We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Rooms are quite dated but adequate, possibly looking a little scruffy. The number one aspect of this hotel is the excellent service, which from previous experience in Africa, I expected to be poor. Check-in staff were excellent as were the staff at the pool bar and main restaurant. Only minor complaint was that the aircon did not initially work but this was due to it being switched off by a switch located in the wardrobe! Wifi was provided free of charge but signal is weak or non-existent at the pool-side bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear valDubai,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Nairobi and also for sharing your kind feedback. I am so glad you had a great stay with us and that will recommend us to others, that is always a great compliment. Thank you also for your feedback on the aircon and the wifi. We are working to address the concerns.

I hope on your next visit to Nairobi we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    248
    146
    57
    33
See reviews for
84
96
50
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

extremely wonderful experience
club floor rooms are generous and clean with a variety of amenities
the club lounge offers a wide range of choices starting with breakfast and continuing till "happy hour"
staff is extremely careful and helpful

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Marius S,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your observations of your recent stay with us at the hotel. It is great to hear that you found the club rooms generous and clean, and liked the offers at the Club lounge.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Due to an unexpected delay KLM Airlines sponsored our overnight stay here. This Hotel went out of their way for over 300 passengers---including a 5-star late night buffet. They gave high quality service as if we were diplomats. Our rooms were well appointed with a desk and light sofa sitting area, refrigerator, very nice furniture, spotless, They even provided early morning breakfast buffet at 4 a.m. with an amazing variety, best of a kind offering (their normal time of serving is 6 a.m. on). This is a truly top of the line hotel, definitely 5 star. I am rating it as an unforgettable,delightful" top of the line" hotel of all I have attended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear EllenS957,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at the hotel. It is so fantastic to hear that you rated your stay as an unforgettable delightful and our hotel as “top of the line’.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Service is good as you would expect from an Intercontinental but the room are a bit old for the price, and yet, not as old as the ones of Hilton.
Food is good, there is a nice Casino if you have a couple of hours to burn before your flight.

Room Tip: take the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Roni O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi.

We are happy to know that you loved our service, the food and the Casino. As for the rooms, we have already renovated one wing of the hotel (Deluxe Rooms). We are working on a plan to renovate the standard rooms.

I hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Entering this property I felt very secure. My room had everything I needed and everything worked. The staff at the hotel was very attentive and met my expectations. My experience with the concierge staff showed them to be extremely helpful.

I stayed here twice for a total of 3 nights over a 9 day period and overall found the physical location and staff to be excellent.

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in on different floors were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager - IHG Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mitchell K,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I am also pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your heartfelt recommendation.

I will certainly share your kind words with all our Concierge team and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just recently returned from a two night stay at the Intercontinental Nairobi end of June. The hotel itself is very centrally located in Nairobi, next to the Convention Centre and near the Parliament Buildings. The hotel does have more of a business feel to it due to its location but I wouldn't let this put you off as the hotel does have a relaxed vibe to it also. The area the hotel is located in is very safe, there is excellent security entering the hotel which has always been there and great to see. We spent one night at this hotel at the very start of our trip to Kenya and then one night at the very end of our two week holiday before flying home. We stayed in a Superior Room on our first night at this hotel which are sadly a little dated especially the bathrooms but the hotel did advise only some of the Superior rooms have been refurbished. On our return to the hotel we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room which was beautifully decorated especially the bathrooms. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for a Deluxe Room.
We had buffet breakfast both mornings and it was delicious, such a fantastic choice of food. On our last night in the hotel we dined in the Terrace restaurant which was buffet, we had a beautiful meal and again there was a great selection on offer and the service was very good also. We then spent a few hours out at the Pool Bar as there was a live band playing excellent African music, they were brilliant. There was a lovely ambience at the pool bar, great buzz about the place seen as it was the weekend, the bar staff here were so friendly and professional.
If you are looking to buy some souvenirs etc there is an excellent Masai open air market five minute stroll from the hotel and again very safe to go to. The security staff at the hotel recommended it and were a great help advising us on prices etc. Kenya is a very safe country to visit and a wonderful holiday destination and most of all it is the people of Kenya that make you feel so welcome, they are such lovely, warm and friendly people!!

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to the Deluxe Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your kind review and feedback.

We were all excited to see how your experience turned from a not so pleasant to a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was confortable and nice although a bit old. The tv was still an old model. Bathroom was new and pleasant. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The security to get in and out was very tight. Breakfast was nice. We ate once in the indian restaurant and was nice. They have a bar by the pool where you can have something to eat at night. It s a bit slow but acceptable food.
The area by the pool is nothing extraordinary but it was pleasant to seat outside although rather chilly in the evening in June. They provide you with some blankets.
The gym was terrible in my opinion, very small and sufocating. I never used but it was packed with people using it.
Good hotel, confortable enough but it s not big luxury.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager - IHG Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Alberttinne,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review.

We are very happy that you liked the room, the staff service and the security. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the gym. This is in our plan for improvement

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Nairobi

Warm Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager - IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.