We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't get a new room !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I didn't get a new room !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice. & is in a very good place, however, I knew that they have new rooms, well decorated with new LCDs, but I visited the hotel twice and in both times, I was given an old room with a conventional TV.
But the food was very good, & the team was professional & nice,
The GYM is not up to my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ahmedamr80,

How nice to know that you found our food very good and the team very professional and nice.
The new rooms are usually on high demand. Kindly let us know in advance of your preference and we will arrange it for you.

Regards
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    270
    152
    58
    33
See reviews for
87
101
50
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for the past week or so, but the Westgate mall terrorist attack has brought this review to the forefront for us. We stayed at the Intercontinental for about three nights before our safaris, and one night afterwards. Like you, we read many of the reviews before we left on our trip, and were not sure what to expect. First of all, yes, there are two wings of the hotel, one is newer than the other. Yes, the bathrooms of the older wing could do with some updating, but if that is what your tour group paid for, then that is the room you get I guess. But that said, the room was comfortable and clean....and after a very long flight, the bed was a joy to slide into. When we returned to the Intercontinental after about two of half weeks of being on safari, we were warmly greeted like long lost friends, and upgraded to the new wing for our one final night. Yes, the new wing is nicer and newer....the bathroom was more modern...but the same general comfort was afforded in both wings. Where this hotel stands out though...is in the service. We found that the service throughout the hotel was fabulous....friendly people wanting to make sure that your stay at the Intercontinental was a good experience. From the front desk, to the bar service, restaurant service, the business centre, and the shops.....virtually every contact we made was a pleasant one. The breakfast buffet (hot and cold, and cooked to order) was a great way to start the day. Please take the time to try and connect with the people serving you....they are charming and are delighted if you show an interest in them...they will usually respond with wonderful smiles and share little bits of their life with you if you are interested. I want to mention a few stellar people (there are more, but sadly we cannot remember all of their names...we wish we could remember the name of the great guy on the front desk who gave us the room upgrade when we returned from safari...but you know who you are). There is Samson, the concierge who is big, joyful and willing to organize anything for you...and keep you safe. Samson personally walked us to a nearby Art Gallery....what better service could you expect? Also at the concierge desk is a great guy named Felix....a delightful man who helps you with whatever you need. Be sure to get to know these two people...they can help you with your stay. At the pool restaurant one night, we could not have been in better and friendlier hands than our server Michael...all smiles, moving the little fire to beside our table to keep us warm, showing me all the bottles of wine by the glass for our selection. Just a great experience.
I have not mentioned security....but that is very important. This hotel does everything possible to keep both the guests and the staff safe. I have read postings where people have complained about the high level of security you need to go through to enter the hotel.....security gates, luggage scanners, personal scanners, lots of guards etc. Well, I am sure you will certainly appreciate that after the events of this past weekend at the Westgate Mall. My wife and are are most appreciative that the hotel valued our safety so much. I feel sorry for the people diligently working away to assure that the guests at the hotel have a great stay because I now think that the recent act of terrorism will affect tourism in Nairobi, and as a result will likely affect the occupancy rate at the Intercontinental and other fine hotels. If you are going on safari, I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Nairobi. Thanks to everyone at the hotel and we wish for all of you to stay safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear MDCFMW,

We thank you for your review. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.
We hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for one night on our way to safari. The location is great and the room was good however it was a Friday when we stayed in the hotel and the noise from the disco across the road was crazy, it literally sounded as though it was in our room. It didn't finish till 3am which made it really difficult to sleep. If you stay here on a weekend make sure you ask for a quiet room not on the street side.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear EmmaH01101981

We are happy that you found our location great.
It is sad that your stay was affected by the noise from the disco across the road. Usually any function taking place in our neighboring conference centre is licensed hence we are limited in how far we can control it. We however provide notice to our guests and also do our best to block guests away from affected rooms.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights before living for the safari.

Pluses:
- The hotel has a great location in the center of Nairobi, also close to Uhuru Park.
- Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
- Breakfast was good with a variety of selections.
- The room was fairly clean and comfortable.
- The hotel has an outside bar where smoking is permitted (otherwise there are few places were smoking is permitted in Nairobi, even on the street it is forbidden)

Minuses:
- The price was very high for my budget.
- Paid for 5 stars hotel, got more of a 4 stars standard.
- Room was ok, but the bathroom was average clean.

During our three nights stay, the president of Nigeria came to stay here, so indeed it is the place where presidents stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Nicoleta I

We are grateful for your comprehensive review. We appreciate your recognition of our location, friendly staff, great Breakfast, comfortable room and the smoking options.

We would be glad to negotiate a special rate for your next stay. Kindly contact our reservations agent directly on e-mail: reservations.icnairobi@ihg.com.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited nairobi and stayed in intercontinental hotel. Right from receiving from the airport to checkin service was excellent and staff are well trained and customer oriented.
I used the bar and indian restaurant both places had good food and drinks. Since I had privelage card there was a room upgrade and invitation for cocktail party which was wonderful met some good people.
Rooms are cosy and comfy. The wild life park is within 15 mins from there sonot wasting much time in traffic as traffic in city is terrible. It took us over an hour to reach the hotel from airport.
The airport is makeshift tent as new airport waited and old burnt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sudhir C

It was great to have you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed being served by our well trained and customer oriented staff. We are also glad that you found our rooms cosy and comfy.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

While the room I stayed-in had been recently upgraded, and the restaurants were quite good, I found he hotel to be (overall) below the Intercon's standard. The lobby was crowded and dirty; the furniture in the lobby/restaurants was dated; and,my recently updated non-smoking smelled of stale smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ramzyk,

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. Your comments will be taken into account as we work on a plan to upgrade our facilities.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 12 day Safari for one night before flying back to Johanneburg the next day.
The hotel was a welcome change from the lodges with a bit of a "touch of luxury", however the place was a little run down in places.
The room size was reasonable and the bed comfortable medium to firm, however the bath room was a bit of a let down with poor quality grouting and sealing of the tiles. Our room over looked the carpark at the rear and roof array of 8 satelite dishes of varying sizes. I went to the roof reception area (badly rundown ) for a better photo of the surrounding area in the morning.
The hotel is right in the middle of town but as we came in just on dark we dared not venture out into the streets.
The buffet breakfast was good, but once again sloppy workmanship was showing in this area with poor paintwork (paint splatter on tiles & mirrors). The hotel seemed very busy with a lot of business travellers especially. The pool / bar area looked inviting just outside the dining area but had to leave early for the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent view not roof tops. Some travellers are reporting newly renovated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear skiclubtraveller

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are glad that you found our room size as reasonable and bed comfortable.
Our Engineering team have taken note on your concerns on maintenance of the Hotel. We are working on a plan to address the areas of concern.

Thanks once again for your feedback

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.