We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Atlasville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In 2004 I spent 5 nights at the Nairobi Intercontinental and loved it. Last month I went back to Nairobi and chose to stay at the Interconti again. What a pleasant surprise to see that they keep their excellence (if not improved it!). The hotel is still abuzz with guests from everywhere, giving a pleasant cosmopolitan atmosphere. The staff is first class... friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable, professional! The rooms are spacious and nice, the beds very comfortable. The food at the different restaurants remains delicious! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear ThecaAtlasville,

It is great to note that you spent an enjoyable time at InterContinental Nairobi and that our facilities and team members’ service met your expectations!

We have conveyed your appreciation to our colleagues, in order to continuously strive for excellence.

We appreciate your thoughtful comments and look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    201
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a large and very busy hotel in a great location in the city centre. Staff are very professional and friendly, and the food is extremely good. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, internet is reliable. IHG club members are well recognised with free internet, one free drink, and a dedicated check-in area so it is worth signing up before you visit.

The decor is a little dated and the property as a whole is starting to look 'tired' - especially the guest rooms where minor issues like a leaking shower head (spraying water over the entire bathroom) can become an annoyance.

With the volume of guests this should be no surprise to the management - better day-to-day maintenance or refit is required for this hotel to live up to its full potential.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear voehn,

Your feedback is much appreciated. As an IHG Rewards Club member, we are grateful for your loyalty to IHG. We are delighted that you find our rooms comfortable and spacious and our internet reliable. Your comments on the room condition are noted and will assist us as we work on improving our accommodation facilities.

Once again thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The intercontinental is a good start for a trip Kenya. Not too far from the airport. It is a mix of Kenyan and European class. The employees are very friendly and the service is good. Our room was at sixth floor, so we had a kind of a view over the centre of Nairobi. During the transfer it seems that the driver drove through red traffic lights. Strange experience! Later we were told that all traffic lights stay as they are at 20.00 h. Never seen before.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Gea S,

We greatly appreciate your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the City. It was very busy. We were very impressed with how courteous and polite the staff were. The hotel rooms are quite spacious. The Indian restaurant within the hotel serves delicious Indian food. The breakfast is elaborate and delicious. One can have eggs made to order. There is a good variety of items. The gym felt a little claustrophobic since there are no windows. However, the equipment is in decent shape. I would stay in this hotel again if I visited Nairobi again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear RSuri,

We thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your compliments of our staff, our spacious rooms, elaborate and delicious breakfast and Indian food.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Karl Hala,
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed at the Intercontinental several times while on vacation with my grandson. We've always had a comfortable room, sometimes with an interesting view. The hotel restaurants are very pleasant...good food, very helpful staff and a nice place to take a young boy...they even had a hamburger and fries that passed his inspection! The gift shop has a nice selection of Kenyan beads and crafts, unlike the stuff in most hotel shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager,Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear 394JaneD,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you found our rooms comfortable, our food good and the restaurant team very pleasant and helpful.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you in future.

Sincerely,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Some of our pre-trip concerns appeared to be justified when, on arrival, the layout and decor in the reception area appeared to be a bit outdated and jaded; not in disrepair or worn-out, just a little past its best-before date.

Since this was our first experience in Nairobi, the security check (mirrors to view the van's undercarriage) our vehicle underwent each time we entered the hotel premises to a bit of getting used-to. Being aware of the low but persistent threat of terrorist attacks in Kenya, it was easy to conclude that one should endure and even encourage such minor inconveniences.

Check-in was efficient and rooms were decent and clean. Rooms were well-appointed but a hotel of this class and cost should really, really, not be charging such stiff fees for guests' internet access.

Breakfast in the Pool Terrace restaurant was consistently excellent in selection and preparation.
Our big problem with the Intercontinental was the theft, from the room, of a shirt. The fact that the item was missing was pretty obvious to the affected family member as soon as we returned to our rooms from an outing. It seemed obvious that it must have been taken by the house cleaning staff who accessed the room during our absence.
Eventually, we had the Duty Manager, Head of Security and the head of the house-cleaning staff accompany us to our room to go through our luggage to make sure that the item was not merely misplaces. It was not misplaced; it had clearly disappeared.
We understood the management's reluctance to admit the obvious but we eventually came to resent their outpour of tiresome platitudes about "ongoing investigations...", "...looking into it...", "...we are still looking for the shirt...".
We will neither patronise nor recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Deji O

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and letting us know of your experience. I’m very glad to read that you found our rooms decent and clean, our check-in efficient and the breakfast consistently excellent.

Your report about the lost shirt is still under investigation. We will provide you with feedback once this is complete. I have sent you a private message to confirm your contact details.

Once again, thank you for letting us know how your experience was.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Intercontinental, at Nairobi is located in the center of the business district. Checked in with great expectations - though not all of them were met. A good property as far as location is concerned. Fairly good restaurants, but the rooms were a bit disappointing, with the bath fixtures coming loose and leaky. A bit of more tidiness would have done good. The bath fittings could be replaced with ones that do not leak and that are not scary to handle, teh ones in my room felt like they would come out! but other wise not bad. Good pool, average food for an Indian in teh Indian restaurant Bandhini.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Milind T,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at InterContinental Nairobi as well as your comment and feedback on our location, good food and the pool.

We have gone through each line of your feedback and we are very apologetic that we didn’t meet your expectations on the bath and shower condition, we will ensure of service and condition improvement according to the comments made.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.