We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT MUCH HAS CHANGED IN 25YEARS.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #28 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
HAWAII
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“NOT MUCH HAS CHANGED IN 25YEARS.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been staying here since the early 80s. I like the place a lot, but nothing has really changed appearance and furnishing wise in a long time. The prices have gone up and the $30usd for daily Internet is a rip off, but the service is good and most importantly it is safe here. It is clean and comfortable and convenient. The breakfast buffet will fill you up for the day. I will continue to use the Intercontinental whenever I'm in Nairobi. By now the staff knows me and I know them. It's just that they are still stuck in the 80s as far as appearance is concerned. Just my opinion and not a reason not to stay here. Also, after dark stay in the complex.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear SURFER_DUDE44

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that our staff service, safety and breakfast have impressed you.

We appreciate your comments on internet and the furnishings. We kindly welcome you to try our deluxe rooms, which were recently renovated, for your next visit.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back at the InterContinetal Nairobi.

Regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    201
    123
    53
    28
See reviews for
66
83
46
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel is in a very central location, walking distance from various downtown locations, and not far from good restaurants.

The rooms are excellent and quiet. Good restaurants, pool side and inside. Nice lobby bar for breakfast (croissants and espresso) or late night drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Okaapi

Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our Good restaurants, pool side and nice lobby bar for breakfast.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of InterContinental Nairobi and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November, 2012 and had an excellent stay. The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the restaurant is very good as well. Always had a large selection on the buffet to choose from for all meals. I didn't use it, but the pool looked very inviting! This would definitely be my first choice of a place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear chrisully11

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience in our Hotel.

I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.

I hope to see you again here at the InterContinental Nairobi in the near future.

Best regards,



Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spent a few nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi hotel in Kenya while on a Friendly Planet tour of Kenya.The location is about a 20 minute drive from the airport and close to downtown. The security at the hotel is phenomenal,with armed guards at the gated entrances and an under-vehicle search of every vehicle before it is allowed entrance to the property. We also had our hand luggage searched and had to pass through a metal detector each time we entered the hotel. In all of our extensive world travel, we have never seen such elaborate security!
We were told it was unsafe to leave the hotel and although my husband and I did walk in the park across the street, we spent the rest of our short stay on the premises.

The hotel itself is quite large with all the amenities - pool, several restaurants, bar etc. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and had one window that opened and no balconies. My main criticism is that the hotel is quite dark and dated, although it was an acceptable trade-off for the feeling of security we had in a potentially unsafe city.

The breakfast buffet which was included in our tour, was delicious with huge variety and excellent quality. Loved it! We also ate dinner at the hotel and while the food was fairly tasty, we felt it was a little pricey.

The pool was unappealing and unattractive and few guests seemed to use it. The bar area adjacent to the pool was a nice outdoor oasis and a good place to have an evening cocktail.

A good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear laurWaterloo_Ontario,


Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience in our Hotel.


I am glad that you had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.


I note with pleasure that the quality of food in the restaurants, service in the bar and attitude of our colleagues met your expectations. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.


Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent three nights here as part of Overseas Adventure Travel Kenyan/Tanzanian safari. Modern, excellent service, friendly personnel. Poolside dining area is first class. Pricing - I have no idea of rates since it was part of total package. Beware of local from room telephone calls - they get very expensive very quickly.

Room Tip: Back side overlooks parking roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Julian Y,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am delighted to note that your experience at Terrace Restaurant (restaurant by the pool) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a busy business hotel and a little worn down but the rooms we stayed in were very nice. Access to the club room meant that we had a quiet space in which to eat, snack and work throughout the day. There's also a nice outdoor patio/bar. It's in the heart of Nairobi and easy to get around from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear anuka9,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I greatly appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service to our guests and your comments are very important to us.

I am delighted to note that you had the opportunity to access our Club Lounge, which made your stay memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel do not deserve to be part of Intercontinental chain, could be a holliday inn if refurbished but it is high street robbery to call it intercontinental!
Located in the city center very noisy, all the rooms are old furnished with the same tv that on my first stay in 91. Italian restaurant is an insult to Italian cuisine, breakfast is bad, as well as the service.
I will never going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our valued guests and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure guest satisfaction and memorable experiences to all our guests.

Once again, we are thankful for taking time to share your comments with us.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.