We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in heart of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel in heart of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed there for 8 days while on Business trip to Nairobi. Being close to Parliament and other government buildings the hotel is very secure. A good place to hold business meetings. You can see politicians and other high profile guys coming-in going-out for meetings. The rooms are neatly done, not so great. All the basic amenities are available. Depending on the room, view outside would vary. Would recommend you take room with view of Uhuru Park. The restaurants - The Terrace and Bhandini are good. Among these I would prefer The Terrace. The breakfast buffet is fine though not much choices available. Almost everyday you see same kind of menu repeated. Don't their in-house chefs know no African or Kenyan food for that matter to cook or the continental breakfast? Was really tired and bored of eating there everyday, had not choice but to eat before heading for office. Internet works fine, not very high speed though. That said, hotel is good option if your work is close to Central area, government buildings or KICC.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Uhuru Memorial Park/Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Kunal L

Thank you so much for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi for your recent stay in Nairobi. I am delighted that you found our hotel secure and liked our rooms and restaurants. Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding variety of breakfast. Your feedback will assist us in ensuring that we exceed the expectations our guests have rightfully set before us.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    204
    130
    54
    30
See reviews for
70
83
46
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent three nights, one on arrival in Africa and two at the end of two weeks of touring. Our first night we were sent to a room that was already occupied and woke someone up. Our second to last evening my wife and I ordered a lamb hamburger and it was the worst food we ate in Africa. It tasted like it had added non-meat filler and was way overcooked. We both were a little queezy the next morning.

That said, our room was decent and the morning buffet was okay. It was my least favorite hotel in Africa, but also was in downtown and not associated with a game park.

If I were coming back to Nairobi, I would probably look at other options, but would have no qualms staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback with us. While I was happy to learn that you liked our rooms and buffet breakfast, I was disappointed to hear that other aspects of your stay fell below your expectations.

I have shared your comments regarding your dining experience with our Director of Food and Beverage to work on an improvement in this area. I also regret your rooming experience. Our Front Office Manager is investigating this.

Thank you again for providing us with the opportunity to address your concerns and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Good hotel for business, internet worked well, decent shower, good bed and great Indian restaurant.

Security is very good, a must given the issues in Nairobi currently.

Convenient walking distance to the convention centre, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear comradestuart,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we are excited that we have gained your loyalty.

We appreciate your feedback that you found our hotel good for business and liked our rooms, restaurants and the security of the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel several times during the past two years. It is a safe, well guarded and secure hotel. It is well maintained and has all of the comforts expected of a first class hotel. It is convenient to the city center, but does not have the crowds of people just outside the entrance.

I have had many business meetings in the hotel. It is near government buildings and convenient to have meetings with government officials in an informal atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when checking into the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Robert N,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our team always strives to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure each experience is a memorable one. Your kind recommendations are truly appreciated and we are excited to have gained your loyalty.

Thank you once again for reviewing us and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel would have been a 5-star one during the 1980s if one is go to by contemporary standards, but it would qualify as a dated 4-star in my books today. Nevertheless it was said to be one of the best in Nairobi, the other hotel being the Hilton. Our travel agent chose it for us as it was within walking distance to the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC).

Because of the high street crime rate (Kenya reportedly as an unemployment rate about 40%) and more recently urban bombings, the security measures taken for access into the hotel is akin to most embassies - tight measures.

But in general, if you are a seasoned traveler and knows how to avoid trouble-prone areas and is street-smart, Nairobi is a nice city with a pleasant, cool atmosphere. Try to travel in groups. Better yet, ask the hotel concierge to get a van with a drive-guide for a city and animal orphanage tour. It's costly to do so, but it's less risky that way.

The furniture and bathroom fixtures seem a bit dated, including the CRT (tube) television. However, everything in my room worked. A plus point for me are the many electrical plug points available in the room.

Service by the staff is fairly friendly but can be slow at times - not for the impatient or highly demanding customer.

Based on the room rates our troupe paid, we got free wi-fi Internet access, but one has to login again into it every hour. If uninterrupted access is required, packages of 1 hour, 6 hours and 24 hours were available. However, the prices (in USD) are high by today's standards.

There is a fair gym and spa in in the basement of the hotel which was quite well-patronised during my stay there.

As a final comment, I noted that the prices of F&B and services are rather high within the hotel, especially when considering that it is a 4-star one by global standards.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the front (City-Hall Way road) as these have a view. Rooms facing the rear have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Saifol,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay.
We are glad that you noticed our Security Measures, availability of electrical plug points and friendly staff.

I am pleased to let you know that we are currently upgrading the TVs in the rooms. Also we now have complimentary full stay internet for all our IHG Rewards Club members. We have also taken note of your observation on our F&B Prices. We are currently reviewing this in line with the market.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bientina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Last week I stayed for a short business trip at the Intercontinental Nairobi. It was a return visit and hence I had some expectations. The expectations were all met. The hotel is not of recent construction but the room I stayed in was well maintained, clean and spacious. The lobby was stylish and comfortable. Service was excellent with staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant served an excellent buffet breakfast and dinner was either à la carte or buffet. Good quality food. The hotel went out of its way to make my stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear CriticItaly2000,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Nairobi because of the room cleanliness, friendly and helpful service and quality of food.

It is a great pleasure to know that our great team made your stay pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Not for the business traveller! Poor internet service which is very slow and disables at all time. No support during the night so it can be fixed. The electricity ports are not well attuned to US plugs. I am currently with an uncharged phone and computer. God forbid that you are working toward a deadline! Also the food is not great. For price not worth it. Stay at the Serena if you can?

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Ree R,

Thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Nairobi

I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your full satisfaction. Your feedback is very important to us. I would wish to get in touch with you directly. Kindly let me know how I can reach you. You can reach me via e-mail: intercontinental.nairobi@ihg.com

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.