We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed her to attend a conference last month. The only thing I can say is that the place was very close to the Convention Center, but was nevertheless a disappointment. As a business traveler, you expect certain things, like a good environment for working including reliable internet, voice mail and a good desk set up. This place had none of those. The internet was spotty at best. The voice mail system didn't work- when I called to aks that was all I was told "it's not working"- no word on when it will be working (if ever). The chair for the desk was too low and very uncomfortable, while the desk light was not on the desk and so did not provide adquate light for working. Not a place for a business traveler.

Furthermore, things just kept breaking. One day the light bulbs, another day the shower, another day no towels. To their credit, the staff were always friendly and very responsive, fixing all of these inconveniences right away. My hat off to them as they have to cope with a mgmt team that seems to have little interest in modernizing the place. But the hotel is just dark and narrow and generally out of date. Needs a serious upgrade.
I just cannot justify the +$250/night to stay there. Let me add that the rate is room only. Internet is an additional $30/day (for 24 hrs) and breakfast will also set you back another $18 or so.
When they were the only game in town I'm sure ppl paid the price. Today, there are more choices, including a host of better priced competitors with more amenities who I'm sure provide a better experience.

Don't stay here, it's really not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    269
    152
    58
    33
See reviews for
86
101
50
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I am a frequent traveler to Nairobi and I have stayed at the InterContinental Nairobi a few times. Last year I traveled to the hotel and to be honest I was slightly disappointed. The internet was not working so well and they didn't have enough towels!! I had to wait for one hour for a towel!! My room was also not quite what I was used to at InterContinental Hotels. All in all I didn't think that i would go back there!

I decided to give the hotel another chance as the staff promised me that this was a one off experience! You know to be honest I never really believed that but decided to give them another chance as the hotel is quite close to my place of work. I was so glad that I did this!!! From the moment I checked in the experience was turned around! I came in around 18:00 and my room was ready but what was more impressive was that I did the check in in my room!!! I didn't have to wait in the queue!! The room was much better than the last time - they have spent some money putting new soft furnishings in the room and it really makes a difference. The food presentation is a lot better and overall the quality and variety impressed me. I must say the room attendant was really fantastic, she was so friendly and really accommodating. I told her that last time I had to wait an hour for towels and was glad to see that there were some in the bathroom already...that night I went to my room and I had an extra two towels(this continued till the end of my stay).

All in all I really am glad I gave them another chance and it was really a turn around. The entire team seems really switched on to my needs and I felt really cared for.

Try it out - its definitely a place where they take their promises seriously!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

I travelled to kenya for an anticipated two days but was "forced" to stay because of the Volcanic Ash cloud over Iceland. I couldnt believe how wonderful the staff was in trying to make me as comfortable as possible. Every time I requested something or even when I was just standing at the buffet I was greeted by a big welcoming Smile accompanied by a local greeting "Jambo" If it were just for the staff I would recommend this hotel to each and every person who is travelling to Kenya.

We staying in their new Executive Floor - which had a lovely Club Lounge. The fresh juices and wide variety for breakfast was out of this world. The evening happy hour really kept us entertained.

I would really recommend you to visit this place. The people...the food...the rooms...WOW!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

When I travelled to Kenya for a one day business trip I never thought I'd be stranded there for almost 7 days!! In any other situation this would be a nightmare! But the staff of InterContinental Nairobi really turned it around...I have yet to see a hotel who reacted so well to a natural disaster. The room attendants, the reception staff, the pool attendants, the waiters, even the chefs made me feel at home. Any updates from the airlines were duly communicated and they really emphathised with me. During my stay I was in one of their deluxe rooms which were really clean and comfortable. The only small issue I would comment on is that the internet was slightly slower than what I get at home - but it wasnt really a big deal. Please go experience what true hospitality is all about. Thank you to all the staff for making my experience as a "Volcanic Ash Victim" so much more bearable!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here at the end of a recent trip to Kenya. After reading other reviews, I think some of the rooms must have been refurbished as our room was quite smart with very comfortable beds and duvets. We used the swimming pool and surrounding sunbeds which were very good. We were also quite happyy with the meals we enjoyed and the restaurant service. What let the hotel down in our opinion was the check in and check out - a very slow and laboured process! The service we received at the front desk was completely different to the excellent service we received elsewhere and definitely needs improvement.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur,India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

This was the start of our business tour of East Africa and we were put to a good start!
I thad all the services ,someof our colleaugues fromtrade delegation wanted tot ake to kenayan safari and they could manage through hotel.
Someof the staff , n fatc all those that I came across , they delivered the service before I contemplated.This was unusual as otherwise you get irritated with obswequeous[greedy, not genuine staff] . Hotelhad nice food , serives etc could make carrying out business more effectively. I thas all that you need ,moment you land in,bellboy is there and he takes you to counter then to room and expalins somefundamentals, and answers all your questions and where he can't ,he wd call upfromyr room itself and make sure you got satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugo7913
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed 6 days at this very good located luxury hotel, we were recieved very very helpfull and check-in was made in our suite, the staff was absolutely fantastic what ever we needed or asked for was solved immidiatly and with a big smile!
The Breakfast was very delicious and we could take it outside in the garden which my wife and me likes.
We have only good things to say and hope to return one day again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#23 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.