We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern/ nice stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Modern/ nice stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed in this hotel on the first night of a safari. We arrived about ten at night and left about ten the next morning so our experience was limited. It is a modern hotel with all the amenities you might expect. The room was very nice as was the staff. Breakfast was in a very large pleasant room next to the pool. The public areas were appealing and comfortable. The hotel is close to all the major public government buildings although we only saw them from a car. This is certainly a good choice for an overnight before or after a safari.

  • Liked — Comfort/staff
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    219
    137
    54
    31
See reviews for
77
87
47
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

The breakfast there is very great! Delicious & top class. ^^
Very nice room with all the facilities we need. Both air con & warming is available.

  • Liked — Breakfast & full amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing ^o^
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

This is good, strong managed on high "world the best" level. Very good for business travelers because of location, internal facilities and pricing.
Would recommend the bar on a ground floor (on a left side from the reception). You can meet a lot of interesting people there.
Rooms are very good. Food is good but expensive. Service is great.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed 3 nights and had an overall gr8 experience. Further, I think the Intercontinental is unfavorably ranked here at TA. Stayed 1st night in the Holiday Inn and it was just awful, so we switched over to the Intercontinental (lower rate too). It was like leaving a cottage for a castle!

Very fast and efficient check-in/out and super helpful service staff all over. Rooms are nice, can't really complain about anything. Liked for instance the multi-set power outlets unleashing the converter need.

Like the gym. It has all amenities I need: hantles, treadmills and some machines.

Nice breakfast buffet. Tried the dinner buffet at night, which was a good choice too. Try the crab, delicious! Had lunch one day in the pub/cafeteria, but service was quite slow. A hassle to pay with credit cards.

If I would have the pleasure to return to Nairobi, I will head here again!

  • Liked — Very good all over impression!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I missed my connecting flight to Dubai and had no choice but to stay in Nairobi. I was flustered, disappointed, upset and in short, a wreck because i was alone and I missed my flight. It was the first time i was in Nairobi with no prior knowledge of the country since it was supposed to be a transit point.

However, after some deliberation, i decided to stay in Intercontinental. From the first step when the porter opened the door until the time the hotel shuttle dropped me off at the airport, the service was absolutely wonderful.

The officer was sympathetic and quickly checked me in and ensured i had an easy time adjusting. And she was only a trainee! Imagine the service from the normal staff! Like everyone else have mentioned, service from staff here is excellent! I settled in, calmed down and the concierge even helped to settle my tickets. Even when he couldnt confirm it, he kept trying until he could.

I cant stress this more. I had a wonderful stay in this hotel and i would be going there regularly now that i have business in Nairobi. Its service like this that you will remember forever. In fact, i am going to stay there again tomorrow. And im pretty sure i will have a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — Service service & service
  • Disliked — not that i can think of
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Spent one night there with my partner after our flight home was cancelled. The airline made all the arrangements for us.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The poolisde restaurant was really great and we particularly enjoyed all of our meals there. However, we did have some problems during our short stay.
1. Although we were a couple, we were assigned a twin room. We were subsequently offered a double but at that stage we had unpacked and did not wish to move again.
2. We requested some toilet paper for our bathroom but this was not provided until we came back in the evening and had to ask again.
3. The toilet flush did not work well and we needed to get a plumber to fix that (when we really wanted to have a quiet rest).
4. We had difficulty getting the lights in our room to work (other than the bathroom) and when we asked for assistance, it was promised but not provided.

Perhaps we were just unlucky with the room we were assigned and I would not let it deter me from staying there again as it really is a nice hotel in a great location, with great facilities - choice of 3 restaurants, pool and leisure centre, casino, shops, etc.,

One word of warning to travellers. The concierge desk can arrange trips by taxi to Nairobi national park (well worth a visit) but the taxi guy with the franchise quoted us an exorbitant price (about $100 for a 2 hour trip). We contacted another driver that we knew who did it at about a quarter of the price - so shop around wisely and negotiate hard before you book any trips.

  • Liked — Polside restaurant and location
  • Disliked — problems with oyur room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

Hi all !
I am sorry for the late review !
After a very long, hard night´s work ( drinking!!!) (or using my right arm) ! lol, watching endless films,Traveling on board the Kenya Airways flight, ( fantastic flight, aircraft, service and staff) !!!
The customs in Nairobi, was not a problem even for our 50 Kgs plus, in extra luggage allowance ( Charity gifts),. We also got our visa on arrival at the airport without a hitch.
We arrived at the intercontinental Hotel, at around 6.30 AM.
with no problems !!!!!!
The security in this Hotel is paramount,underneath our mini bus was searched and the passengers were scrutinized ( i´m not surprised) lol. All was checked to be safe than sorry!
When we got to the reception, the members of staff were fantastic, they were very quick and efficient, they were helpful in every way!
Our booking of 5, (2 singles + a triple) was a little bit of a problem, as the singles were 2 males,got a double bed, and the triple, got 2 single beds, males got sorted out straight away, but I ended up with my 12 yr old son in 1 bed! I didn´t realize how loud he snored!!
In all, this was not a problem in the least!
The room was large enough for 3 people and was very comfortable!
The bathroom had all the normal bits and pieces, and wasn´t too small.
The rooms were very nicely decorated, with water, tea and coffee facilities plus a big TV,which was acceptable to my 12 yr old!
They helped us in every way here, they even helped us sort out a taxi, for 5 of us, to go out sight seeing for the day, in 1 taxi !,
We went to Sheldricks Elephant Orphanage, the Karen Blixon Museum and a look around the city,on the full day that we had there! This was a fanatstic start to our holiday !
The lay out of the hotel was great, their bars and restaurants for the evening was set out beautifully,and the service and prices were pretty good too!
The restaurant that over looked the pool area first thing in the morning was lovely, Even during our storm!
When leaving the hotel in the Early morning, this was quick and painless! As we had too leave allot of luggage behind( Charity donations), minimum of 50 Kgs plus our beach holiday luggage, this was not a problem in the least for anyone here! They were more than helpful !
This hotel was a special treat for the start of our 20 day holiday!
It started our holiday off with a bang, We could not fault this hotel in any way!
When we returned, just to pick up our luggage, after our safari, to carry on to our beach holiday, all the members of staff were pleased to see us, asked how our safari had gone and 1 or 2 even remembered our names as we got out of our mini bus! Hows that for service! Or did we make that much of an impact !! lol.
We also got to meet our companion who stayed here too!( the sixth person for the mini bus) for our safari, and what a great person he was too!, We must all have had good tastes!
This hotel is a must !! , Whether for a Business Trip, or just for the start of The Perfect Holiday in Kenya!
The one thing that i would not do again though, is book through the Travel agents ( Travelbag ) or their Kenya agents again in Nairobi ( Pollmans tours and safari)
They were disgusting, we had to sort out our own problems from day 1, but what we sorted out ourselves turned out to be a Great Holiday !
I would not recommend either of these Sharks to anyone !
If you could go through a different company or direct, please do so !, for this hotel and or a holiday in Kenya !
I do recommend this hotel in its entirety !
We will definitely return Here !!
The Hotel and staff (every one of them that we met )were fantastic !!!!!
I hope i will have helped you make a Great decision !
Taffy

  • Liked — Staff and everything else !
  • Disliked — Having to say Good Bye to the Staff !!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.