We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve ASAP!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #29 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Morelia, Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Needs to improve ASAP!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Spent 6 nights...had to wait in line for more than 15 minutes to check-in...and this happened in the Priority Club desk...staff were friendly (esp. Restaurant and Kitchen staff..personnel at Front Desk looked weary)...Lobby area would look like what you'd expect from an InterContinental but once you get to your room, it's a whole different story...the size and cleanliness of room were no issue...furniture were quite old and needs to go..had torn curtains with duct tape to "cover the holes?"..the bathroom was shocking...it felt like a bathroom you'd find in a bad hostel..it had stains all over the wall, sink, bathtub, etc...to be honest, it was kinda nasty...housekeeping were friendly too but everytime I had a request (laundry, towels, etc) it would take them at least 2-3 hours that a couple of times I completely forgot I called them in the first place...I still don't understand how guesthouses include WiFi in your US$20 room yet the InterContinental still charges this service to their guests...location was the main reason we stayed here since it was a couple of blocks from Conference Center...not a place I'd stay if I were on a Leisure trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    200
    123
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

An over fullconference hotel..depiste booking six months ago people sin out groups till not getting their rooms. or then only after midnight whilst being cleaned. ITotall full an dservices suffer as a result. It seems top dollar pays over long term reservcations. As busy attracting conferences the poolsid e and garden is used as a venue so not possible to swim or lie./relax outdoors the week I was there unless surrounded by suited men.
Thel ifts dont function well so either go newhere or are long delays to get to rooms. Rooms OK but very out dated. The chrome on my bathroom fixtures had been worn thorugh to the brozne/brass below and the seal around the bath ( obviuolsy renewed many thimes) had black mouldy patches in the hard to reach areas. the floor was stained.
Littel no AC in the crowded gym so smelly and offputting.

Cahrging for room an dwi-fi internet outragous in this day and age
I think it could go back to its former self with a face lift upgrade and some realistic management for conferences. As it is I wont come again but with a little thought put in to renovations and staff attutudes I might

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Its situated in the heart of the city Nairobi and offers nice views. Buffet breakfast is just awesome with quite a no. of varieties. Staff though very slow in responding, but overall its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_10, Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The InterContinental, Nairobi.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and please be assured that we have taken note of the slow response time in service. InterContinental Nairobi promises to deliver breakfast buffet in style and efficient service for when you are back here to stay with us.


We look forward to hosting you at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We had booked connecting rooms - and had these confirmed by the hotel - only to arrive to find there were none available. No help was given to fix this problem.
The lobby was shabby, with curling up carpet and unfriendly staff.
The rooms were disgusting.... cheap and nasty, both the bath tap and the overflow cover came off in my hand. There were brown stains on the bathroom floor, mould up the walls and flaking and peeling paint. I didnt actualy want to get in the shower to wash!
The restaurant food was poor and the service really slow.
It was more like a cheap two star travel lodge. Ideal for a quick stopover but dont expect decent standards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Like most Intercontinental, the InterCon in Nairobi was comfortable with large rooms and a stone's throw from Uhuru Park. The staff was exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to make sure that everything was fine. The hotel's has good conference facilities and several meeting rooms. The breakfast spread was large and great value for money. The hotel's security is also good which made one feel safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

As a business traveler, I have stayed at Intercontinental Nairobi on six different occasions. However my recent stay (Oct 2010) made it more obvious why I will not be staying at this hotel again:
Pros:
1. The waiting staff (waiters) at various restaurants throughout the hotel were great and made effort to ensure that one was well served
2. Location
Negatives:
1. Charging for internet –unlike competition in town, Intercontinental Nairobi charges (high) for internet connectivity within your room/business center. Also wireless connectivity is very low
Delayed check in: I arrived at 9:00pm and even with my "priority card membership - it took 45 minutes to check in. The excuse - the check-in lady was on training. However, there were four check-in staff manning the desk and I tell you, I have never seen such rude attitude towards guests. The check-in delay is an ongoing thing which I have experienced at this hotel during past stays
2. I was checked into a room with no lights/working phone. It is difficult to comprehend that this could happen at Intercontinental hotel but yes it did happen. It took another ten minutes to relocated me to different room
3. Not allowing quests into rooms in the evening: This policy is not even worth mentioning.
4. Duty manager: during my stay, the duty manager was very rude to me. In the past, duty manager at this hotel has been very responsive to questions, requests/complaints.
5. Creaky elevator/dirty room – I can’t explain it.
For my next trip to Nairobi, I will opt for competition.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed here for a night in September and while I had no complaints per se, I found it overpriced for what I got.

The hotel is somewhat tired and needs a refresh. The location is good for anyone wanting to be downtown and the level of security is very good. While the staff and level of service were ok, I have found staff at other hotels in Nairobi to be more friendly, and the service better.

As Im a Priorityclub member, checkin via the priorityclub desk was fine and I managed to get a room at 10am which was unexpected.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.