We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Done nothing wrong; didn't do anything particularly spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Done nothing wrong; didn't do anything particularly spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I only had the pleasure of one night at the Intercontinental in Nairobi, and it was a perfectly acceptable place. The breakfast had a very good choice of cuisine and was quite delicious, while the room was clean and spacious. The service was of a high standard, bordering on the "a little too much" for my British sensibility but not something I'm complaining about.

The location was fine, close enough to the heart of the city to get around with relative ease (given this is downtown Nairobi) and a clear route back to the airport. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Gareth R

Thank you so much for the great feedback, very much appreciated.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast selection and that you found our rooms clean and spacious.
Our team is what makes the difference in guest experience. We encourage them to do what they can to make our valued guests comfortable. I am glad you noticed this.

Thank you once again and please do come and stay with us again.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    204
    130
    54
    30
See reviews for
70
83
46
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Been here ova and ova, you can see the hotel is aging, yes it does need a revamp, but the staff have also aged with the hotel and still provide the best service , the indian restaurant Bhandini has still the best indian food around run by a great indian chef , expensive but if u want quality then u need to pay for it. Try not to miss the Sunday brunch @2800/- per head it's steal. All in all I can say it's truly a home away from home if ur an ambassador with IHG.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Dax C

Thank you very much for your feedback. Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even better that our hotel is truly a home away from home.

The Bhandini Restaurant is well known in the city. Our Chef tries to keep the food offerings as wide as possible and the feedback is very positive, I will give him your compliment. We are also glad that you enjoyed our great Sunday Brunch.

Thank you once again for choosing InterContinental Nairobi.

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is located across the street from the Parliament, which is good and bad. The level of security is over the edge; there is a manned crash gate and behind that, locking gates. When you enter, they use mirrors to check under the cars. Before entering the hotel, your baggage goes through X-ray, then you and your baggage go through a metal detector. When cars exit, guards unlock the inner gates, unlock the crash guard and then let you out. They re-key lock both the gates and crash bar each time. I'm not sure whether this made me feel safe or scared.

Inside, there is a large lobby and bar, two restaurants, a gift shop, jewelry store and pool. The breakfasts are spectacular; dinners were good.

The rooms are average, but clean. All in all, it appears to be a good choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear nadojeff

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Nairobi. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast. We also are happy that you noticed our security arrangement. We do our best to make sure that our guests feel safe when staying with us.

We do hope to welcome you again at InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having travelled throughout the world for the last 10 years as a UN representative, I've been very lucky to stay in some amazing hotels and be given 7 star service by flight attendants, hotel staff and other valuable people I have come across in my travels.

None however, can equate to the Concierge at the Intercontinental in Nairobi. If you have the fortune to come across "Jacob" to the right of the main entrance, then your journey is bound to be exponentially enjoyable.

This is someone who takes service to the next level. An absolute asset to the Hotel and a genuine and phenomenal human being. Without going into detail, he made himself available numerous times to provide me with service from finding ATM's, buying gifts for family and arranging transport (often to remote and difficult places).

As someone not frequenting review websites, this guy forced me to sing his praises. I hope to Nairobi in two years and see him as the new General Manager. Well qualified I feel.

A great bloke and a brilliant service provider.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Dave_2BWillB,

We thank you for taking time to review us.

We are happy to receive praise and acknowledgement of the wonderful service by our colleague, Jacob Gichana. It is indeed rewarding when our guests recognize our colleague’s effort and passion for service. Your comments have been shared with our entire staff as reinforcement to continue making InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

We delight in making our guests’ stay memorable through our consistent supreme services throughout their stay.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Downtown so close to most business locations. Seems pretty safe and there are plenty security staff around. Use one of the contract taxis - they are really helpful and through the week they never missed a pick up. Rooms are ok but just got the feeling a good vacuuming wouldn't go amiss. Breakfasts are good but give the dinner buffet a miss and go to the Indian.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear thegrebe,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about InterContinental Nairobi during your recent trip. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel safe and liked our Breakfast and Indian Restaurant.

We also thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the vacuuming of the room and the dinner buffet. This type of feedback is highly appreciated as it helps us to improve our service standards for the benefit of future guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi the next time you travel to Kenya.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Intercontinental Nairobi is comfortable and a nice play to stay while visiting Kenya.
Attention to detail is not as perfect as you expect on a 5 star hotel, but I understood that this is more like the African touch.
The staff, as most Kenyan people is warm and kind and make the stay at the hotel more pleasant.
I liked that there are many typical food options at both breakfast and dinner.
On my previous visit in November I went to the gym and spa, but I found it poor and bad maintained, so this time I didn't try again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Avargasil

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor about your experience. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our warm Kenyan hospitality and dining options.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Intercontinental was a good surprise, as it is not at the top of the ranking in Nairobi, but the experience was overall good.
On the positive side, probably the most attentive staff I have ever seen in a hotel, I got a daily call to check how the stay was going due my Platinum level in IHG, I can tell that this was a first. They went out of their way to try to solve my issue with the room beside mine and offered to change rooms.
Breakfast was good a lot of variety and a very nice staff too.
Taxis were arranged all the time for me and my group and also a weekend package to the city attractions.
Room service was good, on the expensive side, but on the promised time.
The room was big and comfortable and had one of the best black out curtains I've seen in a hotel, the room was so dark that I did not wake up one day, so comfortable I was.
On the improving side, the 20 inches TV from the 90's really let me down, the room was so nice that the tv was completely out of place.
The gym was very hot, no ventilation at all and looked a bit cramped with too many equipments on a small space. The broken elevators which took you to the gym, making you take the creepy stairs did not helped me to come back.
My last night it was clear that the cleaning was carried out in record time, the room was dusty and several items missing. It was a first, all other days the room was perfect, very clean and tidy. Maybe a different person.
I recommend, security was on an excellent level and the guards were nice and polite making the situation less awkward.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms and try to avoid connected rooms. My neighbor was very noise, specially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear TPietscher

Thank you for sharing with us some feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Nairobi.
We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve with your valuable comments.

We are happy to read through your comments, and note that you had a positive overall experience during your stay, we work hard to ensure our facilities and services are up to our guests expectations, and is motivating to see that you would like to return and recommend the hotel to your friends.
We have taken note of your feedback regarding the TV, the Gym and the room cleaning on your last night. We apologize if these aspects created inconveniences during your stay.

Thank once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.