We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One Night Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed as a family for one night on our way to Masai Mara at this hotel which badly needs a renovation.Craked and missing floor tiles on the corridor,rooms with dingy faded decor.The only saving grace was the food at the Indian restaurant,the breakfast buffet and the friendly hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MANOJ T,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay and again taking your time to write your review which we appreciate.

Am glad that you and your family had the true taste of our famous Bhadini Indian Restaurant and the praise of the great breakfast buffet besides the unique friendliness of the Intercontinental Nairobi colleagues.

On the other hand have my sincere apologies for the condition of the hotel and the inconveniences that this may have caused to your stay, but am delighted to advice that the Planned Preventive Maintenance is effectively in place and rest assured you will see an improvement in your next stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back at InterContinental Nairobi soon and experience our true charming moments.

Kind regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    230
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
77
90
47
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I consider my self a world traveler, and easy going, but... I came back to Nairobi after a week's Safari, in tents and sleeping bags, and it was wonderful.

Really looking forward to stay at a supposedly great hotel like a IC for some Luxury and comfort. The first shock was when I register, the despotism and race-sit way I was treated by the girl in the front desk was clearly offensive, and I am not even white!!! I am Latin!!

She went out of her way to give us the worst rooms even do the concierge toll me before they were at 60% capacity.

We have to really loose our temper in order to have a manager hear us out, just to be moved to the next nightmare.

Dirty carpets, missing handles in the sink and shower!!!! Room 350 to be exact, all the bathtubs was stein black, really disgusting. May 30-June 2
It was all prepaid, so could not even move somewhere else

Finally the girl at customer services moved us to a better area of the hotel, but not until they realize I am an executive platinum at my airline and a Gold member at IC.

There are 7/10 better hotels in Nairobi, and probably safer, this one, you had the feeling it was going to be the target of a terrorist bomb. And the building looks like a warehouse, really tired, need millions in renovations.

Needles to say I already cancelled my next reservation in Beijing and Shanghai at the Intercontinental

The biggest joke... It was voted Best Nairobi Hotel in 2012

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Americafresh1,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The service was very accomodating and attentive with the exception of one experience at the pool-side grill. The breakfast had a good selection of fresh foods, omelets, homemade pastries and jams as well as delicious fresh juices. Although it was buffet the service was prompt and we didn't have to wait around like some buffets. We checked in as part of a group but the process was smooth and organized, no wait.

Beds were comfortable but as others have noted, rooms are worn and in need of upgrade, although everything is very clean. Rooms are spacious with wide doors that open and city views. Plumbing also seems old (rusty water at times, toilet didn't always flush). The do provide free bottled water each day. Location is convenient, can walk to the park or the city market. There is also a decent gift shop on site for last minute souvenirs with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear roadtrip411,

I am very grateful and pleased that you have chosen InterContinental Nairobi as your hotel of choice. It has always been our goal to provide consistently high standards of service and facilities to our guests. Your appreciation of our efforts is indeed an inspiration for us to continue to excel.

We appreciate your comments about the condition of the guestrooms. We sincerely apologize for the discomfort due to this condition. We have planned to renovate remaining part of the hotel sometime this year.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Home away from Home
the staff makes the difference
all girls at the club lounge are so nice, always smiling and ready to assist
Rooms are clean, bed is very good and housekeeping guys are doing great job
thebathroom is small but ok

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Shlbre,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Nairobi for your stay and for taking the time to write your review which we appreciate.

We are pleased to receive your compliments about our colleagues at the Club Lounge and Housekeeping .Your comments have been shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence and a Great Hotel that Guests Love.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a group on a Safari tour. Well, our stay was fine, room was spacious and neat, food was good esp at the Indian restaurant. We reached the hotel a bit early as our flights reached early, but we were given rooms after having to wait for nearly 3 hours.
That apart, we made the mistake of leaving our passports and cash in USD, in the locker when we went for a walk in the evening and forgot all about it when we checked out and travelled to Amboseli. We were informed the very next day by the hotel and we got back our passports and a big thanks to the Hotel for this. But, I am disappointed to say that our money was not intact. We got back just a little more than half the currency we had kept in there. We reported the same to the manager when we got back from Amboseli, but the staff expectedly, said that they had reported all that they had found ! We had just started our trip and were sure about the missing cash, but can't prove a thing.
It is unfortunate that such a thing can happen in a hotel like this. I guess it speaks volumes about the integrity of the official/staff who opened the locker , and hope the management takes some stringent measures to avoid such incidents.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear givina,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. I greatly appreciate you taking your time to post this review.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about the quality of food especially the great breakfast besides the neatness of the guestroom.

I kindly note your concerns about the missing cash and have my sincere apologies since this caused a lot of inconveniences to your stay. We have put right measures in place to avoid and do away with such unfortunate incidences. Rest be assured that this is not our service spirit to our esteemed guests.

We hope to welcome you back and give us another chance to deliver the true InterContinental Nairobi Spirit.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the first time for me in Nairobi and I was lucky to be at Intercontinental Hotel , the welcom service is a amazing , staff are great and very helpfull.

The hotel is well located in the hart of Nairobi and you can connect from there to all locations.

The room is very clean and beds are very confortable , all hotel staff smile and great you all the time and they ready to do the extra mile.

One of the staff member her name Siamanta Maratha demonistrated a great passion and high level of services required to make may stay and experinace a great one.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but club room even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Samer S,

Thank you for your correspondence regarding InterContinental Hotel Nairobi. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments have been shared with Martha and the entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

All around bad experience. Arrived 4 hours before official check in time on the red eye, and though my room was ready, I was asked to pay for a full extra day for the privilege of early check in. Now, mind you, I was part of a big conference that had booked a large block of rooms, and there was no letting my room out to someone else for the 4 hours, so opportunity cost of a happy customer here was zero, which the cost of a grumpy one was high. I eventually got the manager to let me check in without the whopping fee, but we were off to a bad start. Later that day, I had to call three times to room service to get a bucket of ice, and then, after waiting 45 minutes, went to the kitchen myself to get it myself. Room décor is old and in desperate need of refurbishment. Mine had a depressing view of a flat roof below and curtains off the rails. Not what you’d expect from this brand or for the price. Skip it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear RoadWarriorinAfrica,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi.

We have taken note of your concerns and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused to your stay.

We hope that you will give us another chance to deliver the true InterContinental Experience to you.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.