We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good & strategically located hotel in the heart of Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good & strategically located hotel in the heart of Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at Hotel intercontinental for a night on my way to Nakuru...and would like to say I was pretty impressed by the quality of service and it's strategic location given the massive traffic jams in Nairobi. If you want to get out & about in the heart of Nairobi, this is your best bet hotel. Had always by- passed it thinking its old, run- down and not that attractive from the outlook. Turns out it is fairly well maintained and has spacious & neat rooms. The service generally was good although I was disappointed in the main dinning when some of the items I ordered from the menu were apparently out of stock. There are two other restaurants though which gives one a wider choice to chose from. A nice hotel to check out when in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Make sure you request for a room facing the back of the hotel as the front is a major highway with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Chilli-Bite,

I am happy that you have appreciated one of InterContinental Nairobi`s assets among many others - great location in the heart on Nairobi, and an ability to provide a wide variety of restaurants to dine from.

On the other hand, I apologize for your dissatisfaction at the main dining due to lack of your preferred choice of food from the menu.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Nairobi in the near future and assure you of our best possible attention at all times.

Best Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    211
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
73
85
47
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in Intercontintental during the first week of April. The hotel is old and that's is biggest drawback. Other than that, the room was spacious and clean and the service excellent. All the staff was friendly and very happy to help. Breakfast was very good with a big variety to choose from. I did not enjoy the dinner though. Although there were lot of choices in the buffet, i could not find anything that was close to my tasting habits. All in all the stay was very nice, though for a 5 star hotel i would expect more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Konstantinos M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay here at InterContinental Nairobi. I am delighted that you noted the great variety that our breakfast team offers besides our polite and helpful staff.

Kindly advice me on your next visit so that we can prepare for your coming and meet your preferences.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments as we rely on you to know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed one night in February 2013. The lobby area, restaurants were of a 4 star hotel but the room was definitely dated and needed updating. It was clean but definitely a disappointment. Sat by the pool bar and had cocktails and then Indian food in their restaurant. They charged 4 star prices but the Indian food was only so so. The buffet breakfast was very extensive and good and the highlight of the stay. Internet was expensive and intermittent. Security appeared good. Was on a tour so did not complain but would have not wanted to pay full price for this stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Hopalongtravel,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was most pleased to read that you enjoyed our cocktail by the pool as well as our great variety of food served at breakfast. I am also happy to note that you had an opportunity to dine in the Indian Restaurant

I appreciate your comments regarding our internet charges. Kindly note that effective July 2013, the internet service will be free for Priority Club Members and I do encourage that you join and become one of the beneficiaries.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a total of 4 nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi. You are greeted with Security and very well dressed hotel employes. The front desk was very helpful, I had paid for an upgrade and they changed the room at my request. The staff is impeccably dressed, pressed suits and very polite and proper British English.

Our room was Very clean and the beds super confortable. the hotel is in the middle of the city so there was a bit of noise. We had two different rooms, one with a great view, one less so.

Ive seen complaints about the breakfast, Im not sure where they ate, all was great for our visit, they would make your eggs how you wanted, and there was plenty of well presented good tasting food. The service where they served breakfast was quick and polite. The staff greeted us each time we passed, and remembered us when we came back for our second stay. The internet is overpriced, but you can purchase a half hour for 5$, they assured me that the corporation was changing the internet policy. i had some problems connection internet and their technical man came and spent time until he got the problem fixed.

We bought some "antique" artifacts in the hotel antique shop, even thought they tell you its old, its NOT, so buy it if you like it, but not because its an antique.

Overall our stay was very good, and the staff was super.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms look out the front, a nice view, with light noise. They have rooms that have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear LDACalif,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at InterContinental Nairobi.

I am very pleased to note your comments about the Hotel Security, courtesy, decency and service quality of our staff, comfort and cleanliness of the guest rooms, quality and variety of food served at breakfast.

