We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Luxury in developing Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Nairobi to your Saves list
InterContinental Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Brighton, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury in developing Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent three nights here as part of Overseas Adventure Travel Kenyan/Tanzanian safari. Modern, excellent service, friendly personnel. Poolside dining area is first class. Pricing - I have no idea of rates since it was part of total package. Beware of local from room telephone calls - they get very expensive very quickly.

Room Tip: Back side overlooks parking roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Julian Y,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am delighted to note that your experience at Terrace Restaurant (restaurant by the pool) was pleasant.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Nairobi.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    221
    137
    54
    31
See reviews for
77
87
47
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kigali
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a busy business hotel and a little worn down but the rooms we stayed in were very nice. Access to the club room meant that we had a quiet space in which to eat, snack and work throughout the day. There's also a nice outdoor patio/bar. It's in the heart of Nairobi and easy to get around from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear anuka9,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I greatly appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service to our guests and your comments are very important to us.

I am delighted to note that you had the opportunity to access our Club Lounge, which made your stay memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel do not deserve to be part of Intercontinental chain, could be a holliday inn if refurbished but it is high street robbery to call it intercontinental!
Located in the city center very noisy, all the rooms are old furnished with the same tv that on my first stay in 91. Italian restaurant is an insult to Italian cuisine, breakfast is bad, as well as the service.
I will never going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our valued guests and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure guest satisfaction and memorable experiences to all our guests.

Once again, we are thankful for taking time to share your comments with us.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a 3 star average hotel and I'm feeling generous tonight. Everyone was nice and courteous enough, but everything was just SO outdated and faded. Breakfast was really not special at all and I was just totally underwhelmed. It's just fine for one night, just don't expect anything special at all. I couldn't feel more neutral.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear africantraveler1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel during your recent stay. I am delighted to note your positive comments about the courtesy of our colleagues.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and a memorable experience to all our guests. The feedback we receive from our guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to enhance guest satisfaction and ensure memorable experiences to all our guests.

I have shared your comments with the Director of Food & Beverage about the quality of breakfast in order to serve a variety of cuisines and boost guest satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport more or less given the size and high level of traffic in the city. However, the hotel is only average. It is quite outdated and it did not feel clean. Staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. There are other hotels in the city that are nicer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear glittercat,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us I greatly appreciate you taking the time share your comments with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation to our guests. Your comments are vital to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure continued guest satisfaction.

Once again, we appreciate your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose InterContinental Hotels and Resorts for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,


Karl Hala
Regional General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two business trips so far this year, and I'm very satisfied with the standard, service level and mostly with the friendly and professional approach by the staff.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Lillemor B

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Nairobi as your preferred hotel of choice. I deeply appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us.

I have conveyed your compliments to all staff and they are delighted to know that their efforts met your entire satisfaction. I will encourage them to continuously strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Karl Hala
Regional General Manager, Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After arriving at 9pm after a long day flying and being a Platinum member for 9 years i was expecting a quick shower, some food and then sleep. Not here! 40 min wait to get a room, dinner offered and then removed, £20 per day internet charge (seriously it is 2013), some staff excellent though some incompetent and depending who you talk to you get a different answer to your questions.

This hotel has the business market because of the name but for a leisure traveller it would be madness to stay here with all the other options now available in Nairobi.

I complained to the GM (Karl) who I have to say was very impressive and understood my complaints but he has a difficult job if he wants the leisure market. I recommend he goes to Art Caffe and steals their staff and moves on some of the ones he has who maybe think they don't need to treat people in shorts the way they do people in a suit.

These days hotels should be funky, up to date technology, smart and vibrant. This one is stuffy and old fashioned where a guy shining shoes would not look out of place.

The hotel is clean, comfortable etc just incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: Look at the new hotels and apartments for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Cakealito,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced from our staff. We are confident the hotel will continue working with their staff to improve the level of service offered for our guests.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.