We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Club and all will be well..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Go Club and all will be well..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

A good hotel, well managed with really thoughtful staff on the Club floor. African hotel experiences range from the surreal to the exquisite - this comes close to the latter. It's not pretty and the pool could be better - but you are in the middle of Nairobi!

If you are staying in a Club room (which I recommend) then you can avoid reception and go straight to the 6th floor to check in. Drink? Towel? When I found I'd lost my mobile phone charger the staff went looking for another guest with the same model and borrowed the charger for me. Outstanding.

Breakfast in the Club Lounge is good, as is the Indian restaurant. The pool bar is OK, while the main indoor bar is ugly and badly-lit. Sunday Brunch round the pool with a band is good, but very popular with screaming children...!

The concierge is pro-active and very helpful, and can organise for a car and driver to be paid shillings in cash and charged to your room in dollars.

I stayed in an ordinary room on another occasion and it was much more basic, rather tired, and the room service was markedly less responsive. Go Club and you'll be happy.

  • Liked — Thoughful service
  • Disliked — Baths not full size...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    214
    132
    54
    30
See reviews for
74
85
47
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We held a series of meeting in Nairobi this year (5) and were lodged at the Intercontinental. Hotel is ok and service is good except 2 things: overbooking management and confusion in room pricing. Even though I was on their frequent visitor program, I had to suffer from differences in price, and waiting for hours before getting a room although it was booked in advance by the company and my card should guarantee me "fast" check in.
Apart from that, stay was nice. The rooms are quite nice although a bit old, and there is barely no difference between a superior and a deluxe room (while there is 100$ gap between the two). I heard from colleagues that their standard rooms are not so good. As part of a big hotel chain, if you are used to Intercontinental, rooms look like the same
You appreciate the reliable Internet speed which is sometimes difficult in East Africa.
The food was quite good.
And for business, the location is well centered, but not suited forsightseeing.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Overcrowded
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on the first night of a safari. We arrived about ten at night and left about ten the next morning so our experience was limited. It is a modern hotel with all the amenities you might expect. The room was very nice as was the staff. Breakfast was in a very large pleasant room next to the pool. The public areas were appealing and comfortable. The hotel is close to all the major public government buildings although we only saw them from a car. This is certainly a good choice for an overnight before or after a safari.

  • Liked — Comfort/staff
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

The breakfast there is very great! Delicious & top class. ^^
Very nice room with all the facilities we need. Both air con & warming is available.

  • Liked — Breakfast & full amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing ^o^
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

This is good, strong managed on high "world the best" level. Very good for business travelers because of location, internal facilities and pricing.
Would recommend the bar on a ground floor (on a left side from the reception). You can meet a lot of interesting people there.
Rooms are very good. Food is good but expensive. Service is great.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed 3 nights and had an overall gr8 experience. Further, I think the Intercontinental is unfavorably ranked here at TA. Stayed 1st night in the Holiday Inn and it was just awful, so we switched over to the Intercontinental (lower rate too). It was like leaving a cottage for a castle!

Very fast and efficient check-in/out and super helpful service staff all over. Rooms are nice, can't really complain about anything. Liked for instance the multi-set power outlets unleashing the converter need.

Like the gym. It has all amenities I need: hantles, treadmills and some machines.

Nice breakfast buffet. Tried the dinner buffet at night, which was a good choice too. Try the crab, delicious! Had lunch one day in the pub/cafeteria, but service was quite slow. A hassle to pay with credit cards.

If I would have the pleasure to return to Nairobi, I will head here again!

  • Liked — Very good all over impression!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I missed my connecting flight to Dubai and had no choice but to stay in Nairobi. I was flustered, disappointed, upset and in short, a wreck because i was alone and I missed my flight. It was the first time i was in Nairobi with no prior knowledge of the country since it was supposed to be a transit point.

However, after some deliberation, i decided to stay in Intercontinental. From the first step when the porter opened the door until the time the hotel shuttle dropped me off at the airport, the service was absolutely wonderful.

The officer was sympathetic and quickly checked me in and ensured i had an easy time adjusting. And she was only a trainee! Imagine the service from the normal staff! Like everyone else have mentioned, service from staff here is excellent! I settled in, calmed down and the concierge even helped to settle my tickets. Even when he couldnt confirm it, he kept trying until he could.

I cant stress this more. I had a wonderful stay in this hotel and i would be going there regularly now that i have business in Nairobi. Its service like this that you will remember forever. In fact, i am going to stay there again tomorrow. And im pretty sure i will have a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — Service service & service
  • Disliked — not that i can think of
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.