We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“like at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Located in the middle of town, secured, quiet excellent choice. 24h some happenings inside, meetings, trainings, conferences, group of tourists, business visits...You can seat and watch whole day, with nice snack and cold Tusker lager. If you want to go to visit National park, Giraffe center, Animal Orphanage, just ask guys on front desk and they will organize everything for you.You can find in hotel everything that you need, if you forgot something at home there is small but very well supplied shop Inter News & Gifts , across corridor is one of the best hand craft shops that belongs to "African Heritage Design Company", so you don't need to think about souvenirs at the last moment. If you have anything more just look at the monitor on reception , there is picture and data of duty manager, so like as in my case mr Simon Mwagi, one of them is responsible that we got a few pictures more from some of other rooms, If you want to organize some party look for mr. Eric Mwanzia, director of Conventions & Events sales, with him you can coordinate everything. I am in this hotel 2-3 times a month, so I am really there as at home, all staff are extremely polite, helpful. In the evening you have a really good choices for diner, entertainment, so if you want to be inside or outside all places are thematically different. Quiet and clean rooms, TV could be "new" style with more film programs, Internet should be free for all guests, but in the future we can expect some of that.
Really good choice in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa . at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear mikeprodanovic,

Thank you for taking the time to write a most complimentary review about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and in particular your comments about our friendly and charming staff. I am happy to know that you appreciate the dining varieties that our guests can enjoy at InterContinental Nairobi. We are sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations in internet charges but with effect from July 2013 Internet is free for all our IHG Rewards Club Elite members and come July 2014 it will be free to all our guests.

I will sure pass your message to Eric and Simon as well as the entire team of colleagues.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to InterContinental Nairobi

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    201
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
82
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good hotel and situated very central in Nairobi CBD. I would recommend teh hotel to anybody. It is a bit more on the expensive side but good service and they have very good restaurants and bars in the vicinity of the hotel. Security is also of a high standard here. Huge pool for those that like swimming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa . at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear yugz24,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi CBD.

We take all reviews very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a night before going on to the Masai Mara. It's a decent hotel. Slightly old fittings though. The plumbing seems quite ancient as well as the TVs. Beds are comfortable and rooms were clean in general.

The restaurant has good food and service. We had our main meal from Bhandini (indian restaurant) and desserts from the italian buffet. The tiramisu was excellent!

They should provide free wifi though. There isn't too much to do in this hotel. There are 2 shops with fairly standard items and the pool closes by 6 pm i think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager,Africa. at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Garima90,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi, and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you and your Family had a wonderful experience here with us and your great praise of our rooms and good food service is our true mark of service. Am delighted to inform you that with effect from July 2013 Internet is free for all our IHG Reward Club Elite members and come July 2014 it will be free to all our guests.

We are glad that you and your Family enjoyed the stay and looking forward to see you soon again at our fine Hotel.

Best regards

Karl Hala.
Regional General Manager,Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in this hotel. I can honestly say we have never been so well looked after. The staff were lovely and friendly always asking how we were. The hotel seemed to be predominately business although there were holiday makers. There is plenty of choice for food and good prices. We never ate a bad meal - breakfast was fantastic, amazing choice. Lovely pool area, nice and clean. You can arrange taxi's via the hotel easily. Our room was lovely - the only thing I will say and it is being picky is that the bathroom was a little tired, that said it was clean and spacious. The only downside to this hotel is that it is slap bang in the middle of the city and the Nairobi traffic is something you have to see to believe - I will never complain about UK traffic jams again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager,Africa. at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Orlando2010,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s a great joy for all of us to hear our hotel staff level of service been acknowledged by our guests.It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon again here at InterContinental Nairobi
.
Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager,Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Normally when in Nairobi I stay at the Mayfair Southern Sun, but on this visit I was at a two-day conference in the InterCon, so stayed there. Will not be changing my normal choice in the future.

The main gripe, and apologies if this seem trivial, but this is an international hotel charging top dollar where you a) have to ask for an internet connection and b) have to pay for it. This is a bit like asking for sugar in a café and being told you will have to pay for it as an extra. Wakey- wakey InterCon this is the 21st century.

My next gripe was that on one day my room was not cleaned or made up, despite the little light being on from 8am - no apology and no attempt at a recovery.

Last stayed here in 1988 when it really was a very nice hotel. This time I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the Mayfair Southern Sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Grassy W,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay.

We have noted your concern about internet charges and we are glad to inform that with effect from 1st July 2013, internet is free to all IHG Reward Club Elite guests. Rest assured, we have addressed the issue of daily room cleanliness and you will see great improvement in your next stay.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you next time and give us a chance to deliver the true spirit of InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel located at Central place and good for business and leisure also nearby to shopping areas. They also make good arrangements for safari fro the hotel which you can book in advance.Comfortable rooms,Helpful staff and sumptuous breakfast which makes your day. Will definitely stay again and also recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear seetharamankc,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. I greatly appreciate you taking time to post this review about our helpful staff, awesome breakfast and great location of our hotel.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your entire stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent two nights - first on landing in Nairobi and again on our way out of Kenya after a hectic safari holiday on July 22nd and 28th. Was part of a package holiday we had booked. Convenient location at the centre of the city. Comfortable rooms - everything worked. Staff were helpful. The sumptuous breakfast spread with something for everyone was a great way to start one's day! Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Indira D,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our staff and are glad you enjoyed the variety served in our breakfast besides convenient location.

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.