We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of the same” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“More of the same”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the second visit to the hotel en route to Moroni. This is one hotel that prides itself on both security and friendly, helpful staff. No criticisms at all. I had to leave very early in the morning to catch my onward flight and check out was fast efficient and I was provided with a packed breakfast as the restaurant had not yet opened. Full marks

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing the road is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Ian S,

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased with your feedback about our security and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    211
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
73
85
47
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

From Anthony at the NBO Airport IHG lounge who literally whisked us home without warning , to Jacob the superlative concierge who arranged room deliveries in the late evening and a tricky booking , to the suite look and feel , we found this Intercontinental up to the challenge and more in a city where good hotels abund. Club Level breakfast is a must with its sunrise , and nice food. Central location. This is a way underrated Intercontinental in Trip Advisor Nairobi, i wonder why , but it should definitely go up. For the record this is a maximum security property (entrance through airport-like magnetic walk-through units , all bags xrayed before entering the hotel and all cars searched...) . Highly recommended .

Room Tip: Club Level access recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear dkouyate,

We are truly humbled by your feedback. Intercontinental Nairobi is indeed the hotel of choice of many discerning travelers like you.

Anthony, Jacob and all the staff are really glad that they made your stay memorable. We also appreciate your mention of our club lounge, central location and our security arrangement.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice and comfortable beds food was so nice the restaurant is just perfect service is good and this place also good for those who came for business and for holidays, weekends i really loved everything I enjoyed the stay in this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Reginah R,

It was our pleasure to host you. We are excited to know that your stay was perfect.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has a great chain name, I thought that it will has the standards that all IHG property has but it is really old, the decoration of the lobby feels like need a demodulation, the rooms are spacious but needs urgent maintenance, the bathroom and need more supervision the marble looks old and the carpet needs a renewal as soon as possible, we stayed one night we were on our way to the safari outside Nairobi, the service is fine but overall this hotel need a demodulation.

Room Tip: try the breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jackordaz,

We are grateful that you chose to stay with us during your visit of September 2013.
Your comments are important to us and will be considered as we work on improving our product.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two separate nights at the hotel with very different experiences .i had booked a suite with butler service complimentary drinks and snacks in the private lounge .Delays with our flights(terminal fire)however meant that we arrived after 10 pm only to be met with no complimentary snacks or drinks .poor information about our breakfast lounge resulting in us using the general restaurant .Our complaints were listened to and we were offered a return visit at the end of our stay .What a difference ! A superb private lounge with happy hour from 6-8 pm free alcoholic and soft drinks lovely snack Buffett savory and sweet food. A comfortable lounge and spectacular sunrise the following morning over breakfast .great service to make up for first visit.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Luckyjpq,

Thank you for letting us know that the Service Recovery of our team helped to turn around your previous unfavorable experience to a memorable one.

We look forward to your next visit and to even a greater experience.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

While the Intercontinental has always been the go to place for people preparing to go on safari, it has become a bit dated with a less than attentive staff. Rooms are satisfactory but not wonderful and food is only okay. The location and safety are the best things going for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Bobsadt,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are grateful that you appreciated our location which is one of the many reasons that guests choose to stay with us. Your comments about the condition of the hotel are also appreciated. We welcome any feedback that will help us improve.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from our Friendly Planet trip and this was our first stop and last stop on the way back to the US. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was tidy and clean. The food was ok, we did not eat the buffet because the windows were open and there were a lot of flies. We ordered off of the menu. The pool area was really nice as well. I will say the staff in the restaurant staff was great! We were there for a couple of nights and then a day stay and we enjoyed the time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear araymond89,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Our staff are excited that they made your stay memorable.
We will be happy to host you again during your next trip.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.