We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is slowly beginning to show its age, but thats where the negatives end. The staff are the most helpful and accommodating that I have ever come across. Upon arrival we were given cold drinks and a towel to wipe off the dust, which more than makes up for the extensive security you need to pass through to enter. It really set the tone for our stay. Breakfast was an average price and the food was good. If i'm back in Nairobi i will be back at the Interconty.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    238
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
79
92
47
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for about 4 months whle I lived and worked in Nairobi. Yes, it is old with very heavy drapes and dark woods in most of the rooms, but the place is immaculate and very well maintained. The dark drapes are wonderful for keeping out the noise from the busy street below. I stayed in one of the 2 room suites on the Club Floor and never have I been better taken care of. From the time I woke up in the morning until the time I returned in the evening, the entire staff, from housekeeping to the Chef, to the concierge staff to the front desk staff, the spa (what a great massage I got there!!!) and the housekeeping staff - they were all there just to meet the needs of their guests and man are they ever busy!! I stayed there over Christmas holidays and had the most incredible time I've had anywhere in the world - and I have been everywhere. Thank you Karl and the rest of your amazing staff for making Nairobi one of the best experiences of my life. Ruellene J. Ross

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the Club level - amazing rooms, staff, amenities and free internet. Corner suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ruellene,

Thank you for your great feedback.

I am happy that you chose our hotel to be your Home away from Home. I am motivated to know that our entire team’s exceptional service and made your stay memorable. Thank you for giving us this opportunity to serve you.

I am aware of the era of our facility. We are looking forward to upgrading many areas of the hotel and hope that we will be able to embark on these enhancements soon.

Once again, thank you for the all-inclusive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back home.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel, located right next to Kenya parliament, is a bit old but very well managed member of the IHG chain of hotels. Intercontinental stood up to its expectation showcasing graceful interiors, polite and prompt staff, and large array of rooms. All of its rooms are very spacious, furnished classically but with all modern amenities, ensuring a comfortable stay. I spent just one night here with family, but with the large variety of good Indian food in buffet and Indian channels showing up in the TV, it was won us over instantly. We carried several safety concerns while coming to Kenya but the tight security here took away all our worries at least for the one night we stayed here. I would definitely recommend it to anyone planning to put up in Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sonik18,

I am so pleased to receive your most comprehensive feedback on your recent stay.

Thank you for your kind remarks on our outstanding service, exceptional colleagues and great facilitites.

At InterContinental Nairobi, we strive to meet and exceed guest’s expectation. I am happy to learn that this stay was superb. Thank you for commending our security. It gives us pleasure to know our guests can relax in a secure environment while in the hotel.

I am grateful for choosing InterContinental Nairobi to be your Home away from Home and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a business meeting here and after the very thorough security screening we were welcomed into the warm lounge /foyer at the entry .Once inside its hard to believe the hotel is smack in the middle of the mad evening Nairobi traffic and you get transported into another serene world .There are a couple of restaurants at the entrance and one which looks like a coffee bar but we only got a chance to sample the terrace restaurant .There are two options for the terrace .One is sitting outside by the pool for drinks but for a more formal dinner sit inside the restaurant .I will definitely be coming back to sample the outside part as the music was drifting in to inside and the ambiance is absolutely glorious especially in this January evening weather .The service inside was great we had a waiter who though not so helpful with wine pairing choices was very efficient .The food is okay .I would have rated it as great but I was disappointed that there were no options for gluten free deserts.The meal was buffet but seeing as I am gluten intolerant my request for alternatives was not accommodated .They have an offer where you can buy a special card that entitles you to discounts on your bill .Free wifi is only for residents though .

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Nymbura N,

Thank you for taking time to give us comprehensive feedback on your visit to our hotel.

I am delighted that you chose to hold your meeting at our hotel. I appreciate your positive feedback on the level of security. It is our supreme goal to ensure that our guests relax in a secure environment while in the hotel.

I am grateful to receive your comments about our F&B outlets. I regret to learn that you experienced gaps in our service, especially on limited wine variety to choose from and the deserts. Our F&B team has looked into your comments for continuous improvement and make it more delightful for you and your guests.

I hope that you will find time soon to come and enjoy our outdoor bar, Makuti and sample scrumptious Nyama Choma. Did you know that we offer the finest Indian Cuisine in our Bhandini Restaurant?

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a relaxing and fulfilling evening out with my friends at the hotel. Initially: a thorough security system that is justified, secure parking and great welcoming.
Serene and clean environment around the pool: dinner under the stars, soft music and efficient service.
The setup was so relaxing that we extended our evening to stay longer.

Room Tip: Choose on the east are he quietest. Rooms on the west close to highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Aydrus,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your evening in a relaxed secure hotel environment. At InterContinental Nairobi, our goal is to consistently meet and exceed guest’s expectation.

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and your guests. We will be glad to welcome you back.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good security, both outside the hotel and within. Very very good friendly and knowledgeable staff. We had late dinner outside at the BBQ, good steaks at a reasonable price. Very good bedroom with a very present bed and pillows. Very nicely decorated . The bathroom is a bit dated with an average shower over the bath. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 68Dale68,

I am so pleased to receive your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our delightful BBQ. I appreciate your complements on our colleagues’ outstanding service and lovely breakfast.

It is great to know that the comfort of our room met your expectation. We are working on a plan to upgrade our bathroom facilities and hope that we will be able to embark on these enhancements soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is definitely very safe spot. City centre, close to all gov't buildings, embassies etc. Rooms are nice though a bit old, service is just excellent. Traffic is an incredible issue, be prepared to spend 1hr to get to hotel from airport. I would highly recommend indian restaurant - incredible authentic taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east/south - more light (my room on west/north side was rather dark, no ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Majuszek,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to know that the location of our hotel was ideal to you. I am grateful for your compliments on our outstanding service. It is great to note that you found time to dine at our Bhandini (Indian) Restaurant. Did you know that Makuti Bar offers delightful Kenyan BBQ (Nyama Choma)?

I will be happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.