We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, awful facility” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great staff, awful facility”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The front desk staff, bellmen, and concierge at the InterContinential were excellent, but the hotel is awful. Our room was dirty--crud underneath the desk that remained for the duration of our stay. The wastebasket was never emptied. The desk chair had a huge permanent stain on it. The carpet was nasty. I do not understand how this property continues to keep the name of a well-known and respected chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear EllenLM

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are very sorry that your stay was negatively affected by the state of your room. Rest assured that these issues have been addressed and we are continuing our regular room audits to ensure our rooms are in the best state for our guests.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    271
    154
    59
    33
See reviews for
87
101
50
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When you book a Safari with a company in the United States, you stay where they put you. I spoke with the tour company before I went telling them about the reviews on Tripadvisor, but
they only said they would pass it on to the hotel. That being said, the breakfast was good, the staff was accommadating and helpful, there is good security coming in to the hotel. I will stop there. My room was clean but shabby. It really need some TLC. I was surprised as I have stayed in other InterContinental Hotels foreign countries without the problems I faced here. The carpeting needed to be replaced and the lamps bedside were broken and did not work. Thankfully, I had my headlamp. I was only here one night and thankful it was just that.

Room Tip: My room was on the entrance front, but I did not hear traffic, only the persons next store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear lavonnemy

It is encouraging that you enjoyed our breakfast, the security of the hotel and the accommodating and helpful staff.

We also thank you for your feedback about the rooms. This is currently our top priority to see that it is improved.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

In the context of recent events in Nairobi, security was good without being overbearing. On arriving at reception, there was a friendly greeting and prompt and efficient attendance given during the check in process. The various facilities were also well explained. The room was well finished, clean and comfortable, although a few of the lights didn't work. The desk and sitting area were good. Although there were a fair number of television channels, most were news or sports oriented. Wireless and cable internet were available, but at the excessively high rate of $25 per 24hour period (2,200KS), unnecessary profiteering and disappointing to say the least. An added irritation was having to put the code in repeatedly. Rooms service meals were also pricey. The breakfasts were good, with attentive staff who were friendly and prompt with offering coffee and other assistance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear WP664,

Thank you for your review in Trip Advisor.
We appreciate that you noticed our friendly and efficient check-in and that you found our rooms well finished, clean and comfortable.
Your concern on the wireless is being addressed. From 1st January 2014, all IHG Rewards Club members can now enjoy free and efficient internet in our hotel. We hope you will be able to visit us again to enjoy this service.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Somehow the InterContinental hotels seem to have lost their way and Nairobi is no exception. Clearly in need of a major facelift the public areas are tired and dowdy.

Service though was warm and engaging, with the staff making a genuine effort to take care of the guest. I checked in early but both the receptionist and the club lounge associate did their best to make the wait painless and as short as possible.

Room service too was prompt and efficient, as the Indian restaurant was full they organised for me to be served in the room. The food too was tasty and authentic.

Room Tip: Take the club option, the lounge is a great haven and convenient for meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear keasdad,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the warm and engaging service from our staff. I also notice that you found the Room Service prompt and the food in our Indian Restaurant tasty.
Your comments on the state of the public areas have been noted. We are working on a plan to improve the general hotel facilities.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night as we arrived in Kenya, one night as we transferred to Tanzania and had a day room for several hours before we flew out. We experienced both the 'not yet renovated' wing and the renovated. We noted the difference but other aspects of the hotel made up for the differences. We were there as the Westgate Mall terrorist attack began. The hotel, already well secured, was more heavily secured immediately. We were nervous about being in Nairobi at all, so stayed indoors and enjoyed the facilities. Nice casual bar seating but our favorite was the daily breakfast buffet. Wonderful service by staff. Conveniently located. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JDickens,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad that you felt safe with us even during the unfortunate incident at Westgate. We are pleased that you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed the services at the bar and the buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the heart of the City. 15 min from Central market. Minutes from all major Govt institutions.
Good sleep conditions. good food spead at the hotel buffets.

Stayed here twice in 3 months , extremely poor service at coffe shop , not even once in 7 times i hosted guest at the hotel was i able to get a cup of coffee on time.

Hotel need major make over for the Intercontinental brand.

Overall felt its over priced for the service and performance. The price is being command due to the band value

Room Tip: Higher floors and Front facing recommended to atleast cut the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear varun_vc

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the level of service you experience at the Coffee shop. We will give more focus to this area to ensure we deliver the level of service our valued guests like you expect.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I used to stay at the Nairobi Interconti in the late 1990's up to 2007. At the time it was fine, especially after the rooms were renovated and the lobby was updated. Now after 6 years I was back for an overnight. In some ways it was nice to be back, mainly due to the nice, courteous and professional attitude of the staff. The hotel hardware however has deteriorated without any updates whatsoever. The towel rack in my room was hanging loose from the bathroom wall, pipes/plumbing were rusty, the carpet was worn and dirty and the air conditioning made my room smell like a sports team changing room. Windows don't close properly so lots of noise from the adjacent highway filters through.
The pool area is also right next to the main highway through Nairobi. The noise and air pollution will chase you back inside before you could even come close to a sunburn. The pool itself is useless for any lap swimming exercise as there is a solid floating line through the middle of it. The fitness in the basement is reasonable for treadmills but desperately in need of other cardio equipment. All is very claustrophobic.
The hotel bar hasn't changed much, but somehow with bars that tends to add character. As said earlier, the hotel staff is nice. Good service level. But that still does not outweigh the drawbacks mentioned above. The whole experience is not worthy of the Intercontinental brand.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Rene S,

Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you noticed the nice, courteous and professional attitude of our staff. We are aware that our product is due for renovation and are working with the owners to have this done as soon as possible.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.