We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel, but safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
louisville,colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Dated hotel, but safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed for three nights and felt very secure. Staff was very nice. Bar area gets really busy with high end locals. It takes forever to get food once ordered. The breakfast had a good variety to choose from.
Rooms are very dated with mold on the bathroom ceilings.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear ijc65,

It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay. It is through your valued feedback that we target problem areas and continuously work on improvement.

We are grateful that you felt safe in our hotel and are particularly appreciative of your remarks about of staff.

We have taken note of your concerns on timeliness of service at the bar and are working on this for improvement.

Kind regards,

Dieter O. Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    247
    145
    57
    32
See reviews for
82
95
50
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Internet was consistent and my room was comfortable, clean and large. I recommend a room high enough to see into the park. Hotel has nice outside bar with big screen during world cup for soccer. The spa is nice as was the service in general. There are ironing boards in the room, which was a plus for the business traveler. Can't say much about the location as I was moving up towards gigiri - traffic in Nairobi is always bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear EcoAgTraveler,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We are overjoyed to learn that you had a fantastic stay. We are particularly happy that our facilities, both in your room, outdoors and internet service met your expectation.

We desire to consistently exceed your exceptions and making your stay memorable. We look forward welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi soon.

Kind regards,


Dieter O. Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The rooms are great, close to the CBD area..just love the breakfast as its variety of selection and have something for everyone. The staff are great and helpful always ready to assist, the Bar outside near the pool is nice and cool place to have dinner. But mosquitoes sometimes can keep you away from enjoying the outdoor.

Room Tip: Facing the church side, has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear SABY M,

We are pleased to receive your review on your recent stay. We are particularly happy to note that your entire stay was delightful.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our group of four had two rooms for two nights each prior to our visit to Masai Mara Reserve and then again as a "day use" rooms prior to our late night departure from Nairobi. Staff was always cordial AND EXTREMELY HELPFUL. Breakfast buffet was fresh, hot, and contained a variety of selections. Did not try lunch, but room service was quick and efficient and the food was very good, The bed was extremely comfortable and the rooms were clean. Mini-bar was well stocked and each room had 2 complimentary bottled waters for guests. More were available from the cleaning staff without hesitation. Security was tight, but not overbearing. A little noisy from the traffic as Nairobi streets are crowded. Get a room on the 6th or 7th floor. Will definitely stay again when in Nairobi

Room Tip: 6th or 7th floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear KeithM6432,

We are glad to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay and hope that you had a terrific time in Maasai Mara! Thank you for the great comments about our staff, the quality of food served at breakfast and Room Service as well as your comfortable room. It is our goal to make certain that you have a safe and memorable stay.

We regret any discomfort due to the level of noise due to the traffic as we are located in the heart of the government and business district.

We will be glad to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Dieter O. Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here twice recently, both times for two nights, at the beginning and end of our safari. We stayed once in the fancier rooms and once in the regular rooms. The upgraded rooms are indeed more nicely decorated than the regular rooms, but both were comfortable and quiet with high quality linens, sheets and mattresses. The second stay we were directly across from the elevator but did not hear any elevator noise or hall conversations. We ate at the hotel in the Indian restaurant, in the main breakfast dining room, and at the pool bar. The food was tasty and the menu selection was very good. Service was excellent throughout, whether in restaurants, at the checking desk, concierge service, or by security at hotel entrances. Internet access was not as straightforward as explained by the front desk. My son finally figured it out, but there is also help on site if need be. This hotel is located just across from the Parliament buildings. It is a 10 minute walk from the City Market and a 15 minute walk from the Aug. 7 memorial park. Walking is safe in the daytime, but watch the traffic when crossing streets and when walking on streets where sidewalks are roped off. Allow 75 minutes to reach the airport during commuting hours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side face Parliament; we had no noise issues being near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Bikers_Mom,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience during your recent stay with us. We are happy that you had time to sample our Indian Cuisine at the “Bhandini Restaurant” as well as great food served at the Terrace and Makuti. It is great to learn that our people, throughout the hotel, including the Security team, gave you superior service.

We have taken note of the challenge with the internet service and have shared with our Director of IT, for improvement.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to another opportunity to host you.

Kind regards,

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here overnight on the way to Tanzania and was disappointed, the rooms and hotel could do with updating.
Breakfast for a intercontinental hotel was so,so and the service was poor.
Hope it improves as I'm due to stop here again on my return to Tanzania in August.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear colin8358,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your valued feedback, since this is one of the most efficient ways for us to constantly improve our services.

We appreciate your concerns on the condition of room, quality of breakfast and level of our service. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We are working on these areas ensure that you have a better experience in your next visit.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at the InterContinental Lagos in January 2014. When checking out, front desk informed me that they had to send my American Express details to the InterContinental Nairobi for processing. Strange, but I didn't question it at the time. About three weeks later, the charge hit my account.

Fast forward six months: the InterContinental Nairobi has recently charged my card again in the same amount. I haven't set foot in Africa since February 2014. Hotel management won't return any of my communications.

Would strongly recommend to avoid. Dealing with this kind of thing is never fun and hotel management appears clearly unconcerned.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kyle A,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay in the InterContinental Lagos. We do trust that you are in contact with the Management of IC Lagos and highly regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We are grateful for giving our team a chance to discuss this incident with you for resolution and for your business support.

Kind regards,

Dieter O. Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.