We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, felt very secure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Wallkill, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, felt very secure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Entering this property I felt very secure. My room had everything I needed and everything worked. The staff at the hotel was very attentive and met my expectations. My experience with the concierge staff showed them to be extremely helpful.

I stayed here twice for a total of 3 nights over a 9 day period and overall found the physical location and staff to be excellent.

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in on different floors were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager - IHG Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mitchell K,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I am also pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your heartfelt recommendation.

I will certainly share your kind words with all our Concierge team and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager – IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    230
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
77
90
47
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just recently returned from a two night stay at the Intercontinental Nairobi end of June. The hotel itself is very centrally located in Nairobi, next to the Convention Centre and near the Parliament Buildings. The hotel does have more of a business feel to it due to its location but I wouldn't let this put you off as the hotel does have a relaxed vibe to it also. The area the hotel is located in is very safe, there is excellent security entering the hotel which has always been there and great to see. We spent one night at this hotel at the very start of our trip to Kenya and then one night at the very end of our two week holiday before flying home. We stayed in a Superior Room on our first night at this hotel which are sadly a little dated especially the bathrooms but the hotel did advise only some of the Superior rooms have been refurbished. On our return to the hotel we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room which was beautifully decorated especially the bathrooms. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for a Deluxe Room.
We had buffet breakfast both mornings and it was delicious, such a fantastic choice of food. On our last night in the hotel we dined in the Terrace restaurant which was buffet, we had a beautiful meal and again there was a great selection on offer and the service was very good also. We then spent a few hours out at the Pool Bar as there was a live band playing excellent African music, they were brilliant. There was a lovely ambience at the pool bar, great buzz about the place seen as it was the weekend, the bar staff here were so friendly and professional.
If you are looking to buy some souvenirs etc there is an excellent Masai open air market five minute stroll from the hotel and again very safe to go to. The security staff at the hotel recommended it and were a great help advising us on prices etc. Kenya is a very safe country to visit and a wonderful holiday destination and most of all it is the people of Kenya that make you feel so welcome, they are such lovely, warm and friendly people!!

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to the Deluxe Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your kind review and feedback.

We were all excited to see how your experience turned from a not so pleasant to a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was confortable and nice although a bit old. The tv was still an old model. Bathroom was new and pleasant. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The security to get in and out was very tight. Breakfast was nice. We ate once in the indian restaurant and was nice. They have a bar by the pool where you can have something to eat at night. It s a bit slow but acceptable food.
The area by the pool is nothing extraordinary but it was pleasant to seat outside although rather chilly in the evening in June. They provide you with some blankets.
The gym was terrible in my opinion, very small and sufocating. I never used but it was packed with people using it.
Good hotel, confortable enough but it s not big luxury.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager - IHG Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Alberttinne,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review.

We are very happy that you liked the room, the staff service and the security. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the gym. This is in our plan for improvement

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Nairobi

Warm Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager - IHG Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I would like to thank the Hotel staff from the Security to the Floor attendant for top notch service.

The Restaurant at the pool was superb with sumptuous meals and grilled Meat at the pool bar.

I would personally recommend Mr. Assad of the Concierge who proved to be a Goodwill Ambassador for the Hotel;this is concierge at its best.

Thank you The mamagemnt for bringing aboard the best.

Heng Hua

Room Tip: Room on the 6th floor though if not a member you pay extra $70 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear heng h,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us; in particular the service provided by the staff. Please rest assured I will pass your lovely words onto Mr. Assad.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have spent four most enjoyable and memorable days in Nairobi at the Intercontinental. Service is exceptional, all the staff consistently professional, warm, engaging and considerate. A regular traveller, this is service one rarely experiences! The rooms are spacious, internet strong, and a good variety of places to eat.
I walked to the local city centre market and explored nearby shops. As a woman alone I felt safe at all times and found local people most helpful in directing me to the places I wanted to visit. Staff at the shops went out of their way to locate a particular item, found a block away and brought to me. All Kenyans take seriously and enjoy their status as a tourist destination, one that is currently challenged. Let's hope it rebounds very soon as this is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear jennynbo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely compliment about our hotel.

We are very delighted to hear that we deliver exceptional service to our guests and that you call us a De Luxe hotel. Furthermore, we are very happy that we could contribute to make your visit to Nairobi a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another great stay.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoy staying at this hotel.
Yes it is a little old however it is very well maintained, there are new televisions now and the beds as always are very comfortable.

The gym is a little bit small but has a very good selection of equipment which is well maintained. While it is a little dated I have been to many hotel gyms with brand new equipment half of which do not function as required or are in a state of disrepair.


Food is quite good and they will make to request.

Service is excellent checkin was without issue and the concierge was knowledgable and helpful as is the security. Which is tight but very friendly and efficient.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear JonniP,

Thank you for your 5 star rating.

We thank you for your feedback about our very comfortable beds, good food and tight security.
More than that, we are glad that you recognized our team members as friendly and efficient.

We will be pleased to have you as our guest in your next visit to Nairobi.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a conference, we had forgotten the contact person's name. The staff treated us with courtesy as we tried to get someone to help with the information needed for setup. From the security to the staff, it was truly an African hospitality experience.
Kudos, keep up the great service

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Herine O,

Thank you for staying with us. Thank you also for recognizing our staff as being amazing and courteous. They really are a pleasure to work with!

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.