We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located with great breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well located with great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night as we arrived in Kenya, one night as we transferred to Tanzania and had a day room for several hours before we flew out. We experienced both the 'not yet renovated' wing and the renovated. We noted the difference but other aspects of the hotel made up for the differences. We were there as the Westgate Mall terrorist attack began. The hotel, already well secured, was more heavily secured immediately. We were nervous about being in Nairobi at all, so stayed indoors and enjoyed the facilities. Nice casual bar seating but our favorite was the daily breakfast buffet. Wonderful service by staff. Conveniently located. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JDickens,

Thank you for your visit. We are glad that you felt safe with us even during the unfortunate incident at Westgate. We are pleased that you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed the services at the bar and the buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    248
    146
    57
    33
See reviews for
84
96
50
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the heart of the City. 15 min from Central market. Minutes from all major Govt institutions.
Good sleep conditions. good food spead at the hotel buffets.

Stayed here twice in 3 months , extremely poor service at coffe shop , not even once in 7 times i hosted guest at the hotel was i able to get a cup of coffee on time.

Hotel need major make over for the Intercontinental brand.

Overall felt its over priced for the service and performance. The price is being command due to the band value

Room Tip: Higher floors and Front facing recommended to atleast cut the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear varun_vc

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the level of service you experience at the Coffee shop. We will give more focus to this area to ensure we deliver the level of service our valued guests like you expect.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I used to stay at the Nairobi Interconti in the late 1990's up to 2007. At the time it was fine, especially after the rooms were renovated and the lobby was updated. Now after 6 years I was back for an overnight. In some ways it was nice to be back, mainly due to the nice, courteous and professional attitude of the staff. The hotel hardware however has deteriorated without any updates whatsoever. The towel rack in my room was hanging loose from the bathroom wall, pipes/plumbing were rusty, the carpet was worn and dirty and the air conditioning made my room smell like a sports team changing room. Windows don't close properly so lots of noise from the adjacent highway filters through.
The pool area is also right next to the main highway through Nairobi. The noise and air pollution will chase you back inside before you could even come close to a sunburn. The pool itself is useless for any lap swimming exercise as there is a solid floating line through the middle of it. The fitness in the basement is reasonable for treadmills but desperately in need of other cardio equipment. All is very claustrophobic.
The hotel bar hasn't changed much, but somehow with bars that tends to add character. As said earlier, the hotel staff is nice. Good service level. But that still does not outweigh the drawbacks mentioned above. The whole experience is not worthy of the Intercontinental brand.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Rene S,

Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you noticed the nice, courteous and professional attitude of our staff. We are aware that our product is due for renovation and are working with the owners to have this done as soon as possible.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Perhaps I am biased but I always try to stay in the Intercontinental chain even when in transit. This one is among the best I have stayed in, the staff were all of a high standard and couldn't have been more helpful. This was my first visit to Nairobi and I'll be back to this hotel

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ian S,

Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and to offer you the service that we are well known for.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am a regular traveller to Kenya and obviously Nairobi is always a stopover, or more. I don't always stay at the InterCon, but still many times per year. With the manic traffic (compounded by idiotic control through the circles), you really don't want to spend more time in suspended animation, so location is important and the InterCon is one of the first decent hotels you can access in CBD. It is a large property and during my current stay appeared to be chockers, with more than one conference. Still the staff just seemed to get it right. I eat at two of the restaurants and both experiences were just fine. This was during the dreadful Westgate tragedy and I have to say my heart went out to each and every one of them, for putting on a brave face and a positive demeanor, caring for customers, when they had every reason to have their minds elsewhere. The rooms are comfortable and general attention pretty good. A reliable place to stay for business and also as a transit point if you are on safari. There are plenty of options and I've tried them all. This is a good product which has progressively improved.

Room Tip: Go high and away from the elevators. All of them are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear David Graham S,

I am glad that our staff got everything right for you. I am also happy that you liked our location and found our rooms comfortable.
We hope to see you back soon

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice. & is in a very good place, however, I knew that they have new rooms, well decorated with new LCDs, but I visited the hotel twice and in both times, I was given an old room with a conventional TV.
But the food was very good, & the team was professional & nice,
The GYM is not up to my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ahmedamr80,

How nice to know that you found our food very good and the team very professional and nice.
The new rooms are usually on high demand. Kindly let us know in advance of your preference and we will arrange it for you.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for the past week or so, but the Westgate mall terrorist attack has brought this review to the forefront for us. We stayed at the Intercontinental for about three nights before our safaris, and one night afterwards. Like you, we read many of the reviews before we left on our trip, and were not sure what to expect. First of all, yes, there are two wings of the hotel, one is newer than the other. Yes, the bathrooms of the older wing could do with some updating, but if that is what your tour group paid for, then that is the room you get I guess. But that said, the room was comfortable and clean....and after a very long flight, the bed was a joy to slide into. When we returned to the Intercontinental after about two of half weeks of being on safari, we were warmly greeted like long lost friends, and upgraded to the new wing for our one final night. Yes, the new wing is nicer and newer....the bathroom was more modern...but the same general comfort was afforded in both wings. Where this hotel stands out though...is in the service. We found that the service throughout the hotel was fabulous....friendly people wanting to make sure that your stay at the Intercontinental was a good experience. From the front desk, to the bar service, restaurant service, the business centre, and the shops.....virtually every contact we made was a pleasant one. The breakfast buffet (hot and cold, and cooked to order) was a great way to start the day. Please take the time to try and connect with the people serving you....they are charming and are delighted if you show an interest in them...they will usually respond with wonderful smiles and share little bits of their life with you if you are interested. I want to mention a few stellar people (there are more, but sadly we cannot remember all of their names...we wish we could remember the name of the great guy on the front desk who gave us the room upgrade when we returned from safari...but you know who you are). There is Samson, the concierge who is big, joyful and willing to organize anything for you...and keep you safe. Samson personally walked us to a nearby Art Gallery....what better service could you expect? Also at the concierge desk is a great guy named Felix....a delightful man who helps you with whatever you need. Be sure to get to know these two people...they can help you with your stay. At the pool restaurant one night, we could not have been in better and friendlier hands than our server Michael...all smiles, moving the little fire to beside our table to keep us warm, showing me all the bottles of wine by the glass for our selection. Just a great experience.
I have not mentioned security....but that is very important. This hotel does everything possible to keep both the guests and the staff safe. I have read postings where people have complained about the high level of security you need to go through to enter the hotel.....security gates, luggage scanners, personal scanners, lots of guards etc. Well, I am sure you will certainly appreciate that after the events of this past weekend at the Westgate Mall. My wife and are are most appreciative that the hotel valued our safety so much. I feel sorry for the people diligently working away to assure that the guests at the hotel have a great stay because I now think that the recent act of terrorism will affect tourism in Nairobi, and as a result will likely affect the occupancy rate at the Intercontinental and other fine hotels. If you are going on safari, I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Nairobi. Thanks to everyone at the hotel and we wish for all of you to stay safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear MDCFMW,

We thank you for your review. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.
We hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.