We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #29 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Its situated in the heart of the city Nairobi and offers nice views. Buffet breakfast is just awesome with quite a no. of varieties. Staff though very slow in responding, but overall its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_10, Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The InterContinental, Nairobi.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and please be assured that we have taken note of the slow response time in service. InterContinental Nairobi promises to deliver breakfast buffet in style and efficient service for when you are back here to stay with us.


We look forward to hosting you at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    200
    122
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We had booked connecting rooms - and had these confirmed by the hotel - only to arrive to find there were none available. No help was given to fix this problem.
The lobby was shabby, with curling up carpet and unfriendly staff.
The rooms were disgusting.... cheap and nasty, both the bath tap and the overflow cover came off in my hand. There were brown stains on the bathroom floor, mould up the walls and flaking and peeling paint. I didnt actualy want to get in the shower to wash!
The restaurant food was poor and the service really slow.
It was more like a cheap two star travel lodge. Ideal for a quick stopover but dont expect decent standards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Like most Intercontinental, the InterCon in Nairobi was comfortable with large rooms and a stone's throw from Uhuru Park. The staff was exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to make sure that everything was fine. The hotel's has good conference facilities and several meeting rooms. The breakfast spread was large and great value for money. The hotel's security is also good which made one feel safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

As a business traveler, I have stayed at Intercontinental Nairobi on six different occasions. However my recent stay (Oct 2010) made it more obvious why I will not be staying at this hotel again:
Pros:
1. The waiting staff (waiters) at various restaurants throughout the hotel were great and made effort to ensure that one was well served
2. Location
Negatives:
1. Charging for internet –unlike competition in town, Intercontinental Nairobi charges (high) for internet connectivity within your room/business center. Also wireless connectivity is very low
Delayed check in: I arrived at 9:00pm and even with my "priority card membership - it took 45 minutes to check in. The excuse - the check-in lady was on training. However, there were four check-in staff manning the desk and I tell you, I have never seen such rude attitude towards guests. The check-in delay is an ongoing thing which I have experienced at this hotel during past stays
2. I was checked into a room with no lights/working phone. It is difficult to comprehend that this could happen at Intercontinental hotel but yes it did happen. It took another ten minutes to relocated me to different room
3. Not allowing quests into rooms in the evening: This policy is not even worth mentioning.
4. Duty manager: during my stay, the duty manager was very rude to me. In the past, duty manager at this hotel has been very responsive to questions, requests/complaints.
5. Creaky elevator/dirty room – I can’t explain it.
For my next trip to Nairobi, I will opt for competition.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed here for a night in September and while I had no complaints per se, I found it overpriced for what I got.

The hotel is somewhat tired and needs a refresh. The location is good for anyone wanting to be downtown and the level of security is very good. While the staff and level of service were ok, I have found staff at other hotels in Nairobi to be more friendly, and the service better.

As Im a Priorityclub member, checkin via the priorityclub desk was fine and I managed to get a room at 10am which was unexpected.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have travelled to Asia, Pacific, Europe, Africa and parts of the Middle East but I have NEVER been so disappointed by a hotel!

i have summarised my hotel experience as follows:

Check in- VERY slow! I don't really understand why because there seems to be sooo much staff at the front desk.

Room - We arrived to a hotel with 1 towel for two guests. We were not provided hand towels, bath mats, face towels or at the very least 1 more towel for the other person. We called "instant service" to rectify the issue. 45 mins later no one came. We called again. They FINALLY came 15 mins later. As a result, we were late for our dinner reservations.

The room is VERY old and definitely not the quality you expect from this prestigious hotel chain. The bathroom is rusty and poorly maintained. I have attached some photos for your perusal.

Also our room was not made up. We called and asked that they attend to it. We returned to find that housekeeping made the bed but didn't bother with anything else.

During our stay, the mini bar fridge was empty. At check out, the reception ppl asked us if we had anything from the mini bar. I can only presume that the mini bar should have been stocked?? Very poor

Main Reception Area - We needed to modify our reservations so we could stay an extra night. We made arrangements the previous night. The next morning they said they had no records. We made the arrangements again.

The following evening, the Shift Manager and Security knocked on our door wondering why we hadn't checked out!!! We advised them of our arrangements and they advised us that they had no records! We made the arrangements AGAIN!

Concierge - The concierge asked us if it was our honeymoon. We said yes. He said he would arrange a special surprise. I'm still waiting for it.

Bell Boys - I am not sure whether this is a cultural thing but I found a lot of bell boys counting their tips at the front desk. I think this is inappropriate and wrong.

Reception Bar - I ordered a cocktail and waited 30 mins for a cocktail. When it came it tasted like soda water and strawberries.

OVERALL IMPRESSION - At the time of my visit, I recall that there was some convention happening, it seemed to me that the staff bent over backwards for the businessman but treated the tourists like second rate guests. I am a lawyer but I didn't realise that it was a pre-requisite that I brought my suit to get standard service!

i booked this hotel because I trusted the Intercontinental brand. Unfortunately, after this experience I can't ever imagine booking another intercontinental hotel. In short, if you want to throw your money away I suggest you go to the city markets because at least you will get better service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was my third stay at the Intercontinental and let me say that I was NOT impressed this time around. Check in was a mess, chaotic and the lobby was full of people waiting to check in so it was not a relaxing experience. The room smelled of cleaning products and I was not happy but was not given any alternative as the hotel was full. I was also ripped off by the official driver who was taking me to the airport and had to call the hotel concierge to straighten out the matter. I did sleep comfortably but the overall level of service and efficiency was low for a hotel of this price and rating. I would not return for another round. There are cheaper options for the same rate or better options for slightliy more money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.