We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice and comfortable beds food was so nice the restaurant is just perfect service is good and this place also good for those who came for business and for holidays, weekends i really loved everything I enjoyed the stay in this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Reginah R,

It was our pleasure to host you. We are excited to know that your stay was perfect.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    201
    123
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has a great chain name, I thought that it will has the standards that all IHG property has but it is really old, the decoration of the lobby feels like need a demodulation, the rooms are spacious but needs urgent maintenance, the bathroom and need more supervision the marble looks old and the carpet needs a renewal as soon as possible, we stayed one night we were on our way to the safari outside Nairobi, the service is fine but overall this hotel need a demodulation.

Room Tip: try the breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jackordaz,

We are grateful that you chose to stay with us during your visit of September 2013.
Your comments are important to us and will be considered as we work on improving our product.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two separate nights at the hotel with very different experiences .i had booked a suite with butler service complimentary drinks and snacks in the private lounge .Delays with our flights(terminal fire)however meant that we arrived after 10 pm only to be met with no complimentary snacks or drinks .poor information about our breakfast lounge resulting in us using the general restaurant .Our complaints were listened to and we were offered a return visit at the end of our stay .What a difference ! A superb private lounge with happy hour from 6-8 pm free alcoholic and soft drinks lovely snack Buffett savory and sweet food. A comfortable lounge and spectacular sunrise the following morning over breakfast .great service to make up for first visit.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Luckyjpq,

Thank you for letting us know that the Service Recovery of our team helped to turn around your previous unfavorable experience to a memorable one.

We look forward to your next visit and to even a greater experience.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

While the Intercontinental has always been the go to place for people preparing to go on safari, it has become a bit dated with a less than attentive staff. Rooms are satisfactory but not wonderful and food is only okay. The location and safety are the best things going for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Bobsadt,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are grateful that you appreciated our location which is one of the many reasons that guests choose to stay with us. Your comments about the condition of the hotel are also appreciated. We welcome any feedback that will help us improve.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from our Friendly Planet trip and this was our first stop and last stop on the way back to the US. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was tidy and clean. The food was ok, we did not eat the buffet because the windows were open and there were a lot of flies. We ordered off of the menu. The pool area was really nice as well. I will say the staff in the restaurant staff was great! We were there for a couple of nights and then a day stay and we enjoyed the time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear araymond89,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Our staff are excited that they made your stay memorable.
We will be happy to host you again during your next trip.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the InterContinental Hotel in Nairobi. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing and the room comfortable. The gym was also very well equipped. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear AldeenvanderWalt,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you had a great experience and are grateful for your recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you in your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very busy hotel in the central Nairobi. Quite popular place, lot of people at all times, but still very cosy and charming
Rooms are decent, breakfast very good, lunch and dinner buffet rich and diversified. Only the pool is not really appealing, too close to the bar…
In general highly recommended especially for short business trips

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Helena_Maputo

We are grateful for your review. We are happy that you found our rooms cosy and charming. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the meals in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.