop was not there. I checked with security people around and nothing came out. Then one security gentlemen came, his name is CYRUS ONDIEKI. I am amazed by the carrying and so professional services that I witnessed from this individual.
He managed the case very carefully, taking each and every steps very carefully and professionally. After going through 3 hours of intensive investigation both in physical visits of meeting places and my room and investigating the CCTV recorded for around three (3) hours, finally we sow a friend of mine taking care of the laptop taking to his room.
I am so satisfied and amazed by the services provided by the hotel though Mr. ONDIEKI.

Kindly;
Endalkachew Sime

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We have noted your gratitude to our team member Mr. Cyrus Ondieki who assisted you to recover the laptop that was left behind in our meeting room and it was our upmost pleasure to forward your fine comments with him. We also do appreciate the patience exercised by yourself throughout the investigation procedure. Hilton strives to ensure that our guest are well taken care off in all aspects including their own safety and security of their items.

We are glad to note that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was nice enough, clean but very old. Hasn't been updated in 20 years probably. Restaurants are ok, but don't expect fast service. Staff was very nice overall. I would probably look to stay somewhere else if I come to Nairobi again, but would stay here if I had to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Director of Operations at Hilton Nairobi, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Nairobi and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We have noted your comment with regards to the status of our facility, I am indeed very sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay; but I am pleased to advise that we are in the progress of a master plan renovation preparation, that will see a complete make-over of the Hotel in time to come. However, we appreciate your feedback and this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.
We appreciate your compliment about our room suites and restaurant and hospitality of our team members and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Nairobi again, to prove to you that we always strive to satisfy all our guests staying with us and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards

Yours sincerely

Heidi KleineMoeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nairobi

Address: Mama Ngina St, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's heart, the Hilton Nairobi hotel is next to the craft market and 25 minutes' drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Enjoy global dishes at the Traveller's Restaurant, try fine Italian cuisine at Sale E Pepe Restaurant or have a pint at the Hilton Nairobi hotel's Jockey Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hilton International Nairobi
Nairobi Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.