We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
san francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Loved the restaurant, they had a great breakfast buffet too. The concierge was helpful in getting me to a "chemist" so that I could get a prescription refilled (I had forgotten at home). Staff was friendly - rooms were modern and updated. Can't see what others have complained about. Oh yes - the internet charges were high - but we just bought an hour for $5 - and were able to catch up on emails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear claudia,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi.

It was my pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during March 2013.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi in the near future.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    221
    137
    54
    31
See reviews for
77
87
47
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Finally an InterCon that treats its Ambassador customers the way they should do.
An upgrade
Fantastic service in the Club Lounge.
All over happy faces.
Indian restaurant was v v good. Food nice and pleasant.
The lounge bar a bit expensive for snacks.
No problem to store luggage whilst we went on Safari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Dkkeeling,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the InterContinental Nairobi , and thank you for choosing our fine Hotel for your stay.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed as usual to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

Hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi.

Best regards

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My room certainly did not look like the website. When my flight was cancelled the airline put me up at the Intercontinental. I thought I scored well on that deal. After all - an Intercontinental is pretty swanky, right? Three hours in a taxi from airport to city center, cursing traffic I began to have second thoughts. My taxi driver escorted me the last few blocks on foot. But finally I arrived. The lobby was very nice, spacious and very busy. Nice size crowds in the restaurants and bars. Efficient check-in and good security. Conference spaces looked good and so did the public areas leading to the rooms. Things were looking up.

Then I opened the door to my room. It may sound silly to some, but those who stay in 4 & 5 star properties will understand when I write, "I have not had to "flip" on a light switch in several years." That should have been the first clue I was stepping back into 1979. Possibly 1982. Several styles of furniture in the room, the headboard is smaller than the mattress, the bedside lamp wires are stretched horizontal across the wall. The closet had a modern wall safe, but is a shambles. It is missing drawers but the tracks are still installed. Classy. The hairdryer is mounted on the wall next to the desk, not exactly where I would expect to find it. There is a small tea station and complimentary bottled water. Now, on to the bathroom of this "Luxury Hotel."

I was in a mobile home once. I recall that having a more spacious bathroom. This is Tiny. And original to the construction of this building. Honestly, nothing has been upgraded since probably the 1970s. Kind of quaint in a way. It was clean. They supply an ELEMIS range which surprised and delighted me. Their linens and towels were first rate. Linens and amenities are all that saved the room from a terrible rating.

I admit, the room was provided by the airline so I cannot complain about the cost but I could never imagine paying $230 a night for this Motel 8 experience. Maybe $80 and I'll bring my own Elemis, thank you very much. I realize that airport contract rooms are usually less desirable than others in the hotel. Often that means they are near the elevator, or the last ones to be renovated. But honestly, the Intercontinental brand should be embarrassed if this is an "airline room." And if it is a normal room they should be downright ashamed.

Room Tip: Perhaps another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear spoiledtravelguy
,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your very detailed review.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the condition of the room that you got. Please let me know when you visit next so we can give you opportunity to experience our Superior and Deluxe Rooms.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWAII
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been staying here since the early 80s. I like the place a lot, but nothing has really changed appearance and furnishing wise in a long time. The prices have gone up and the $30usd for daily Internet is a rip off, but the service is good and most importantly it is safe here. It is clean and comfortable and convenient. The breakfast buffet will fill you up for the day. I will continue to use the Intercontinental whenever I'm in Nairobi. By now the staff knows me and I know them. It's just that they are still stuck in the 80s as far as appearance is concerned. Just my opinion and not a reason not to stay here. Also, after dark stay in the complex.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear SURFER_DUDE44

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that our staff service, safety and breakfast have impressed you.

We appreciate your comments on internet and the furnishings. We kindly welcome you to try our deluxe rooms, which were recently renovated, for your next visit.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back at the InterContinetal Nairobi.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel is in a very central location, walking distance from various downtown locations, and not far from good restaurants.

The rooms are excellent and quiet. Good restaurants, pool side and inside. Nice lobby bar for breakfast (croissants and espresso) or late night drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Okaapi

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our Good restaurants, pool side and nice lobby bar for breakfast.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of InterContinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November, 2012 and had an excellent stay. The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the restaurant is very good as well. Always had a large selection on the buffet to choose from for all meals. I didn't use it, but the pool looked very inviting! This would definitely be my first choice of a place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear chrisully11

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience in our Hotel.

I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

I hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi in the near future.

Best regards,



Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spent a few nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi hotel in Kenya while on a Friendly Planet tour of Kenya.The location is about a 20 minute drive from the airport and close to downtown. The security at the hotel is phenomenal,with armed guards at the gated entrances and an under-vehicle search of every vehicle before it is allowed entrance to the property. We also had our hand luggage searched and had to pass through a metal detector each time we entered the hotel. In all of our extensive world travel, we have never seen such elaborate security!
We were told it was unsafe to leave the hotel and although my husband and I did walk in the park across the street, we spent the rest of our short stay on the premises.

The hotel itself is quite large with all the amenities - pool, several restaurants, bar etc. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and had one window that opened and no balconies. My main criticism is that the hotel is quite dark and dated, although it was an acceptable trade-off for the feeling of security we had in a potentially unsafe city.

The breakfast buffet which was included in our tour, was delicious with huge variety and excellent quality. Loved it! We also ate dinner at the hotel and while the food was fairly tasty, we felt it was a little pricey.

The pool was unappealing and unattractive and few guests seemed to use it. The bar area adjacent to the pool was a nice outdoor oasis and a good place to have an evening cocktail.

A good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear laurWaterloo_Ontario,


Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience in our Hotel.


I am glad that you had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.


I note with pleasure that the quality of food in the restaurants, service in the bar and attitude of our colleagues met your expectations. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.


Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.