We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just got back from Kenya and stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in Nairobi for 3 nights. I have nothing to compare in Nairobi but I would say it is a clean, safe place to stay. The food is very good, staff very nice, pool and bar area clean and comfortable. They take security seriously, checking every entering vehicle, under the hood and under the car.

All rooms have amenities you need including hair dryers and safe. Not sure of the prices as my stay was part of a package. Not far from airport either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear ddccoleman,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience here in the hotel regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is encouraging to learn that our hotel facilities, guest rooms, quality of food and professionalism of our staff met your expectations. We accord security of our guests, colleagues and the property high priority and we are glad that you appreciate our efforts on safety.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    201
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Unless you are there for business this hotel may not suit you well as you have only the business district to walk around in the locality. The hotel is walkable to all the major office space . The food is good but the breakfast is not something great to mention . They have old television sets in the room which i really dont think even 3 star hotels use nowadays .The building looks old and needs some renovation .Overall it was a big surprise as the name and the hotel do not go together well .

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 7th floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Shankarram 17,

We thank you for your feedback about InterContinental Nairobi.

We have taken note of your concerns about the quality of breakfast served to you, TV in your room and the condition of the hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We are reviewing food menus for all outlets, in order to give you a wide variety of food items to select from. Replacement of TVs in guest rooms with 42” flat screen TV’s in also on-going. We are working on a plan to upgrade our product to be able to offer our guests superior service and accommodation whilst staying with us.

We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lots of security at the hotel. Stayed for one night On arriving at reception, there was a friendly greeting and prompt and efficient attendance given during the check in process. The various facilities were also well explained. The room was well finished, clean and comfortable, Bed somewhat hard. Wireless and cable internet were available, but at the excessively high rate of $25 per 24hour period.The breakfasts was good with a good variety andattentive staff who were friendly and prompt with offering coffee and other assistance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Stacy020,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Nairobi regarding your recent stay in Nairobi.

It gives us pleasure to note that the services of our Front Office team met your expectation at the time of check in. We are committed to offering our guests, superior service and accommodation at all times and to ensure that they have a memorable experience whilst at InterContinental Nairobi.

We could like to advice you that internet service is currently free to all IHG Rewards Club Elite members. Effective January 2014, this service will be free to ALL IHG Rewards Club members.

Once again, we thank you for giving us an opportunity to cater for your accommodation and for your loyalty to InterContinental Hotels Group.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Intercontinental Nairobi belongs to the contingent of IC hotels that were built around the world in the 1960s/70s according to a standard blueprint and formula. It has stood the test of time, providing comfort (although bathrooms are now rather outdated), good restaurants, and, above all, a professional and friendly staff. The pool area is nice, for a centre-of-town hotel, but could do with a facelift. Regrettably, safety is an issue in Nairobi, but all precautions are in place. The location cannot be beaten: surrounded by government buildings and next to the Conference centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear robert_bos53,

Thank you for your loyalty to IHG and for taking time to share with us your feedback about InterContinental Hotel Nairobi.

We appreciate your thoughtful comments about our location, professionalism of staff and facilities. We are currently working on a plan to upgrade our product in order to offer you a more comfortable and memorable experience during your future stay. We apologize for the discomfort due to the quality of the bed.

We have put in place efforts to enhance safety and security of our guests, colleagues in the hotel. It is our goal and responsibility to observe safe practices at all times.

Once again, we thank you for your loyalty and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

High Security but very good hotel except for the swimming pool, which was closed the 3 days and 2 nights, we were there. Rooms, good size, small television, great bathrobes and amenities such as elemis. Bed somewhat hard. Good safe in room and windows open for fresh air. Had room at front of hotel, a bit of street noise, but not a problem. Good view. Restaurants good variety food ok not fantastic, but ok. Biggest disappointment was the pool. Closed our entire stay. We heard from a staff member it was likely closed because there was a trade conference in hotel. We had president of Nigeria and Kenya at hotel. However being in Africa and this was our relax time, we wanted the pool. It looked great. May not stay there again just for this reason alone.
Most notable employee, the bellhop. Concierge named Gerald. He was so guest focused. We thought he was outstanding. Did not walk out of hotel grounds, I don't recommend it. We did hire a driver for the day and with that felt very safe.
Breakfast was included in price of room. It was outstanding. great variety, freshness and taste.

Room Tip: we stayed front of hotel, a bit of noise but fine. view good higher floor is best. elevator is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear jackiefrombrampton,

Thank you for reviewing InterContinental Nairobi.

We are pleased to note that you felt safe while in the hotel, due to the high level of security observed in and around the hotel environs. It delights us to learn that our facilities, room, quality of food and guest amenities provided met your satisfaction.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to missing an opportunity to use our swimming pool. The pool had been closed for a routine yearly maintenance at the time of your stay. Although there was a presidential delegation in-house, this was not the main reason for closure. We strive to ensure that all our guest facilities are in good and safe standards for our guests’ use.

We are happy to receive praise and acknowledgement of great service for Gerald Mutugi. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with Gerald and the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are looking for a safe place to stay in Nairobi look no further. Not only is the security great the breakfast was very nice.

The InterContinental Hotel is a safe beautiful place to stay and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear elizabeth h,

Thank you for your correspondence regarding InterContinental Nairobi. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are glad to learn that you are contented with the level of security at InterContinental Nairobi. Safety of our guests, colleagues and the facility is key to us.

Once again, thank you for choosing IHG and look forward to an opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broolyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights and a partial day as part of a tour under Friendly Planet (Sept 29, 30 & Oct 4, 2013). You can see a view of the city from the balcony. Many shops and places to eat nearby. The hotel also has restaurants to choose from which I utilized. Not too many food selections but enough to satisfy your hunger. The staff is very helpful and friendly. You can connect to the hotel's internet for free but that only allowed use for iMessage or emails. Wifi is available for $5 1hr, $8 for 3hrs or 24 hrs access (don't remember cost). Connection wasn't the fastest but it worked nonetheless. One good thing is that the hr/hrs purchased could be used continuously or intermittently. The beds are comfortable. There's an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, some toiletries, wash cloth and bath towels provided by the hotel. Bring a travel converter for usage with outlets in Africa (I had the circular type but there is also another type that was better). The hotel also provided currency exchange. The entire hotel was always kept clean.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear travelingtgirl,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share with us feedback about your experience in our hotel.

It is great to see your understanding of our facility and what we offer. You are truly our great ambassador.

Thank you once again for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.