We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good hotel and situated very central in Nairobi CBD. I would recommend teh hotel to anybody. It is a bit more on the expensive side but good service and they have very good restaurants and bars in the vicinity of the hotel. Security is also of a high standard here. Huge pool for those that like swimming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa . at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear yugz24,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi CBD.

We take all reviews very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    203
    129
    53
    29
See reviews for
69
83
46
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a night before going on to the Masai Mara. It's a decent hotel. Slightly old fittings though. The plumbing seems quite ancient as well as the TVs. Beds are comfortable and rooms were clean in general.

The restaurant has good food and service. We had our main meal from Bhandini (indian restaurant) and desserts from the italian buffet. The tiramisu was excellent!

They should provide free wifi though. There isn't too much to do in this hotel. There are 2 shops with fairly standard items and the pool closes by 6 pm i think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager,Africa. at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Garima90,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi, and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you and your Family had a wonderful experience here with us and your great praise of our rooms and good food service is our true mark of service. Am delighted to inform you that with effect from July 2013 Internet is free for all our IHG Reward Club Elite members and come July 2014 it will be free to all our guests.

We are glad that you and your Family enjoyed the stay and looking forward to see you soon again at our fine Hotel.

Best regards

Karl Hala.
Regional General Manager,Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in this hotel. I can honestly say we have never been so well looked after. The staff were lovely and friendly always asking how we were. The hotel seemed to be predominately business although there were holiday makers. There is plenty of choice for food and good prices. We never ate a bad meal - breakfast was fantastic, amazing choice. Lovely pool area, nice and clean. You can arrange taxi's via the hotel easily. Our room was lovely - the only thing I will say and it is being picky is that the bathroom was a little tired, that said it was clean and spacious. The only downside to this hotel is that it is slap bang in the middle of the city and the Nairobi traffic is something you have to see to believe - I will never complain about UK traffic jams again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager,Africa. at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Orlando2010,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s a great joy for all of us to hear our hotel staff level of service been acknowledged by our guests.It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon again here at InterContinental Nairobi
.
Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager,Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Normally when in Nairobi I stay at the Mayfair Southern Sun, but on this visit I was at a two-day conference in the InterCon, so stayed there. Will not be changing my normal choice in the future.

The main gripe, and apologies if this seem trivial, but this is an international hotel charging top dollar where you a) have to ask for an internet connection and b) have to pay for it. This is a bit like asking for sugar in a café and being told you will have to pay for it as an extra. Wakey- wakey InterCon this is the 21st century.

My next gripe was that on one day my room was not cleaned or made up, despite the little light being on from 8am - no apology and no attempt at a recovery.

Last stayed here in 1988 when it really was a very nice hotel. This time I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the Mayfair Southern Sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Grassy W,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay.

We have noted your concern about internet charges and we are glad to inform that with effect from 1st July 2013, internet is free to all IHG Reward Club Elite guests. Rest assured, we have addressed the issue of daily room cleanliness and you will see great improvement in your next stay.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you next time and give us a chance to deliver the true spirit of InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel located at Central place and good for business and leisure also nearby to shopping areas. They also make good arrangements for safari fro the hotel which you can book in advance.Comfortable rooms,Helpful staff and sumptuous breakfast which makes your day. Will definitely stay again and also recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear seetharamankc,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. I greatly appreciate you taking time to post this review about our helpful staff, awesome breakfast and great location of our hotel.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your entire stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Regional General Manager, Africa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent two nights - first on landing in Nairobi and again on our way out of Kenya after a hectic safari holiday on July 22nd and 28th. Was part of a package holiday we had booked. Convenient location at the centre of the city. Comfortable rooms - everything worked. Staff were helpful. The sumptuous breakfast spread with something for everyone was a great way to start one's day! Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Indira D,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our staff and are glad you enjoyed the variety served in our breakfast besides convenient location.

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I attended a convention in Nairobi in late May 2013, with the cost of my participation included a room at the "Hotel" Intercontinental Nairobi, which to some extent was reasonably priced. Request an additional room cost us around $ 260.00 USD per night which made me expensive for the city of Nairobi but the hotel claimed to be 5 stars.

Talking a little about me, I am a person who travels at least every two months and have stayed in hotels of all categories with the exception of Australia, I have been in all the continents. Traveling in luxury plan and plan backpack. And I'm not a person who criticizes slight wing.

It is a shame that a hotel that is said 5 stars offer these rooms. Dirty, grimy carpets, bathrooms deplorable fungi filled with battered furniture, broken screens, a pigsty.

We review at least 6 rooms and all of them were in the same conditions. At least 8-12 people more than they were at the convention, did the same to try to find something better to believe that their assigned room was the only one in that state. But not every one of the rooms were in the same conditions. Which gives us at least 48 rooms found in deplorable condition.

The hotel manager on duty explained to us that the rooms in 1st. floor 2do. and 3rd floor were the designated groups and effectively each and every one of them were in those conditions. (a pigsty)

If we wanted something "better" had to pay from $ 40.00 USD and up per night for an upgrade. We are speaking of $ 300.00 USD per night for this hotel???? I've seen one star hotels in better condition.

So this hotel in order to win the seat of a convention or group offers an attractive rate of a 5 star hotel, once there you put a dump and you have to pay extra to change your room to something "more better". This is abuse and theft.

In my case, thanks to my many frequent flyer plans and not after discussing for a long time I moved to the floor 6 or 7. That though was better and at least it is still "clean" a room with decor and furniture from the 70's or 80's (check several rooms before staying at this / all the same in these stories too).

Never ever this hotel and less to this hotel chain are rascals and thieves. As the corporate may allow these rooms offer.

I have many, many more photos. Just look at that I attach and decide for yourself.

Incidentally Stay in another area, here though is the center where there is nothing, no reason to stay here, not least for business and pleasure. By the way the pool reminded me of those you see in movies 50's 60's you

Room Tip: Yes, choose another hotel, or if you have the bad lucky and you already here (Welcome to the Hell) m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Americafresh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in providing guest satisfaction.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.