We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at a Crazy Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfort at a Crazy Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the InterContinental, Nairobi..
Over a weekend of mixed and contrary emotions....tragedy at the Westgate Mall....euphoria at the Moi Stadium where enya lifted the Safaricom sevens title, the interContinteal was a good mix of both emotions with its muliti cultural clientelle, and friendly Kenyan staff

A comfortable stay at both a sad and hapy time for Kenyans

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear amit J

Thanks for staying with us and for your great review.
We are glad that you found our rooms luxurious, our staff courteous and enjoyed our breakfast menu. We are grateful that you noticed the popularity of our Hotel. We do our best to maintain great service which is why we are popular.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    201
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Nairobi is a city, which can be enjoyed if one is in heart of the city, that's where the business is in day time and life in the night and Intercontinental is in the bang middle of the city. The hotel has extremely good and luxurious room, courteous staff, good breakfast menu. The hotel lobby seems to be small when one compares with number of guests and hence seems to be always crowded and same is with the coffee shop.

The hotel is extremely popular among the travelers and hence always full, please make reservations in advance, but this hotel is far better than its famed neighbor "Nairobi Hilton"

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear amit J,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that the proximity of our hotel, quality of rooms, breakfast and courteousness of our staff met your complete satisfaction, thus your memorable experience here in the hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

When it comes to hotels in Nairobi, this one is as good as you are going to get. Good showers with plenty of hot water, generous outlets to charge your electronics up, clean and relatively friendly. The LEAST friendly part are the locals at the entrances and in the lobby, who treat you like a speed bump, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Also, if you are not used to it, the inspection of your vehicle upon entry into the driveway can be a little disconcerting, so be prepared.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front give you a good view of the parliment buildings and the storks which roost in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear kqhouston,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you loved the view of your room and ability to power your electronics in the comfort of the restaurants.

We have taken note of your concerns about the security measures at the entrance to the lobby. We regret any inconvenience caused to you. It is our responsibility to ensure safety of our guests, staff and the property at all times and measures in place are meant to deter unauthorized persons access into the hotel premises.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

i was surprised of the level of intercontinental Nairobi , it seems that intercontinental forgot they have an hotel in Nairobi , the staff is good , friendly , and trying to do their best , however the facility itself is old , not maintained , and is not worthy for that high rate , comparing to other hotels in Nairobi like Fairmont or Serena , intercontinental should be rated below 0 , the pool restaurant is good , service is the worst , you might have a good experience in the Indian restaurant , really hope this would change in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear KaRiMaSsEm,

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Our attention is drawn to the concerns you have raised regarding to the condition of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We are working on a plan to upgrade our product, in order to enhance your comfort and satisfaction during your future visits.

We are delighted to note that you had an opportunity dine at our Terrace (restaurant by the pool) the Bhandini (Indian restaurant). We appreciate your comments about the service quality at the Terrace restaurant and are working on improvement.

Once again, we thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I had a memorable stay overall at intercontinental Nairobi which is in a reasonably quiet part of the city. The rooms are very nice clean and comfy for the business and leisure traveller and full marks for that. Ok the TV could do with some tech update but at least it works. Room facilities were gr8 The meals were excellent and the new dishes everyday ensured that even after a week in the hotel, one wasn't fed up with the food. Gym is small but decent and I didn't have time to try the pool. The bad experience was at the Makuti bar on Friday where the orders took for ever and were messed up. Nice touch though by the Manager in fixing this and comping us when we complained

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Howard C

Thank you for posting your review. We are always happy to receive feedback.

We are grateful that you found our rooms nice and comfortable and the meals excellent. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced in Makuti Bar and are glad that this was sorted out for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A Nice hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Some rooms are being renovated and upgraded with plasma tvs. My room did not have a plasma, previously informed by the receptionist but had a nice view of the city .
The breakfast was very rich in all aspects. Several restaurants and bars around the hotel. The service at the bar needs attention.
The Intercontinental Nairobi is very well protected. Security is a must for them.
I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kool2bbop,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is great that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We also appreciate your compliments for our breakfast - very rich in all aspects. Security of our guests is of key concern to us and we are happy you noticed this.

We look forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Hotel Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi is much like main stream American hotels in the US. Our rooms were large and comfortable, the service good, and the security very good. We were there before and after the bombing of the mall and the management was very security conscious. We tried all of the restaurants. All were at best ok and over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jim F,

It was our pleasure to provide you with a safe environment during the challenging times after the Westgate Mall attack.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.