We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where the presidents stay@Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“where the presidents stay@Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Intercontinental is a stone's throw from the Kenyan parliament, the hotel preferred by visiting dignitaries and country heads. However, as a business user, I found the property old and needing a fair bit of renovation. Services and restaurants are perfect. In the heart of the city, so sometimes need to let traffic clear.

My long stay was overall satisfactory, would have rated very good, if the property would have been renovated(Spa, flooring chipping away at places).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ravi512

Yes, we are the hotel of choice for visiting dignitaries and country heads. We are happy that you noticed this. Thank you also for highlighting that you found our restaurant services perfect.

We also thank you for the feedback on the need for renovation. We are working on a plan with the owners to have this done.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    202
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived early for an organized tour. The room we were shown to was in terrible condition, dirty and unsafe. Was told for an addition $60 we could have a new room. My husband had the manager come and inspect the room, and the manager agreed that it was inhospitable. We were then given a new room in the new wing without the additional cost. I was told by one of the staff that they are planning on demolishing the old wing.

The new wing is very nice and the hotel has a couple of nice bars and restaurants.

However with that being said, when we returned from our safari we were once again given a room in the old section. The room smelt terrible and the bathroom was very unsafe. The hotel management found us another room in the old section and said that they would not put us in the new section since we were with a tour company.

It was suggested that we do not leave the property because it's not very safe. Overall, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Linnbada

We are grateful for your feedback. We apologize that the room condition did not meet your expectation on this visit. I am glad you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe wing in one of your visits and you liked the room then. We are currently working on a plan with our ownership to renovate the standard rooms.

Thanks once again for your visit.

Regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the first time travelling to Nairobi and I must say my husband and I travel all over the world and our first impression of a country is the airport, even though they faced issues with a fire just over a month ago the service there was very quick and friendly, and our driver from the intercontinental Nairobi was waiting for us and we were able to check in in the car, awesome. From the time we arrived at the hotel the chef concierge Samson Wahore and his staff were brilliant, they catered to our every need, We love it there and We will return, very soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Kelahm,

The team is very happy that they made your stay memorable. We are happy that you will be returning soon. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi as part of a Safari package.
This poor rating for the hotel is based on the room quality.
Arriving late the first night after the trial and tribulations of coming in through the Nairobi airport ( aftermath of the airport fire), I was absolutely flabagasted at the state of the room. I have been in contact with the hotel and received an apology from the manager. This does not however detract from the fact that this room is still being used. The best way to describe it is to say that the room has not been updated since the hotel was opened in 1968. Tiles painted over / furniture shabby / electrical plugs not working and burnt out. The rest of the hotel is fine - usual good intercom breakfast / good service with a smile. Anyway the tip is : straight away request an updated room / inspect the room before you even take your bags to it.
Very disappointing for an Intercontinental Hotel.

Room Tip: When booking mention you want a revamped room. When you arrive check the room before even taking bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear kelvincraig,

Thank you for sharing with us your review. We apologize that your room fell short of your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thanks once again for sharing your feedback with us.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Returned to this hotel again, staff are all very friendly. Rooms and good, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was OK, buffet style. Service was very slow outside at the outdoor bar, especially for food on several occasions taking over 30 minutes to arrive. Hotel is in a busy downtown area of Nairobi with the usual crazy traffic, but isn't too far from the airport. Wifi is expensive, its 2013 - wifi should be free!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear speedbird1984

We thank you for your review. It is lovely that you found our staff very friendly and our rooms modern and comfortable.

We apologize for your experience at the Outdoor bar. We have already put measures in place to address this. We also note your feedback on need to have free wi-fi. I am glad to let you know that currently we are offering free Wi-fi to our Elite IHG Rewards Club members. This will extend to all other IHG Rewards Club members from January 2014. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon to experience this.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is well located in the CBD. The Staff are exceptionally friendly, as Kenya is known for its tourism they are used to dealing with a large number of visitors. The rooms on the higher floors are better and have access to the private lounge.
The hotel is lively all the time, a lot of airline crew also use this hotel so it is active all the time.
There is a homely and well equipped fitness center..
Having stayed at this hotel for long stretches of time on several ocasions I am very much at home here.

Room Tip: Higher Floor are better-
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Global_Desi123,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us during your recent visit to Nairobi.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back Home!

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I don't know why someone felt such bad of this hotel. what I felt is good, reach five star hotel level. intercontinental is same everywhere, room is big and clean enough, welcome fruits and wine for ambassador client. lounge serves very good food and drinks from morning to night. all are fine. after we finished 10 days ECO safari on Masai Mara and Samburu, intercontinental give us a complete relax, hot and big shower, free wifi access. our room is park view, however, we found opposite room's view are better, there's no slippers in our room, but we requested from housekeeping. staff here are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Fish_Ting,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel, friendliness of our colleagues and Club Lounge facilities and services. We are glad to know that you appreciate the benefits that you enjoyed at the Club InterContinental Lounge.

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.