We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short business trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for short business trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very busy hotel in the central Nairobi. Quite popular place, lot of people at all times, but still very cosy and charming
Rooms are decent, breakfast very good, lunch and dinner buffet rich and diversified. Only the pool is not really appealing, too close to the bar…
In general highly recommended especially for short business trips

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Helena_Maputo

We are grateful for your review. We are happy that you found our rooms cosy and charming. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the meals in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    269
    152
    58
    33
See reviews for
86
101
50
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was the last day of our honeymoon. Everything seemed to be going great. The front desk was excellent in their service until we called the room service to order dinner and then it was turmoil. The messed up our order three times and by the time they finally got the order right, it was two hours later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Obidimma E

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in the room service order. We have put measures in place to ensure this is addressed. We have also responded to you directly via e-mail.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

very old rooms, very old hotel, stinks ,dirty and smelly ... Food is below average and they really need a complete makeover...Stay in the Fairmont instead.
The location was very good though, middle of the business district... This is important since Nairobi can get very crowded at times

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear tamersalahsaleh,

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our guests. Your comments are vital to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure continued guest satisfaction.

We value your feedback.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the InterContinental, Nairobi..
Over a weekend of mixed and contrary emotions....tragedy at the Westgate Mall....euphoria at the Moi Stadium where enya lifted the Safaricom sevens title, the interContinteal was a good mix of both emotions with its muliti cultural clientelle, and friendly Kenyan staff

A comfortable stay at both a sad and hapy time for Kenyans

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear amit J

Thanks for staying with us and for your great review.
We are glad that you found our rooms luxurious, our staff courteous and enjoyed our breakfast menu. We are grateful that you noticed the popularity of our Hotel. We do our best to maintain great service which is why we are popular.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Nairobi is a city, which can be enjoyed if one is in heart of the city, that's where the business is in day time and life in the night and Intercontinental is in the bang middle of the city. The hotel has extremely good and luxurious room, courteous staff, good breakfast menu. The hotel lobby seems to be small when one compares with number of guests and hence seems to be always crowded and same is with the coffee shop.

The hotel is extremely popular among the travelers and hence always full, please make reservations in advance, but this hotel is far better than its famed neighbor "Nairobi Hilton"

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear amit J,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that the proximity of our hotel, quality of rooms, breakfast and courteousness of our staff met your complete satisfaction, thus your memorable experience here in the hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

When it comes to hotels in Nairobi, this one is as good as you are going to get. Good showers with plenty of hot water, generous outlets to charge your electronics up, clean and relatively friendly. The LEAST friendly part are the locals at the entrances and in the lobby, who treat you like a speed bump, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Also, if you are not used to it, the inspection of your vehicle upon entry into the driveway can be a little disconcerting, so be prepared.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front give you a good view of the parliment buildings and the storks which roost in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear kqhouston,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you loved the view of your room and ability to power your electronics in the comfort of the restaurants.

We have taken note of your concerns about the security measures at the entrance to the lobby. We regret any inconvenience caused to you. It is our responsibility to ensure safety of our guests, staff and the property at all times and measures in place are meant to deter unauthorized persons access into the hotel premises.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

i was surprised of the level of intercontinental Nairobi , it seems that intercontinental forgot they have an hotel in Nairobi , the staff is good , friendly , and trying to do their best , however the facility itself is old , not maintained , and is not worthy for that high rate , comparing to other hotels in Nairobi like Fairmont or Serena , intercontinental should be rated below 0 , the pool restaurant is good , service is the worst , you might have a good experience in the Indian restaurant , really hope this would change in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear KaRiMaSsEm,

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Our attention is drawn to the concerns you have raised regarding to the condition of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We are working on a plan to upgrade our product, in order to enhance your comfort and satisfaction during your future visits.

We are delighted to note that you had an opportunity dine at our Terrace (restaurant by the pool) the Bhandini (Indian restaurant). We appreciate your comments about the service quality at the Terrace restaurant and are working on improvement.

Once again, we thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.