We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, not nice front desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, not nice front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

I can never understand why this expensive business hotels charge you a fortune for internett in the room. Waiting 20 minutes for check at the front desk is also very bad.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    231
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
77
90
47
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The hotel is clean but old. Someone tried to break into our room at 1 am. The security manager and hotel manger did nothing to address the problem. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

For what we paid (almost 400 dollars) the hotel is no value for money. It is a typical 5-star of a previous generation. Rooms are rather small, even at the club floor level. No major complaints, but it shouldn't have costed more than $ 200. The outdoor pool is small, don't expect too much.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
216 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

Have stayed here many times over the years and am pleased to say that the Intercontinental has improved during that time. The rooms are very average in quality, but spacious and well equipped with minibar, sitting area, safe, desk and irons. My bathroom was very small and a little dated but clean. My hairdryer and one bedside light did not work, but then this is quite usual here. The room has big ceiling to floor windows that open but the noise from the very busy road below meant I had to keep them shut all the time.
The best things about the IC are the restaurants and the friendly service. The pool is heated but small and the sunbathing/bar area very busy.
Very centrally located.

  • Liked — Restaurants
  • Disliked — Not everything works in the rooms.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

A good hotel, well managed with really thoughtful staff on the Club floor. African hotel experiences range from the surreal to the exquisite - this comes close to the latter. It's not pretty and the pool could be better - but you are in the middle of Nairobi!

If you are staying in a Club room (which I recommend) then you can avoid reception and go straight to the 6th floor to check in. Drink? Towel? When I found I'd lost my mobile phone charger the staff went looking for another guest with the same model and borrowed the charger for me. Outstanding.

Breakfast in the Club Lounge is good, as is the Indian restaurant. The pool bar is OK, while the main indoor bar is ugly and badly-lit. Sunday Brunch round the pool with a band is good, but very popular with screaming children...!

The concierge is pro-active and very helpful, and can organise for a car and driver to be paid shillings in cash and charged to your room in dollars.

I stayed in an ordinary room on another occasion and it was much more basic, rather tired, and the room service was markedly less responsive. Go Club and you'll be happy.

  • Liked — Thoughful service
  • Disliked — Baths not full size...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We held a series of meeting in Nairobi this year (5) and were lodged at the Intercontinental. Hotel is ok and service is good except 2 things: overbooking management and confusion in room pricing. Even though I was on their frequent visitor program, I had to suffer from differences in price, and waiting for hours before getting a room although it was booked in advance by the company and my card should guarantee me "fast" check in.
Apart from that, stay was nice. The rooms are quite nice although a bit old, and there is barely no difference between a superior and a deluxe room (while there is 100$ gap between the two). I heard from colleagues that their standard rooms are not so good. As part of a big hotel chain, if you are used to Intercontinental, rooms look like the same
You appreciate the reliable Internet speed which is sometimes difficult in East Africa.
The food was quite good.
And for business, the location is well centered, but not suited forsightseeing.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Overcrowded
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on the first night of a safari. We arrived about ten at night and left about ten the next morning so our experience was limited. It is a modern hotel with all the amenities you might expect. The room was very nice as was the staff. Breakfast was in a very large pleasant room next to the pool. The public areas were appealing and comfortable. The hotel is close to all the major public government buildings although we only saw them from a car. This is certainly a good choice for an overnight before or after a safari.

  • Liked — Comfort/staff
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.