We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the middle of town, excellent staff, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the middle of town, excellent staff, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental May 30, one night and June 14, one night.

Very helpful concierge directed us to their Indian restaurant. Excellent food and service. Nice room. Very good breakfast both stays. Nice lobby/bar area.

Construction in hallway due to floor damage during our second stay. Very nice large room. Extensive salad bar for dinner. Since it was raining we were not dining pool-side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Ingrid70,

Thank you for staying with us here at InterContinental Nairobi and your review that you used to describe our hotel.

I am very happy to know that you had the best experience with us. And the personalized service that you received from our concierge team exceeded your expectations besides the food service quality and the room.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again at Intercontinental Nairobi as serving you will be our pleasure.

Sincerely,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    271
    154
    59
    33
See reviews for
87
101
51
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The people at the Intercontinental were very friendly and attentive and service was great. Very nice pool area and restaurant. The lobby and common areas are nice, but the room was a little on the shabby side. Worn, dirty carpet, walls not fresh (same in the hall, even though they were painting, which didn't seem to make much difference). I'm glad there was a hair dryer in the bathroom, but it was close to useless. Very difficult and inefficient to use.

We were in Kenya for a safari and stayed two nights at the beginning and one night at the end at the Intercontinental. Our flight out left at 11:40 p.m. and the hotel wouldn't let us extend our room past 2:00. Moving to 3:00 or 4:00 would have been a big help! Also, we all laughed about the wifi Nazi in the business center. Though she answered our questions, she was not at all friendly, which was a departure from the other warm, friendly staff.

Overall, this is a decent place to stay but they do need to give some attention to the condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear kmcnutt1148,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the services of our very friendly and attentive staff. We are sorry some aspects of your room were not to your liking and apologize for inconveniences you went through.

Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments and are committed to great improvement in your next visit.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you again here at InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was wonderful to arrive at an Intercontinental, who actually played the IHG Rewards game properly, mum and uncle had already arrived, both Royal Ambassadors. 2 rooms were upgraded to suite rooms! Even though was only there one night.

Rooms were clean, big and comfortable!

Staff in restaurant were hospitable and wiling to serve at a late hour

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear OliverK6,

We thank you for being one of our most loyal guests and appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The first time that I stayed I this hotel, I gave it 5 stars. Everything was great. This time, things were not quite as good, so I've given it four.

The hotel is centrally located and staff is pleasant. I was on a business trip and my wife joined me. We had a suite and club access. Fruit and flowers in the suite were excellent, the ladies and the chefs in the club lounge were very helpful. The pool is quite adequate.

We ordered room service from the in-hotel Indian restaurant and the meal that arrived was sub-standard. Just two bowls of cold food. No extras. Not even a little flower on the tray. And the attitude of the guy who brought it was that he didn't care. So we ate what we could but eventually brought it to the attention of management. It's a shame and it seems that it was maybe just one individual's carelessness.

I had used an hotel car for business and was so impressed with the driver that we hired him to take us on Safari - a young student, John, who is learning to fly. Well-recommended.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room with no connecting door. Our room overlooked the cathedral and we had grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear ebookpunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your stay here at Intercontinental Nairobi. I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay here at InterContinental Nairobi and your compliments on the helpful staff at the club lounge and John the hotel driver have been received with great joy.

On the other hand, let me apologize for your dissatisfaction with the Indian restaurant and room service order. We are keenly looking unto the case and you will see an improvement in your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments as we rely on you to know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Sincerely,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental for 4 nights while attending a conference in June. All the staff I dealt with were very friendly and gave great service. It is also well located if you have business in the city. However, if I didn't need to be in the city (there is not much to see when I walked around the area) I would choose somewhere else. I had breakfast at the restaurant every day and the buffet selection was extensive and the food great. The only thing bringings my assessment down is the condition of the rooms and some of the common areas. The room I had was very dated, furniture had seen better days, and the bathroom just functional. The bed was okay, not great. Similar for the breakfast restaurant. With some $s spent renovating it would be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear pr123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the condition of our facilities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Located in the middle of town, secured, quiet excellent choice. 24h some happenings inside, meetings, trainings, conferences, group of tourists, business visits...You can seat and watch whole day, with nice snack and cold Tusker lager. If you want to go to visit National park, Giraffe center, Animal Orphanage, just ask guys on front desk and they will organize everything for you.You can find in hotel everything that you need, if you forgot something at home there is small but very well supplied shop Inter News & Gifts , across corridor is one of the best hand craft shops that belongs to "African Heritage Design Company", so you don't need to think about souvenirs at the last moment. If you have anything more just look at the monitor on reception , there is picture and data of duty manager, so like as in my case mr Simon Mwagi, one of them is responsible that we got a few pictures more from some of other rooms, If you want to organize some party look for mr. Eric Mwanzia, director of Conventions & Events sales, with him you can coordinate everything. I am in this hotel 2-3 times a month, so I am really there as at home, all staff are extremely polite, helpful. In the evening you have a really good choices for diner, entertainment, so if you want to be inside or outside all places are thematically different. Quiet and clean rooms, TV could be "new" style with more film programs, Internet should be free for all guests, but in the future we can expect some of that.
Really good choice in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa . at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear mikeprodanovic,

Thank you for taking the time to write a most complimentary review about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and in particular your comments about our friendly and charming staff. I am happy to know that you appreciate the dining varieties that our guests can enjoy at InterContinental Nairobi. We are sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations in internet charges but with effect from July 2013 Internet is free for all our IHG Rewards Club Elite members and come July 2014 it will be free to all our guests.

I will sure pass your message to Eric and Simon as well as the entire team of colleagues.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to InterContinental Nairobi

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good hotel and situated very central in Nairobi CBD. I would recommend teh hotel to anybody. It is a bit more on the expensive side but good service and they have very good restaurants and bars in the vicinity of the hotel. Security is also of a high standard here. Huge pool for those that like swimming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa . at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear yugz24,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi CBD.

We take all reviews very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.