We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Good quality of services. Room very worn. Old furnishings. Curtain could hardly open properly. Bathroom also dated. From the bed you could hear people chatting in the corridor. Buffet dinner was ok, but expensive. Roast beef was a chewy as cold chewing gum. Breakfast was good, but no fresh juices. Gym downstairs had outdated machines, and one of the three treadmills was dangerous to use (but still in use!). Expensive and certainly not a European standard of 5-star.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear budapestguy,

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to know that you liked our quality of services.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the hotel condition issues and the quality of food. Rest assured that this will be reviewed and rectified to avoid the same issue in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    201
    123
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have stayed at the InterContinental Hotel, Nairobi several times & my experience has always been superb!
They have very friendly & professional staff particularly the ones working on the executive floor where my partner & I always book to stay.
The breakfast has a variety of selection, freshly cooked/baked. We love the Sunday brunch! I would highly recommend it!
The rooms are sparkling clean! In all of our stays, we have had good & professional room attendants. Definitely the best experience we have had in all our travels.
I would particularly like to mention Cyprian Magero who works in the reservation/Marketing department. As an ambassador member, I find him very efficient, he is conversant with the privileges of the membership unlike in other IHG hotels where I've had to request for the membership benefits. I find him very reliable in managing my booking.
Overall, I strongly think the InterContinental is the best hotel in Nairobi with the most friendly staff.

Kessie.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Ann N,

Thank you very much for having taken a moment of your valuable time to post your review regarding your stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi.

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for your positive ratings with regards to our hotel and our friendly team members. Coming from a valued guest such as yourself, your comments are indeed very much appreciated. Your commendation to Cyprian has been acknowledged and passed on to him as recognition for the great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi in the near future, where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

You can probably walk to the main attractions of Nairobi. The hotel looks a bit old and needs some upgrade but in Nairobi there are not many options. Please use only bottled water. The breakfast spread is pretty good and the pool is quite good as well. Rooms offer a nice city view.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Travel81guru,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you liked our breakfast spread and our pool.
I thank you for your feedback on the hotel condition. We are working to improve this aspect.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel two times in the past two weeks. The first time was the end of March 2014. The security was tight the first time with cars being checked before being permitted to drive onto the grounds, and going through a metal detector and having your luggage X rayed. The second time was after several bombs exploded in Nairobi and 6 people were killed. Then the hotel stopped permitting vehicles to drive onto the grounds. It was an inconvenience to have to wheel your luggage from the street to where the guard booth is located but if the hotel security staff believes the extra level of security is necessary,then I am happy,to comply. I'm not in a position to second guess their security measures. Otherwise, my review will,be similar to the previous comments. There is WiFi in the rooms, the food is very good, the location is great, and yes the hotel could use,some updating.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with good air conditioning. The room I was in during my first stay had an air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Susan U,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi. We are grateful for your review.

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our security arrangements. It is gratifying to know that you did not mind the inconvenience and appreciated the measures we had put in place to take care of the safety of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I only had the pleasure of one night at the Intercontinental in Nairobi, and it was a perfectly acceptable place. The breakfast had a very good choice of cuisine and was quite delicious, while the room was clean and spacious. The service was of a high standard, bordering on the "a little too much" for my British sensibility but not something I'm complaining about.

The location was fine, close enough to the heart of the city to get around with relative ease (given this is downtown Nairobi) and a clear route back to the airport. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Gareth R

Thank you so much for the great feedback, very much appreciated.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast selection and that you found our rooms clean and spacious.
Our team is what makes the difference in guest experience. We encourage them to do what they can to make our valued guests comfortable. I am glad you noticed this.

Thank you once again and please do come and stay with us again.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Been here ova and ova, you can see the hotel is aging, yes it does need a revamp, but the staff have also aged with the hotel and still provide the best service , the indian restaurant Bhandini has still the best indian food around run by a great indian chef , expensive but if u want quality then u need to pay for it. Try not to miss the Sunday brunch @2800/- per head it's steal. All in all I can say it's truly a home away from home if ur an ambassador with IHG.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Dax C

Thank you very much for your feedback. Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even better that our hotel is truly a home away from home.

The Bhandini Restaurant is well known in the city. Our Chef tries to keep the food offerings as wide as possible and the feedback is very positive, I will give him your compliment. We are also glad that you enjoyed our great Sunday Brunch.

Thank you once again for choosing InterContinental Nairobi.

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is located across the street from the Parliament, which is good and bad. The level of security is over the edge; there is a manned crash gate and behind that, locking gates. When you enter, they use mirrors to check under the cars. Before entering the hotel, your baggage goes through X-ray, then you and your baggage go through a metal detector. When cars exit, guards unlock the inner gates, unlock the crash guard and then let you out. They re-key lock both the gates and crash bar each time. I'm not sure whether this made me feel safe or scared.

Inside, there is a large lobby and bar, two restaurants, a gift shop, jewelry store and pool. The breakfasts are spectacular; dinners were good.

The rooms are average, but clean. All in all, it appears to be a good choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear nadojeff

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast. We also are happy that you noticed our security arrangement. We do our best to make sure that our guests feel safe when staying with us.

We do hope to welcome you again at InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.