We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive, thus average overall rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #29 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but expensive, thus average overall rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights before living for the safari.

Pluses:
- The hotel has a great location in the center of Nairobi, also close to Uhuru Park.
- Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
- Breakfast was good with a variety of selections.
- The room was fairly clean and comfortable.
- The hotel has an outside bar where smoking is permitted (otherwise there are few places were smoking is permitted in Nairobi, even on the street it is forbidden)

Minuses:
- The price was very high for my budget.
- Paid for 5 stars hotel, got more of a 4 stars standard.
- Room was ok, but the bathroom was average clean.

During our three nights stay, the president of Nigeria came to stay here, so indeed it is the place where presidents stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Nicoleta I

We are grateful for your comprehensive review. We appreciate your recognition of our location, friendly staff, great Breakfast, comfortable room and the smoking options.

We would be glad to negotiate a special rate for your next stay. Kindly contact our reservations agent directly on e-mail: reservations.icnairobi@ihg.com.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    200
    122
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited nairobi and stayed in intercontinental hotel. Right from receiving from the airport to checkin service was excellent and staff are well trained and customer oriented.
I used the bar and indian restaurant both places had good food and drinks. Since I had privelage card there was a room upgrade and invitation for cocktail party which was wonderful met some good people.
Rooms are cosy and comfy. The wild life park is within 15 mins from there sonot wasting much time in traffic as traffic in city is terrible. It took us over an hour to reach the hotel from airport.
The airport is makeshift tent as new airport waited and old burnt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sudhir C

It was great to have you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed being served by our well trained and customer oriented staff. We are also glad that you found our rooms cosy and comfy.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

While the room I stayed-in had been recently upgraded, and the restaurants were quite good, I found he hotel to be (overall) below the Intercon's standard. The lobby was crowded and dirty; the furniture in the lobby/restaurants was dated; and,my recently updated non-smoking smelled of stale smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ramzyk,

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. Your comments will be taken into account as we work on a plan to upgrade our facilities.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 12 day Safari for one night before flying back to Johanneburg the next day.
The hotel was a welcome change from the lodges with a bit of a "touch of luxury", however the place was a little run down in places.
The room size was reasonable and the bed comfortable medium to firm, however the bath room was a bit of a let down with poor quality grouting and sealing of the tiles. Our room over looked the carpark at the rear and roof array of 8 satelite dishes of varying sizes. I went to the roof reception area (badly rundown ) for a better photo of the surrounding area in the morning.
The hotel is right in the middle of town but as we came in just on dark we dared not venture out into the streets.
The buffet breakfast was good, but once again sloppy workmanship was showing in this area with poor paintwork (paint splatter on tiles & mirrors). The hotel seemed very busy with a lot of business travellers especially. The pool / bar area looked inviting just outside the dining area but had to leave early for the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent view not roof tops. Some travellers are reporting newly renovated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear skiclubtraveller

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are glad that you found our room size as reasonable and bed comfortable.
Our Engineering team have taken note on your concerns on maintenance of the Hotel. We are working on a plan to address the areas of concern.

Thanks once again for your feedback

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you plan on taking a trip to Nairobi and have business in the city centre, this is a great place to stay. I was first impressed with the security as we drove up and entered the hotel. I was then warmly greeted by the very friendly and professional staff. The service was quick and kind. The rooms are not bad, what you expect from this sort of hotel. I had room service and again would say the food was okay. Overall I enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it for short business travel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Gerrit777

We thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed being served by our friendly and professional staff.

It was our pleasure serving you.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Intercontinental is a stone's throw from the Kenyan parliament, the hotel preferred by visiting dignitaries and country heads. However, as a business user, I found the property old and needing a fair bit of renovation. Services and restaurants are perfect. In the heart of the city, so sometimes need to let traffic clear.

My long stay was overall satisfactory, would have rated very good, if the property would have been renovated(Spa, flooring chipping away at places).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ravi512

Yes, we are the hotel of choice for visiting dignitaries and country heads. We are happy that you noticed this. Thank you also for highlighting that you found our restaurant services perfect.

We also thank you for the feedback on the need for renovation. We are working on a plan with the owners to have this done.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived early for an organized tour. The room we were shown to was in terrible condition, dirty and unsafe. Was told for an addition $60 we could have a new room. My husband had the manager come and inspect the room, and the manager agreed that it was inhospitable. We were then given a new room in the new wing without the additional cost. I was told by one of the staff that they are planning on demolishing the old wing.

The new wing is very nice and the hotel has a couple of nice bars and restaurants.

However with that being said, when we returned from our safari we were once again given a room in the old section. The room smelt terrible and the bathroom was very unsafe. The hotel management found us another room in the old section and said that they would not put us in the new section since we were with a tour company.

It was suggested that we do not leave the property because it's not very safe. Overall, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Linnbada

We are grateful for your feedback. We apologize that the room condition did not meet your expectation on this visit. I am glad you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe wing in one of your visits and you liked the room then. We are currently working on a plan with our ownership to renovate the standard rooms.

Thanks once again for your visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.