We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as you are going to get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“As good as you are going to get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

When it comes to hotels in Nairobi, this one is as good as you are going to get. Good showers with plenty of hot water, generous outlets to charge your electronics up, clean and relatively friendly. The LEAST friendly part are the locals at the entrances and in the lobby, who treat you like a speed bump, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Also, if you are not used to it, the inspection of your vehicle upon entry into the driveway can be a little disconcerting, so be prepared.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front give you a good view of the parliment buildings and the storks which roost in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear kqhouston,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you loved the view of your room and ability to power your electronics in the comfort of the restaurants.

We have taken note of your concerns about the security measures at the entrance to the lobby. We regret any inconvenience caused to you. It is our responsibility to ensure safety of our guests, staff and the property at all times and measures in place are meant to deter unauthorized persons access into the hotel premises.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    204
    129
    54
    29
See reviews for
70
83
46
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

i was surprised of the level of intercontinental Nairobi , it seems that intercontinental forgot they have an hotel in Nairobi , the staff is good , friendly , and trying to do their best , however the facility itself is old , not maintained , and is not worthy for that high rate , comparing to other hotels in Nairobi like Fairmont or Serena , intercontinental should be rated below 0 , the pool restaurant is good , service is the worst , you might have a good experience in the Indian restaurant , really hope this would change in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear KaRiMaSsEm,

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Our attention is drawn to the concerns you have raised regarding to the condition of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We are working on a plan to upgrade our product, in order to enhance your comfort and satisfaction during your future visits.

We are delighted to note that you had an opportunity dine at our Terrace (restaurant by the pool) the Bhandini (Indian restaurant). We appreciate your comments about the service quality at the Terrace restaurant and are working on improvement.

Once again, we thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I had a memorable stay overall at intercontinental Nairobi which is in a reasonably quiet part of the city. The rooms are very nice clean and comfy for the business and leisure traveller and full marks for that. Ok the TV could do with some tech update but at least it works. Room facilities were gr8 The meals were excellent and the new dishes everyday ensured that even after a week in the hotel, one wasn't fed up with the food. Gym is small but decent and I didn't have time to try the pool. The bad experience was at the Makuti bar on Friday where the orders took for ever and were messed up. Nice touch though by the Manager in fixing this and comping us when we complained

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Howard C

Thank you for posting your review. We are always happy to receive feedback.

We are grateful that you found our rooms nice and comfortable and the meals excellent. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced in Makuti Bar and are glad that this was sorted out for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A Nice hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Some rooms are being renovated and upgraded with plasma tvs. My room did not have a plasma, previously informed by the receptionist but had a nice view of the city .
The breakfast was very rich in all aspects. Several restaurants and bars around the hotel. The service at the bar needs attention.
The Intercontinental Nairobi is very well protected. Security is a must for them.
I would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kool2bbop,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is great that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We also appreciate your compliments for our breakfast - very rich in all aspects. Security of our guests is of key concern to us and we are happy you noticed this.

We look forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Hotel Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi is much like main stream American hotels in the US. Our rooms were large and comfortable, the service good, and the security very good. We were there before and after the bombing of the mall and the management was very security conscious. We tried all of the restaurants. All were at best ok and over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jim F,

It was our pleasure to provide you with a safe environment during the challenging times after the Westgate Mall attack.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am always surprised how international operators like IHG maintain and manage properties that are tired and dated. The Intercontinental in Nairobi is a case in point and the pictures definitely demonstrate it. I was told that i was upgraded to a superior room at check in - would not like to see what a standard room would look like. The room size is just about ok while the bathroom is so small that you can touch the walls if u spread hour arms. The hotel is past its heyday - restaurants are week and the food and beverage offering in all the restaurants is the same. You visit the bar the all day dining and the pool bar the menu cover is different but food identical - some five star.
The bar is full of prostitutes promoted by the bar staff themselves. My advice stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear FrequentTraveller400,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Nearest location to kicc walking distance have Indian restaurant in it every Sunday they have an awesome brunch all rooms are non smoking pool very small rooms old style the club room and the normal room are same also have nice casino

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear sachen79,

Thank you for your visit and for your feedback in Trip Advisor.
It is wonderful to know that you had a chance to enjoy our awesome Sunday Brunch.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.