We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but of good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but of good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good experience. Room was facing the back of hotel that was a filthy look. Poolside was not properly cleaned.
WiFi was slow and very expensive.bathroom requires refurbishing. Lifts are very old and required to be replaced. Out look is gud church side is better than the other one. The open area TV screen is not clear. Food is gud. Not so much verity in Drinks. Ambiance is gud. Good value of money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Iftikharahmed,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are grateful for giving us an opportunity to improve on various areas of service. This is valuable to us.

It is a pleasure to learn that you loved the quality of our food and ambiance of the hotel. We hope that in your next visit, you will find time to sample our Indian Cuisine in Bhandini (Indian) Restaurant and Sunday Brunch.

We appreciate your comments about the level of cleanliness by the pool, condition of your bathroom, elevators and quality of TV in your room. We apologize for the dissatisfaction. The Director of Engineering and Executive Housekeeper are looking into these concerns for continuous improvement.

We would like to advise that WiFi service is offered free to all our IHG Rewards Club guests as well as complimentary access to all guests. We regret to note that you experienced slow service. Our Director of IT is assessing causes into instances of slow browsing in order to enhance efficiency of internet service.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again during your future visits.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    210
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
73
85
47
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No shower caps, quality of the bath products was very poor ! electronics in the room were very poor quality!

Size of the rooms also is small!

Not happy and it doesn't feel intercontinental has kept their standards while planning this hotel!

It's seems like a regular 3 star stop over hotel! Very ordinary!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KanikaDewani66,

Thank you for your comments about your experience during your recent stay with us. It is through your valued feedback that we can consistently improve on our services.

We have noted your comments on the amenities and the electronics. We are in process to upgrade our product and you should be able to see vast improvements in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your review and hope that you will give us another chance in your future lodging plans.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very central hotel. Good to stop over on way to safari's. Friendly staff clean nicely maintained property. Have been going there regularly since the last 7 years. Very good family hotel. Breakfast was nice and early too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nariaban,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your recent experience in our hotel and particularly, for having chosen to stay with us during your past visits.

We are pleased to note that the location of our hotel was a perfect stop while on safari. We are happy that you loved the quality of breakfast and found our staff friendly.

We would be very happy to welcome you and your family back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The fact that I have one more night here and feel the need to write this now is not a good sign. I am aggravated. It was a promising start when I checked in, easily becoming a priority member (instant free internet) & submitting my frequent flyer card with ease to gain miles. Walking into the room, I was taken aback by how dated this hotel is, decor, tv and all. Very disappointed to discover dirty surfaces in my bathroom. I literally wiped them with tissue and left the tissues there to illustrate the point to house keeping. The shower lever fell off in my hand, the blow dryer did not work. Only one elevator was working which meant interminable waits (not appreciated when you're attending a meeting), not to mention the bumpy stops between floors that only heightened my anxiety and displeasure. The pad thai and caesar salad i ordered on consecutive nights were bland and unimaginative which led to my requesting side items (sundried tomatoes, Tabasco, sausages-didn't help). Conference room temperatures were unpredictable going from boiling hot to freezing in mere moments. I'm currently in a taxi heading into town just to get temporary reprieve. So yes, not happy.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nyamisa,

It is a pleasure to have hosted you and we thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We regret that your stay was inconvenienced in various ways and we sincerely make an apology for the dissatisfaction. We are grateful for the opportunity you have given us to continuously improve on our services.

Your comments will be looked into by responsible teams in order to avoid a recurrence of similar incidences in the future.

We are hope you will consider us in your future accommodation plans.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, these boys know how to charge! Two coffees for 800 shillings! It's a convenient town centre hotel but priceeeey! That's almost $5 each more than the average daily wage I reckon! I had others today at an equally convenient hotel and it was almost half the price. Really guys, don't rip off your customers.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Andy W,

Thank you for your feedback on our services during your recent visit to our hotel. Apologize if the quality of our product did not meet value for your money. We aspire to offer you superior service all the way through your visits.

We hope that you will be able to give us another chance to be of service to you.

Kind regards,


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville,colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights and felt very secure. Staff was very nice. Bar area gets really busy with high end locals. It takes forever to get food once ordered. The breakfast had a good variety to choose from.
Rooms are very dated with mold on the bathroom ceilings.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ijc65,

It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay. It is through your valued feedback that we target problem areas and continuously work on improvement.

We are grateful that you felt safe in our hotel and are particularly appreciative of your remarks about of staff.

We have taken note of your concerns on timeliness of service at the bar and are working on this for improvement.

Kind regards,

Dieter O. Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Internet was consistent and my room was comfortable, clean and large. I recommend a room high enough to see into the park. Hotel has nice outside bar with big screen during world cup for soccer. The spa is nice as was the service in general. There are ironing boards in the room, which was a plus for the business traveler. Can't say much about the location as I was moving up towards gigiri - traffic in Nairobi is always bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear EcoAgTraveler,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We are overjoyed to learn that you had a fantastic stay. We are particularly happy that our facilities, both in your room, outdoors and internet service met your expectation.

We desire to consistently exceed your exceptions and making your stay memorable. We look forward welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi soon.

Kind regards,


Dieter O. Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.