We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, comfortable suites, very nice pool area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #28 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
hugo7913
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic staff, comfortable suites, very nice pool area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed 6 days at this very good located luxury hotel, we were recieved very very helpfull and check-in was made in our suite, the staff was absolutely fantastic what ever we needed or asked for was solved immidiatly and with a big smile!
The Breakfast was very delicious and we could take it outside in the garden which my wife and me likes.
We have only good things to say and hope to return one day again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    188
    120
    51
    26
See reviews for
65
80
44
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

This probably once was a great 5* but it has not been maintained well. The rooms are more like a 3* hotel- adequate but worn, with musty, mildewy carpet (yuk), a stained bathtub, mildew on the rubber anti-slip bathmat, and a chipped sink. I couldn't get the shower to dispense water at an agreeable temperature.

Service is erratic- like using the wireless internet in your room requires getting a code for which you call guest services, who refer you to the business center, who call you back 10mins later. On top of that the internet pricing is silly- no 24r access available and pricey. The safe in my room was locked- they came to open it after i asked but it show the lack of attention to detail.

The gym was closed for an unspecified period when i was there- too bad if you took this 5* hotel because of its facilities. The outdoor pool is OK but I prefer the one at the Serena hotel.

What the hotel has going for it is the location- walking distance to shops, restaurants etc. Also nice are the large windows that open (with mosquito netting) as Nairobi's climate can be very pleasant so i just had the window open all day.

However, for this price i would expect better service and better facilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed at the end of a memorable Safari. Completely spoiled the holiday. The staff is not adequately trained. The housekeeping is non-existant. The room had the following defects- At least three lights were not working, no fridge or minibar, iron not working, torn towels, the recessed glass shelves in the bathroom missing. Don't seem to believe in turning down the bed at night, had to remind the housekeeping at 10.00 pm, wait 30 minutes and make the bed ourselves! The list is endless. Never expected a Intercontinental to be shabby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

During a recent safari to Kenya I spent a total of 3 nights at the Interconti.
Check in was efficient, all reservation details at hand, so I only had to sign and got my key card.
My room, rather my suite, was well appointed and lacked nothing I would have missed, and the amenities in the bathroom were absolutely complete, including shaver, toothbrush, sewing kit and quality soaps, shampoo and showergel.
I particularly enjoyed the firm matress and good pillows, which allowed me some good nights sleep.
Most appreciated was the access to the 'Club Lounge' on the sixth floor, where a small meeting room is at guests' disposal and where breakfast is served for IHG card holders or guests invited to the facility, as I was. Wireless internet is available for free in the lounge and the attending staff are very observant and extremely helpful. Snacks are available throughout the day, a happy hour in the evening gets one in the pre-dinner mood - with several theme restaurants on the ground floor leaving the taste buds satisfied.
Very good value, central location and a warm and friendly staff right across the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

The Hotel is ok but we were charged 375USD/night which is a lot for what you get...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Being hoteliers, we understand how things can go wrong and hotels make mistakes. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed at for so many reasons and it just started off our African Safari on the wrong foot. Just to name a few things, we arrived very early in the morning of our arrival, and since the hotel could not guarantee an early checkin, our tour operator paid for the night before our arrival to ensure the room was ready for our early checkin. Needless to say, they initially did not have our room available. After much discussion at the front desk they finally gave us a key to a room....which turned out to be dirty and just slept in by another guest just hours before. We went back down to the front desk, explained the situation and the agent at the desk said, wait over there - as he pointed to the lobby lounge. No apology, no explanation - nothing! We sat in the lobby for about 10 minutes before anyone came to explain anything, the front desk personnel didn't even come talk to us to apologize or explain, and just sent someone else over to fix the problem. We eventually got keys to another room, and just as we arrived, I sat on the corner of the bed and it toppled on top of me - it was such a flimsy cheap mattress and frame that was not properly put together. We had to go back downstairs again because the bed was unacceptable as well as the other amenities in the room....long story short, we got keys to another room, went to go get our luggage from the belldesk so we would not be waiting for the luggage. They insisted on bringing it up "straight away"....and yes, we waited....and waited....and waited. Finally, my husband went down to get it, and meanwhile our luggage is sitting there while a couple of the bellmen were standing chit chatting....

This is just a long list of the things that went awry in our stay, and my husband and I being over 35 years combined in the hotel business in Sr Management positions will undeniably say this was by far the worst experience we had ever had in a hotel. Eventually, on our final night of our safari, we had stayed there again (however, threatened to cancel that reservation if things didn't improve for the next time around), and we were in a room that was beautifully refurbished. I am sure they are capable of great things at that hotel, but our first impression will never lead us to return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

On our trip to Kenya and Tanzania in Nov of 2009 we first stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in Niarobi where our Go Ahead Tour group met. My husband and I each took an extra bag to donate - one for the Deaf Aid School and one for the Familia Moja orphanage. We found these organizations thru a website called stuffyourrucksack.com. You can look up any city you plan to visit and find organizations that need donations. Since a second bag is free to check for international flights, we filled them with things such as socks, pens, pencils, erasers, pencil shapeners, workbooks and story books for children, flash cards and card games, jump ropes, toothbrushes etc. I was able to email the person in charge at each facility ahead and they picked up the bags at our hotel - one I met in person and the other I had to leave with the bellman, with a tag for the person, to pick up. I was sent photos of the children with the things I had donated - it is a good feeling. They do NOT need candy even though they beg for it - poor oral hygeine and few dentists in the bush areas.
As for Nairobi, we were discouraged from going out but we went anyway to the cathedral with is right behind the hotel and very modern inside, then 2 blocks away to the City Market where all sorts of handicrafts are sold. Just avoid the guys who approach you there and offer to get you the "best price" - very inflated because they skim off a commission after they pay the vendors. Just deal with each vendor yourself. It was a safe walk to and from and we were not nervous about this at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel
Nairobi Intercontinental
Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list