We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Club room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here whilst on our Nairobi Visit, We did get an upgraded Room with a balcony view of city of Nairobi, since i am a Platinum Member. Nothing Special! compared to other IHG Hotels. Hotel bathroom dated and could do with a refresh a little. The beding very cozy, There wifi internet service was the worse ever, Each time we had too keep logon to view our emails. and than get kicked off. Other than that. excellent staff. with great service Which is very important to me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Tino31,

As an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member, we thank you for staying with us and for your continued loyalty to IHG.
We are grateful for your feedback on our excellent staff service and cozy beds.
We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the internet experience. We are currently looking at the internet strength in different parts of the hotel to work on a possibility of enhancing the connectivity.

Thank you once again for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    201
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

InterContinental Hotel , Nairobi is a fantastic hotel where guests from all over the world come to stay - that included Heads of States, Diplomats,Corporate Honchos, and of course Seminars, Meetings , and even guests on Safari...that included me too !

The food is superb, made to choice , the staff are very courteous, and competent which makes ANY type of guest comfortable and feel quite at home, with utmost privacy, comfort and quality.

I recommend this hotel for Safari going guests, as well as people visiting Nairobi on vacation.

Room Tip: Prefer NOT to leave the hotel for late night exploits ....don't wear expensive jewelry, watch an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Finch Hattons T

Thank you for your great feedback. We are grateful for your compliments. We will keep up the spirit to ensure that our guests always feel at home when they are in Nairobi.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The front desk staff, bellmen, and concierge at the InterContinential were excellent, but the hotel is awful. Our room was dirty--crud underneath the desk that remained for the duration of our stay. The wastebasket was never emptied. The desk chair had a huge permanent stain on it. The carpet was nasty. I do not understand how this property continues to keep the name of a well-known and respected chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear EllenLM

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are very sorry that your stay was negatively affected by the state of your room. Rest assured that these issues have been addressed and we are continuing our regular room audits to ensure our rooms are in the best state for our guests.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When you book a Safari with a company in the United States, you stay where they put you. I spoke with the tour company before I went telling them about the reviews on Tripadvisor, but
they only said they would pass it on to the hotel. That being said, the breakfast was good, the staff was accommadating and helpful, there is good security coming in to the hotel. I will stop there. My room was clean but shabby. It really need some TLC. I was surprised as I have stayed in other InterContinental Hotels foreign countries without the problems I faced here. The carpeting needed to be replaced and the lamps bedside were broken and did not work. Thankfully, I had my headlamp. I was only here one night and thankful it was just that.

Room Tip: My room was on the entrance front, but I did not hear traffic, only the persons next store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear lavonnemy

It is encouraging that you enjoyed our breakfast, the security of the hotel and the accommodating and helpful staff.

We also thank you for your feedback about the rooms. This is currently our top priority to see that it is improved.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

In the context of recent events in Nairobi, security was good without being overbearing. On arriving at reception, there was a friendly greeting and prompt and efficient attendance given during the check in process. The various facilities were also well explained. The room was well finished, clean and comfortable, although a few of the lights didn't work. The desk and sitting area were good. Although there were a fair number of television channels, most were news or sports oriented. Wireless and cable internet were available, but at the excessively high rate of $25 per 24hour period (2,200KS), unnecessary profiteering and disappointing to say the least. An added irritation was having to put the code in repeatedly. Rooms service meals were also pricey. The breakfasts were good, with attentive staff who were friendly and prompt with offering coffee and other assistance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear WP664,

Thank you for your review in Trip Advisor.
We appreciate that you noticed our friendly and efficient check-in and that you found our rooms well finished, clean and comfortable.
Your concern on the wireless is being addressed. From 1st January 2014, all IHG Rewards Club members can now enjoy free and efficient internet in our hotel. We hope you will be able to visit us again to enjoy this service.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Somehow the InterContinental hotels seem to have lost their way and Nairobi is no exception. Clearly in need of a major facelift the public areas are tired and dowdy.

Service though was warm and engaging, with the staff making a genuine effort to take care of the guest. I checked in early but both the receptionist and the club lounge associate did their best to make the wait painless and as short as possible.

Room service too was prompt and efficient, as the Indian restaurant was full they organised for me to be served in the room. The food too was tasty and authentic.

Room Tip: Take the club option, the lounge is a great haven and convenient for meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear keasdad,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the warm and engaging service from our staff. I also notice that you found the Room Service prompt and the food in our Indian Restaurant tasty.
Your comments on the state of the public areas have been noted. We are working on a plan to improve the general hotel facilities.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night as we arrived in Kenya, one night as we transferred to Tanzania and had a day room for several hours before we flew out. We experienced both the 'not yet renovated' wing and the renovated. We noted the difference but other aspects of the hotel made up for the differences. We were there as the Westgate Mall terrorist attack began. The hotel, already well secured, was more heavily secured immediately. We were nervous about being in Nairobi at all, so stayed indoors and enjoyed the facilities. Nice casual bar seating but our favorite was the daily breakfast buffet. Wonderful service by staff. Conveniently located. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JDickens,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad that you felt safe with us even during the unfortunate incident at Westgate. We are pleased that you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed the services at the bar and the buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.