I am delighted to advise you that effective July 2013, internet service will be free for Priority Club Members.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Given the location next to the Kenyan Parliament building, one would expect a top-of-the-line hotel. And maybe this is the best Nairobi has to offer. Certainly the lobby lounge was nice, and usually fairly full of well-dressed people. But we found the rooms (we had two different rooms on two different occasions) to be suffering from deferred maintenance--a towel rack in the shower almost pulled out of the wall, shower head that didn't seem to work right. The rooms were fairly clean, though we did find a roach belly-up near the sliding glass door one afternoon. They charge for internet (as most business hotels still do.) Service was friendly, and fairly prompt. Security is very tight--guards with mirrors looking under the buses and cars upon entry, bag check at the front door. This hotel is probably popular with diplomats and representatives of the international funding agencies.

Room Tip: Hotel faces a busy street, so back-facing rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Ken r,

I am very grateful that you have chosen InterContinental Nairobi as your hotel of choice. It has always been our goal to consistently provide high standards of service and facilities to our guests. Your appreciation of our efforts is indeed an inspiration for us to continue to excel in creating “Great Hotels Guest Love”.

On the other hand, please accept my sincerest apologies for the condition of the room at check in. I have shared this with the Engineering Team and are sure to put it right to our standards.

Rest assured that this is not our level of service and that proper action has been taken to prevent such situations from recurring.

I hope for many more opportunities to welcome you back here at InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Intercontinental 5 times over the last 2 years on business trips. The staff has been friendly and helpful, the rooms have been clean, the food has been good and things have been safe. However, internet is expensive and intermittent, Club room access is expensive, and it takes a LONG time to get coffee or tea at the breakfast buffet (an issue if you are pressed for time). I stayed at the hotel the second week of April with a large number of colleagues. There were 2 sets of experiences. One side of the hotel had rooms with filthy towels, exposed wires and mosquito infestation. The other side of the hotel was fine. So, my experience has been very good but others I have traveled with have not been so lucky.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear traveler8188,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi to be your Home Away from Home.

It is to our utmost pleasure to read your lovely feedback about your recent stay at our hotel about; friendliness of our staff, cleanliness of our guest rooms, quality of food and safety of guest rooms. I am delighted to advice you that internet service will be free for our Priority Club Members effective July, 2013.

I have shared your comments about the quality of towels and mosquitoes in the room with the relevant department heads to take action and ensure comfort of our guests during their stay.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a priority customer got a good deal here - upgrade to suite but only begrudgingly got the other part of royal ambassador benefit i.e. club access.

Rooms are dark in colour - certainly does not reflect the vibrancy of the city or country.

Lots of complaints about internet - I got it for free so if you are staying there worth joining IHG Ambassador otherwise it was about 20 euros per day.

Food seemed on the pricey side but hotel is very central allowing you choice outside the hotel. VAT is a killer in the hotel - but that's not the hotel's fault.Government must be shooting itself in the foot over this.

Pick up service from airport was good. But be careful going back. The traffic is as bad as they say and they do stupid things like reducing the main road to the airport to one lane during the day. Took me over 90 minutes to get to airport on trip that they estimated at 30 mins.

Reasonable pool and gym. Very central so can walk most places. Their taxi service seems ok. - 1500 KSH for trip to Westlands in Mercedes where as 1000 KSH for beat up old Corolla to come back

Service in Club generally good. Possibly a problem with accessing wine in Kenya but the wine was cheap Chilean - equivalent of 5-6 euro a bottle in Europe. But volume and choice of snacks was much better than many other Intercontinentals.

Room Tip: no real difference as hotel is in quiet area opposite parliament. - inner rooms quieter but view put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear GregMcT,

Let me first thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi during your visit. I truly appreciate your comments, since this is the most efficient way for us to constantly improve our services. We are striving to monitor and improve our services and facilities we offer to all our guests.

We are always pleased to receive areas for development of such a positive nature. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Nairobi a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.