We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to start or end your Kenyan safari.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
waterloo, ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A decent place to start or end your Kenyan safari.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spent a few nights at the Intercontinental Nairobi hotel in Kenya while on a Friendly Planet tour of Kenya.The location is about a 20 minute drive from the airport and close to downtown. The security at the hotel is phenomenal,with armed guards at the gated entrances and an under-vehicle search of every vehicle before it is allowed entrance to the property. We also had our hand luggage searched and had to pass through a metal detector each time we entered the hotel. In all of our extensive world travel, we have never seen such elaborate security!
We were told it was unsafe to leave the hotel and although my husband and I did walk in the park across the street, we spent the rest of our short stay on the premises.

The hotel itself is quite large with all the amenities - pool, several restaurants, bar etc. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and had one window that opened and no balconies. My main criticism is that the hotel is quite dark and dated, although it was an acceptable trade-off for the feeling of security we had in a potentially unsafe city.

The breakfast buffet which was included in our tour, was delicious with huge variety and excellent quality. Loved it! We also ate dinner at the hotel and while the food was fairly tasty, we felt it was a little pricey.

The pool was unappealing and unattractive and few guests seemed to use it. The bar area adjacent to the pool was a nice outdoor oasis and a good place to have an evening cocktail.

A good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear laurWaterloo_Ontario,


Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience in our Hotel.


I am glad that you had a wonderful experience here with us and we are committed to put all our efforts to extend best services to our dear clients.


I note with pleasure that the quality of food in the restaurants, service in the bar and attitude of our colleagues met your expectations. It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.


Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. I look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    248
    146
    57
    33
See reviews for
84
96
50
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent three nights here as part of Overseas Adventure Travel Kenyan/Tanzanian safari. Modern, excellent service, friendly personnel. Poolside dining area is first class. Pricing - I have no idea of rates since it was part of total package. Beware of local from room telephone calls - they get very expensive very quickly.

Room Tip: Back side overlooks parking roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Julian Y,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am delighted to note that your experience at Terrace Restaurant (restaurant by the pool) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a busy business hotel and a little worn down but the rooms we stayed in were very nice. Access to the club room meant that we had a quiet space in which to eat, snack and work throughout the day. There's also a nice outdoor patio/bar. It's in the heart of Nairobi and easy to get around from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear anuka9,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I greatly appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service to our guests and your comments are very important to us.

I am delighted to note that you had the opportunity to access our Club Lounge, which made your stay memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel do not deserve to be part of Intercontinental chain, could be a holliday inn if refurbished but it is high street robbery to call it intercontinental!
Located in the city center very noisy, all the rooms are old furnished with the same tv that on my first stay in 91. Italian restaurant is an insult to Italian cuisine, breakfast is bad, as well as the service.
I will never going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our valued guests and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure guest satisfaction and memorable experiences to all our guests.

Once again, we are thankful for taking time to share your comments with us.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a 3 star average hotel and I'm feeling generous tonight. Everyone was nice and courteous enough, but everything was just SO outdated and faded. Breakfast was really not special at all and I was just totally underwhelmed. It's just fine for one night, just don't expect anything special at all. I couldn't feel more neutral.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear africantraveler1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note your positive comments about the courtesy of our colleagues.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to enhance guest satisfaction and ensure memorable experiences to all our guests.

I have shared your comments with the Director of Food & Beverage about the quality of breakfast in order to serve a variety of cuisines and boost guest satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two business trips so far this year, and I'm very satisfied with the standard, service level and mostly with the friendly and professional approach by the staff.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Lillemor B

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

I have conveyed your compliments to all staff and they are delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction. I will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After arriving at 9pm after a long day flying and being a Platinum member for 9 years i was expecting a quick shower, some food and then sleep. Not here! 40 min wait to get a room, dinner offered and then removed, £20 per day internet charge (seriously it is 2013), some staff excellent though some incompetent and depending who you talk to you get a different answer to your questions.

This hotel has the business market because of the name but for a leisure traveller it would be madness to stay here with all the other options now available in Nairobi.

I complained to the GM (Karl) who I have to say was very impressive and understood my complaints but he has a difficult job if he wants the leisure market. I recommend he goes to Art Caffe and steals their staff and moves on some of the ones he has who maybe think they don't need to treat people in shorts the way they do people in a suit.

These days hotels should be funky, up to date technology, smart and vibrant. This one is stuffy and old fashioned where a guy shining shoes would not look out of place.

The hotel is clean, comfortable etc just incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: Look at the new hotels and apartments for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Cakealito,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced from our staff. We are confident the hotel will continue working with their staff to improve the level of service offered for our guests.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.