We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

High Security but very good hotel except for the swimming pool, which was closed the 3 days and 2 nights, we were there. Rooms, good size, small television, great bathrobes and amenities such as elemis. Bed somewhat hard. Good safe in room and windows open for fresh air. Had room at front of hotel, a bit of street noise, but not a problem. Good view. Restaurants good variety food ok not fantastic, but ok. Biggest disappointment was the pool. Closed our entire stay. We heard from a staff member it was likely closed because there was a trade conference in hotel. We had president of Nigeria and Kenya at hotel. However being in Africa and this was our relax time, we wanted the pool. It looked great. May not stay there again just for this reason alone.
Most notable employee, the bellhop. Concierge named Gerald. He was so guest focused. We thought he was outstanding. Did not walk out of hotel grounds, I don't recommend it. We did hire a driver for the day and with that felt very safe.
Breakfast was included in price of room. It was outstanding. great variety, freshness and taste.

Room Tip: we stayed front of hotel, a bit of noise but fine. view good higher floor is best. elevator is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear jackiefrombrampton,

Thank you for reviewing InterContinental Nairobi.

We are pleased to note that you felt safe while in the hotel, due to the high level of security observed in and around the hotel environs. It delights us to learn that our facilities, room, quality of food and guest amenities provided met your satisfaction.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to missing an opportunity to use our swimming pool. The pool had been closed for a routine yearly maintenance at the time of your stay. Although there was a presidential delegation in-house, this was not the main reason for closure. We strive to ensure that all our guest facilities are in good and safe standards for our guests’ use.

We are happy to receive praise and acknowledgement of great service for Gerald Mutugi. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with Gerald and the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    270
    153
    58
    33
See reviews for
87
101
50
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are looking for a safe place to stay in Nairobi look no further. Not only is the security great the breakfast was very nice.

The InterContinental Hotel is a safe beautiful place to stay and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear elizabeth h,

Thank you for your correspondence regarding InterContinental Nairobi. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are glad to learn that you are contented with the level of security at InterContinental Nairobi. Safety of our guests, colleagues and the facility is key to us.

Once again, thank you for choosing IHG and look forward to an opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broolyn, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights and a partial day as part of a tour under Friendly Planet (Sept 29, 30 & Oct 4, 2013). You can see a view of the city from the balcony. Many shops and places to eat nearby. The hotel also has restaurants to choose from which I utilized. Not too many food selections but enough to satisfy your hunger. The staff is very helpful and friendly. You can connect to the hotel's internet for free but that only allowed use for iMessage or emails. Wifi is available for $5 1hr, $8 for 3hrs or 24 hrs access (don't remember cost). Connection wasn't the fastest but it worked nonetheless. One good thing is that the hr/hrs purchased could be used continuously or intermittently. The beds are comfortable. There's an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, some toiletries, wash cloth and bath towels provided by the hotel. Bring a travel converter for usage with outlets in Africa (I had the circular type but there is also another type that was better). The hotel also provided currency exchange. The entire hotel was always kept clean.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear travelingtgirl,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share with us feedback about your experience in our hotel.

It is great to see your understanding of our facility and what we offer. You are truly our great ambassador.

Thank you once again for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here whilst on our Nairobi Visit, We did get an upgraded Room with a balcony view of city of Nairobi, since i am a Platinum Member. Nothing Special! compared to other IHG Hotels. Hotel bathroom dated and could do with a refresh a little. The beding very cozy, There wifi internet service was the worse ever, Each time we had too keep logon to view our emails. and than get kicked off. Other than that. excellent staff. with great service Which is very important to me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Tino31,

As an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member, we thank you for staying with us and for your continued loyalty to IHG.
We are grateful for your feedback on our excellent staff service and cozy beds.
We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the internet experience. We are currently looking at the internet strength in different parts of the hotel to work on a possibility of enhancing the connectivity.

Thank you once again for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

InterContinental Hotel , Nairobi is a fantastic hotel where guests from all over the world come to stay - that included Heads of States, Diplomats,Corporate Honchos, and of course Seminars, Meetings , and even guests on Safari...that included me too !

The food is superb, made to choice , the staff are very courteous, and competent which makes ANY type of guest comfortable and feel quite at home, with utmost privacy, comfort and quality.

I recommend this hotel for Safari going guests, as well as people visiting Nairobi on vacation.

Room Tip: Prefer NOT to leave the hotel for late night exploits ....don't wear expensive jewelry, watch an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Finch Hattons T

Thank you for your great feedback. We are grateful for your compliments. We will keep up the spirit to ensure that our guests always feel at home when they are in Nairobi.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The front desk staff, bellmen, and concierge at the InterContinential were excellent, but the hotel is awful. Our room was dirty--crud underneath the desk that remained for the duration of our stay. The wastebasket was never emptied. The desk chair had a huge permanent stain on it. The carpet was nasty. I do not understand how this property continues to keep the name of a well-known and respected chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear EllenLM

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are very sorry that your stay was negatively affected by the state of your room. Rest assured that these issues have been addressed and we are continuing our regular room audits to ensure our rooms are in the best state for our guests.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When you book a Safari with a company in the United States, you stay where they put you. I spoke with the tour company before I went telling them about the reviews on Tripadvisor, but
they only said they would pass it on to the hotel. That being said, the breakfast was good, the staff was accommadating and helpful, there is good security coming in to the hotel. I will stop there. My room was clean but shabby. It really need some TLC. I was surprised as I have stayed in other InterContinental Hotels foreign countries without the problems I faced here. The carpeting needed to be replaced and the lamps bedside were broken and did not work. Thankfully, I had my headlamp. I was only here one night and thankful it was just that.

Room Tip: My room was on the entrance front, but I did not hear traffic, only the persons next store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear lavonnemy

It is encouraging that you enjoyed our breakfast, the security of the hotel and the accommodating and helpful staff.

We also thank you for your feedback about the rooms. This is currently our top priority to see that it is improved.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.